Ahoy Buccaneer

“Are you a real pirate??!!”. That was the adorable question posed to me by one of the kids in Martha Bloom’s Art and Drama class for children ages 5 – 9 at the National Academy. The little girl’s inquiry was perfectly reasonable since I had already changed into my pirate costume 🙂 Children’s art classes certainly don’t make up the bulk of an art model’s booking schedule, but on the occasions when we do pose for the little ones it’s a welcome departure from the adult classes. No offense grown-ups, but kids are more fun!

Martha Bloom has been fostering the imaginations and creative spirits of New York City’s children for over three decades. Her classes are the starting points for the superb young artists’ education offered at the National Academy. With the help of goodies from the prop closet, Martha set up a makeshift mast for my pirate boat and put a treasure chest at my feet, with a rubber rat crawling out. “Blimey! Thar be a rat in me booty chest! Walk the plank ye little scalawag!!”

As the late afternoon sun streamed into the National Academy’s elegant Stone Room, the children set up their markers, crayons, and papers. Martha took this photo of me during the pose.“Ayyee aye matey! I am a pirate wench!! Give me a bottle o grog and we be swashbucklin’ three sheets to the wind!”

FullSizeRender

This is Sasha’s drawing:

IMG-20151020-01282

And this is Eliza’s drawing:

IMG-20151020-01285

The class Halloween show was just around the corner, and Gemma was assigned the task of designing the invitation. She created this excellent illustration:

IMG-20151020-01288

We went down to the office and made copies, which came out great. And a poster to go along with them.

IMG-20151020-01294

At the end of class, when I emerged from behind the changing screen dressed in my street clothes, Gemma exclaimed “You’re NOT a real pirate!!”. I think it was my NY Mets shirt that gave me away 😆

But Ratty the rubber rat managed to get over to the window of the Stone Room. Unless someone carried him over there … a pirate wench perhaps? Hmm …
The last time I saw him he was taking in the view of East 89th Street, gazing at the Guggenheim:

IMG-20151020-01277

16 thoughts on “Ahoy Buccaneer

  1. Greg Long says:

    How classic is that 🙂 Makes me feel like talking in a pirate accent all day. It’s grand to see kids doing art. I love it when my own daughter does 🙂 Well done 🙂

  2. sculptor2015 says:

    I love this post and hope to be able to share it on Facebook..

  3. Arrrhh…. A dashing pirate wench ye be, though ye be lackin’ a proper cutlass and an eye-patch… 😉

    That sounds like a fun assignment, and Sasha and Eliza did a pretty good job! (Better than I could do…)

    • artmodel says:

      Ahoy matey Phineas, ye be right! A rapscallion took off with me cutlass and a drunken strumpet stuffed me eye-patch down her bosom!! I’ll catch that wench on the poop deck!! 😆

      Claudia

  4. Dennis says:

    What a great story! And you looked fabulous!

  5. rmmauro01 says:

    I remember classes like these. It drove my imagination. How fun to see! Thanks.

  6. freddie says:

    Those are great drawings!!!

  7. Bill says:

    With the Mets shirt, it’s obvious that you’re not with the Pittsburgh Pirates — but I think you’ve found your true identity https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q2j90qg_5_w

    • artmodel says:

      Bill,

      The video was great, thank you! And it’s funny, I didn’t even think of the Pittsburgh Pirates. I believe they ditched the Jolly Roger logo on their uniforms.

      Claudia

  8. Dave says:

    I loved this post. I’ve never had the pleasure of posing for a kids’ class, but it sounds like a lot of fun.

    • artmodel says:

      Dave,

      It is fun! I’d pose for a kids’ class every week if I could. Hope you have the opportunity.

      Glad you enjoyed the post and thanks for commenting!

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

