Athena Comes to Town

Hellooooo Museworthy friends! I haven’t forgotten about you or about blogging – never!! I’ve just been – what else? – busily modeling in our fair city, as things are in full swing at our art schools, academies, and life drawing groups. Besides helping me to get my bills paid on time, modeling work has been fortifying me, and restoring me, as it always has.

I’d like to share this short video from The Metropolitan Museum of Art. Anyone who appreciates Hellenistic sculpture will enjoy this. It’s also a superb glimpse at how museums install large marble statues and the diligent process it involves. “Athena Parthenos”, (ca. 170 B.C.), on loan from the Pergamon Museum in Berlin, is now gracing the Great Hall at the Met, greeting visitors as they enter the building, and will remain there until the fall of 2018. Welcome to the Big Apple, Athena. We’re honored to have you 🙂

6 thoughts on “Athena Comes to Town

  1. Fascinating. Thank you for posting 🙂

  2. rmmauro01 says:

    Nice! Glad that things are going great. It’s not fun to be a starving artist. Thank you soooo much for the video. I love these kinds of things. Fascinating and educational. That it’s 2200 year old and a copy of a sculpture from the 5th century was a cool factoid.

    Also from the Hellenistic period is Winged Victory (Nike) of Samothrace in the Louvre Museum. Here’s a similar video that shows it’s installation after restoration.

    This video goes further into detail (in English). You know I have a thing for fabric. And they show it in detail.

    How the sculptors from 2200 years ago were able to create the gauzy fabric that we didn’t really see until the 1800’s (Vieled Christ, Veiled Virgin, etc.). As a 12 year old in the library looking at art books and obsessing over Renaissance artists, as I still do to this day, to see Ancient Greek, Roman and Renaissance idealized beauty, informed my idea of beauty.

    As Michelangelo said, “Gazing at beautiful things inform my soul”.

    • artmodel says:

      rmmauro,

      I love Winged Victory. Love love love it! Always been a favorite of mine. I remember looking at her in the Louvre, though it was many years ago. Thanks for the videos! The second one was very informative.

      Yes, it is fascinating how the ancient sculptors were able to create the appearance of folds and flowing fabric out of marble. It’s extraordinary.

      Great to hear from you, and thanks for your comments and kind words!

      Claudia

  3. Bill says:

    Beautiful — works perfectly in that space, too. And I’m glad that you’re getting a lot of work, too. I hope those NYC artists appreciate their good fortune!

    • artmodel says:

      Bill,

      I do believe that NYC artists are, on the whole, a most appreciative community, with regard to the professional models at their service and the many venues of our grand city. And I agree that Athena is perfect in the Great Hall space at the Met. I must see her soon 🙂

      Thanks so much for your comments!

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

