Portraits and Pets

My friends, it’s been far too long since we’ve had a Museworthy Art Show. Since December 2013 to be exact. We are way overdue for another one, so let’s do it! Here’s the plan: people can begin submitting works starting Memorial Day, May 30, all the way through the spring and most of the summer. Plenty of time! And by all means take your time, no rush at all. I’d like to publish the show post around mid-August, at which time the post will stay at the top of Museworthy while I take a little blogging break until Labor Day. Hope that sounds okay with everyone.

Our theme is “Portraits and Pets”, so you can choose one or the other. Many of you artists probably have a portrait in your collection all ready to go, and that’s great. Or you can create something new. For those choosing the pet option, we welcome dogs, cats, birds … any companion creature that inspires you to create a piece of art, like Matisse did with his “Goldfish”. As always, I will be participating right along with you. All mediums are welcome; oil, acrylic, pencil, pastel, crayon, watercolor, mixed media, collage, digital, iPad, sculpture, whatever you like! And ALL skill levels are invited – and encouraged – to participate, from beginner to advanced … because this is Museworthy and joyful expression is the most important thing here.

I will post periodic reminders over the next few weeks. And if you have any questions you can post them in the comments or email me. When you send your image, write “Museworthy Art Show” in the subject line, and make sure to include your full name, location, artwork title, and medium. I anticipate a charming and captivating array of works from my readers 🙂

See you soon!

dre0116_hi

12 thoughts on “Portraits and Pets

  1. Hey ho, let’s go . . .

  2. Bill says:

    Cool! Question: Can you determine how many hits the exhibit page receives — and maybe the geographic distribution?

    I was just thinking that, if some of the participants were to put the link on their social media pages — and if some of their friends/followers shared it, it might be fun to see the “reach”. For example, I could share the link with both of my Facebook friends 🙂 And who knows how many friends Jessie has — I saw “Cats”. She’s probably on Linked-In.

    • artmodel says:

      Bill,

      Here’s to social networking! I’d love it if readers/participants share the link, that would be wonderful. I’m able to see the blog traffic and locations via my WordPress dashboard. Not sure if there’s a way I can share that.

      As for Jessie, she’s not on Facebook but I believe she has an Instagram account 😆

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  3. Derek says:

    veru interesting concept so we can we start

  4. Judy Waller says:

    Can I submit more than one image? Can I include a brief story for each portrait?

  5. Mark says:

    Hi Museworthy – do you have any size requirements for the pet/portrait entries?

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

