Art Around Town

Well hello there friends! It wasn’t my intention to go so long without a new blog post. I’ve just been completing a long sculpture pose at Grand Central Atelier and then jumped right into a weekend workshop with Max Ginsburg. So it’s been modeling duties, and the resulting body rest, that have occupied me for the past several days. I was worried that pilates class on Monday would be agonizing, but it wasn’t! Felt really good actually. My spine was grateful 🙂

My good friend Francisco Malonzo shared something with me that I’d like to share with all of you. It reminded me that artists and models can appreciate the same experience of seeing artwork on the wall – artists delight at seeing their creation on display, and we models delight at seeing ourselves on display. A collector here in NYC took pictures of Francisco’s pieces in his Upper West Side apartment and they’re wonderful to see. A portrait of me is among the collection. You can view them on Francisco’s blog. Francisco’s dazzling work has appeared on Museworthy several times over the years. You can view previous posts here and here .

Also, I thought I’d share a photo from the sculpture class at Grand Central Atelier. It was a terrific gig with a lovely small class. I did a standing pose, which is fairly common for sculpture, and it was well worth it as you can see in this impressive work by fourth year student Charlie Mostow:

IMG-20151001-01212

Lastly, in keeping with three-dimensional creations, a photo I took last night at a gathering at the Armenian Diocese here in New York, where a new sculpture was unveiled to commemorate the centennial of the Armenian Genocide. Michael Aram designed this stainless steel work called “Migrations”, and on a beautiful moonlit October evening in the city, clergy members, artists, and Armenian New Yorkers were deeply moved by the dedication of this piece. My phone pic is okay but you can see it more clearly at Architectural Digest with an accompanying article.

IMG-20151006-01253

That’s all for now, friends. I’ll see you soon!

13 thoughts on “Art Around Town

  1. Regarding Mr. Mostow’s statue, it’s nice to see Classical sculpting isn’t dead. 🙂

  2. Dave says:

    That sculpture is terrific. I assume you were holding a pole in your right hand? How kind did you pose in total?

    I’ve still never posed for a sculpture class, but I hope to.

    • Dave says:

      Grrr, autocorrect. How LONG did you pose in total?

      • artmodel says:

        Dave,

        The pose was 12 hours a week for four weeks. And you’re right that I was holding a pole in my right hand! The sculptors didn’t include it during the molding process but can insert something in there afterward if they choose to.

        I hope you have the opportunity to pose for a sculpture class at some point. It’s different for us models in that we have something to watch while we pose – seeing the artists working – instead of just staring at the backs of easels.

        Thanks for your comments!

        Claudia

  3. Fred Hatt says:

    It’s great to see images of you proliferating around town, Claudia!

    The Architectural Digest link you provided is worth checking out also for the description of symbolic aspects of the monument.

    • artmodel says:

      Fred,

      Yes, the Architectural Digest article was a nice read, that’s why I thought it was worth linking to. Try to get over to the Diocese if you can, and see the work in person. It’s very moving.

      Thanks for commenting!

      Claudia

  4. Bill says:

    I think that the apartment is a good example of how living in an environment that includes original art enriches the quality of our lives. Of course, it also helps if the art is this good 🙂

    I think I’ve shared this with you before, but just wanted to point out that there is an Armenian site in Boston on the Greenway — if anyone is ever in the area: http://www.armenianheritagepark.org

  5. frm923 says:

    Thanks Claudia for linking my work! Your portraits are always a big draw among collectors. This one is currently on loan to another potential buyer 🙂
    Claudia 1
    Hope you’re well and thanks again for the mention!
    Francisco

    • artmodel says:

      Francisco,

      It is totally my pleasure to share your work on Museworthy! I’m a big fan of what you do 🙂
      And how exciting about the loan of the painting! I remember very well posing for that one. Beautiful.

      I’m so happy for your success, friend. Keep up the good work, and thanks for commenting!

      Claudia

  6. Michael Radford says:

    The sculpture is absolutely beautiful. Any chance we can see more photos of the completed work?

    • artmodel says:

      Michael,

      Yes, the sculpture is beautiful! I will text Charlie and see if he has any more photos. He said he was going to cast it, don’t know if he has yet. Perhaps he’ll post it on his website or on the GCA blog. I’ll keep you updated!

      Thanks for commenting.

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

