Sustaining Days

Modeling by me. Sketches, notes, and anatomy lesson by Minerva Durham. Wednesday afternoon, 293 Broome St, New York City:

img-20161116-01825

img-20161116-01840

img-20161116-01857

img-20161116-01859

So what have you all been doing the past few days? 😉 Hopefully being sustained, as I have, by doing what rewards you, challenges you, nourishes you, and galvanizes you through the tedium. I am grateful for my livelihood an an artist’s model, and privileged to work with inspiring individuals like Minerva, the best life drawing instructor in New York City.

It’s a busy time of year. So when I’m not blogging, you know what I’m doing! Early wishes for a happy Thanksgiving to all. See you back here very soon … peace, friends.

20 thoughts on “Sustaining Days

  1. The bottom two poses remind me very much of some of Klimt’s figure drawings.

  2. Ray says:

    You and your family have a Happy Thanksgiving!

  3. artmodelandrew says:

    You have such a great trochanter!

  4. Bill says:

    You’re a lucky person indeed — no one has ever complimented my trochanter. 🙂

    Have a great Thanksgiving!

  5. kdmedina says:

    Happy Thanksgiving, C! I enjoy these. Thank you.

  6. Dave says:

    Nice drawings, Claudia, keep ’em coming. I never get tired of seeing my own image rendered by a pro or a talented amateur, and yours are even better than mine (and not just because your trochanter is more aesthetically pleasing than mine).

    • artmodel says:

      Dave,

      I never tire of seeing artists’ renderings of us either. Even after 10+ years of modeling! And while I’m sure you have a fine trochanter, I think it might be generally more pleasing in the female skeleton 😉

      Thanks so much for commenting, and Happy Thanksgiving!

      Claudia

  7. Alexis says:

    Claudia, thanks for posting insightful and thought provoking posts and beautiful art works. I peek in every other week to see if there’s something new, and it makes my day when there is. After spending the most active year ever as an artist’s model at age 40, I’m headed over to Japan where I’ve been invited to spend a month modeling at a top art school, and will keep checking your blog over the yuletide month!

    • artmodel says:

      Alexis,

      “.. after spending the most active year ever as an artist’s model at age 40,” <—-Yessss! How I smiled when I read those words. I also did a fist pump! Isn't our profession grand? 🙂

      Japan sounds exciting! I'm sure it will be a memorable experience. Congratulations! Thank you Alexis for sharing your experiences and thanks also for your kind words and support of this blog. I'm honored that you check in and find worthy content here when you do. Much appreciated!

      Claudia

  8. Lovely sketches and of course very good poses!

  9. Derek says:

    This is a lovely post and lovely drawings by your boss. What was it like posing for her and was it nerve wracking experience posing for her. And how was the class treating you. She must given great demonstration while you giving lovely and soulful poses.

    • artmodel says:

      Derek,

      I love posing when Minerva is running the session! It’s not nerve-wracking at all, however I am very conscious of the fact that she’s there observing and planning demos. We work really well together, and I have such great affection and admiration for her, as you know.

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

