Where’s My Kale?

Leafy greens have rarely let me down in my modest, space/sun challenged little garden in Queens. Lettuces especially perform with gusto. This year I decided to add kale to the mix, planted in its own separate tub. The seedlings were off to a fine start, looking cute and perky. I checked them everyday, until one morning a few weeks ago when I went outside to the garden and the kale was … all gone! Poof. Eradicated. Annihilated. Devoured overnight by a mysterious ravenous pest! Nothing else was touched, only the kale. It was funny though and I laughed about it after my bewilderment passed. It felt like the vegetable gods declared, to paraphrase Seinfeld, “No kale for you!!

But my swiss chard survived the assault unscathed. Yay for swiss chard! Some of my early batch:

I’m no expert gardener by any means. I just wing it most of the time and the results are hit or miss, varying from year to year. I’ve had excellent carrots and so-so scallions, wayward dill and respectable mint. It’s all part of the fun for me. Plant some seeds, water, and see what happens. I’m eagerly awaiting my tomatoes which aren’t ripe yet but the plants are healthy and pest free.

Vegetable Gardens, Mikhail Berkos, 1895:

So Museworthy readers, what’s growing in your gardens? Any kale? 😆

6 thoughts on “Where’s My Kale?

  1. cliffoz says:

    You are so lucky to have freed up some garden space early. I grew kale a year or so back and after tasting, substituted lawn clippings in my recipes and couldn’t tell the difference!!

    • artmodel says:

      cliffoz,

      Haha! Yeah kale doesn’t exactly taste great and yet has managed to become the trendy green! I actually prefer spinach so maybe I’ll plant that next year.

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  2. scultore says:

    This year our tatsoi and sage were eaten by sparrows. I didn’t believe it until I saw the local gang sitting on the pot with green bits in their beaks. Also the triangular shaped bites in leaves, the exact size and shape of sparrow beaks! Usually its caterpillars, who can eat a potful overnight.

    • artmodel says:

      Bruce,

      I’m picturing the gang of sparrows, it’s funny! Even cute little birds can do damage. Everyone is hungry for food – birds, insects, critters.
      I’m sure you’re right about the caterpillars. Especially since there are no rabbits here, and I don’t think raccoons and squirrels would eat kale.

      Thanks for your comments and wonderful seeing you on Saturday!

      Claudia

  3. artmodelandrew says:

    Claudia, Claudia, quite contrary,
    How does your garden grow?
    With silver bells, and cockle shells,
    And pretty maids all in a row.
    But no kale for you.

    • artmodel says:

      Andrew, well done! I should get some silver bells, that would be a nice garden accent! 😆
      My kale just wasn’t meant to be.

      Thanks for commenting!

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

