Ignacio Pinazo Camarlench

I posted a figure painting to my Tumblr a couple of weeks ago that has received over 200 likes and reblogs. And we all know that accumulating “likes” on social media is the most sought-after form of validation in our culture, right? Do we even matter if we’re not getting “likes”? How are we to measure our popularity and worth if not by “likes”?? 😛 I’m kidding of course, but there was an eye-catching Impressionistic quality to the painting that appealed to many of my fellow Tumblrers.

By the way, does everyone know that I have a Tumblr? In case you don’t, it’s called meanderings and it’s a collection of images that I find interesting, fun, or intriguing. No commentary like here on Museworthy, just a potpourri of cool stuff. Art, photography, animals, etc. Feel free to check it out and assess my curatorial skills.

So the painting I posted was this nude by the 19th century Spanish artist Ignacio Pinazo Camarlench. In addition to the lovely swimming figure, the teal color is great.

Camarlench was born in Valencia in 1849. He grew up poor and worked in various jobs to help support the family. By the time he was 21 he was enrolled in art academies and on his way to a successful career as a painter, doing commissions, receiving awards, and teaching.

I looked at a lot of his work, and I especially like when he worked in a more painterly style with conspicuous brushstrokes. But he really mixed it up over the course of his life, shifting gears in both style and palette. His subjects range from portraits to landscapes to nudes, and many works of his children. I’ve selected a few to share here with my readers.

Clavariesas:

Nude:

Lovers:

The Procession in Godella:

Icarios’ Games:

Marisa, the artist’s granddaughter:

Mounted Guards:

Nude

And the man himself in a really cool self-portrait from 1895. I dig the hat 🙂

For more Camarlench, including some drawings, go to Museo del Prado.

17 thoughts on “Ignacio Pinazo Camarlench

  1. kdmedina says:

    Fantastic stuff! I have followed your Tumblr.
    That really seemed Spanish to me. I regret that I have not seen those paintings in person.

    Off topic: have you seen this Cody Bellenger kid? A better opening to his career than Puig’s a few years ago.

    Hope all is well!

    • artmodel says:

      Ken,

      I’m glad you enjoy the Camarlench paintings, and thanks for checking out my Tumblr!

      I haven’t seen too much of Bellinger, but I’m sure you Dodgers fans must be ecstatic! The guy is off to one helluva start in the majors.

      Thanks for commenting! Always good to hear from you.

      Claudia

  2. artmodelandrew says:

    Like

  3. scultore says:

    I always enjoy the variety of pictures you curate(?) Nice to expand horizons

  4. Bill says:

    “Clavariesas” reminds me a little of a study that Sargent did for his “El Jaleo”.

  5. Dave says:

    Thanks for introducing me to Camarlench, yet another terrific artist I had never heard of until uoubwrite about him. I really like the swimming nude. That looks like it would have been an easy pose for the model to hold.

    • Dave says:

      “until you write about him.” Where was my autocorrect when I actually needed it?

      • artmodel says:

        Dave,

        Autocorrect does kooky things sometimes! Yes the swimming nude is fantastic. It’s up to 300 likes now on Tumblr! It does seem a fairly easy model pose/set-up.

        Thanks for your comments!

        Claudia

  6. SamuelTho says:

    I have found the liking does sometimes inspire motivation. Interesting coincidence finding the use of the word meanderings. I like.

  7. Jennifer says:

    The ‘teal swimmer’ is fabulous! Looks way ahead of its time. He also paints rather a dapper, confident self-portrait!

Leave a Reply

