Mom at 80

Eighty years ago today, a baby girl was born in upper Manhattan to two Armenian immigrants. It was their first child in their adopted country, and they named her Elaine. She is my Mommy 🙂

You don’t get to 80 years of age without experiencing your share of triumphs and hardships, joys and travails, and forging rich meaningful relationships. Mom is beloved and adored by her family and friends, as she should be. It is rare to know a person of such warmth, kindness, generosity, and loyalty. And to have her as your mother is a blessing beyond words.

Since Mom’s birthday falls on a Monday this year, our Music Monday post is all hers. I chose a song that reflects Mom’s eternally hopeful spirit, her persistent wish for the happiness and well-being of her family, her friends, and her community. Mom doesn’t give up. Never has, and never will. And there’s no better person to sing this song than one of Mom’s idols, the one and only Elvis Presley. Though he is frozen in the minds of many as the hip-shaking rock-and-roller on the Ed Sullivan Show, many people forget what a truly expressive vocalist he was. He could bring the goosebumps with the best of them. A magnificently powerful performer. For you Mom … Happy birthday. Love you 🙂

6 thoughts on “Mom at 80

  1. derek says:

    Happy birthday Elaine
    80 years is quite a longevity.
    I hope we see more of your works in the years to come
    I hope we have not seen the last of your great talent that you lovely shared with us and you have been a great inspiration to me as well as your lovely child. I hope to be 80 in the long run . We both have children and grandchildren we both survived obstacles.

    nice collection, of music Claudia. Elvis would have been 80 had he taken good care of himself had he given up doing addictive drugs that sadly ended his life nearly 40 years ago. I never got to see him live he never played England or Australia thanks to Colonel’s legal status in the country.I saw his 1973 Special he was in great shape back then and he was on fire. God bless him.

    God bless you Elaine and happy birthday

    Here is one from me from 1973 TV Special I saw this one and it was quite inspirational Take it away KING..

  2. scultore says:

    Happy Birthday Elaine, and thanks for being Claudia’s mom. I hope to see both of you soon!

  3. Jennifer says:

    Very happy birthday Mommy Museworthy! 🙂 Hope you had a wonderful day. xx

  4. Bill says:

    I’m a little late, but let me add my wishes for a Happy Birthday! My mother is 93 and still going very strong, so I’ll be looking forward to seeing other Elvis postings on Museworthy for many years to come.

  5. Fred Hatt says:

    All happiness to Elaine!

  6. Elaine Hajian says:

    Thank you Bruce, Derek, Jennifer, Fred and Bill for the birthday wishes. I can’t
    believe I’m 80, age is just a number. So I try my best to remain active
    by painting, working in the garden, seeing my dear friends and
    enjoying my children and granddaughter. Your thoughts are much appreciated. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

