Tidings

Warm thanks to Museworthy readers who expressed concern about my ear troubles and shared their own conditions and treatment tips. You’ll be happy to know that I’m feeling a great deal better and am almost at 100%! But the doctor said that I won’t be completely in the clear until allergy season has passed. So I’ll just have to handle it day by day and try not to get hooked on saline nasal spray. Seriously, have you tried this stuff? It’s so good. All-natural and very refreshing.

I’m also still very much an art model, in case I gave the false impression I’m considering giving it up. I’m not! However, it is taking its toll and I’m not getting any younger. At Spring Studio the other day when I was straightening up after doing a ten minute pose with a deep backbend, I let out an audible “Ah ah ah ah .. ow.” A guy who had been drawing close to the platform heard me and grinned. “Tough one?” he said. I laughed and said, “Maybe I’m getting too old for this!”. A yoga class this weekend might be in order. Once upon a time I used to be good at these. I’ll get it back, hopefully!

Speaking of modeling, I had a thought about the next Museworthy Art Show while I was doing a long pose at the 92nd Street Y yesterday. In a sitting twist on a low stool the idea came to me. Let me know what you think. It’s Portraits and Pets! Share your opinions/questions in the comments!

Some charcoal sketches of me by Joan Stevens created Monday night at the National Art League in Queens. Thanks Joan 🙂

IMG_6991

16 thoughts on “Tidings

  1. Rob says:

    Those drawings are great!! Don’t retire; I want to draw you sometime. As for your show……please post some photos, huh? Seriously, where could I go to draw with you sometime late summer/fall?

  2. scultore says:

    Good idea for the show! Ika loves sharing the stand with you, and maybe we can get Tako to put in an appearance

    • artmodel says:

      Bruce,

      My girl Ika!!! She loves the modeling platform almost as much as I do. Now if we can get Tako to participate we’ll have quite a scene!

      Thanks for commenting, and thanks for the drawings you sent 🙂

      Claudia

  3. Derek says:

    I look forward to the next Musewothy show two years ago that was the greatest moment in my life that I can be creative again and thanks to you you have given the strength and courage to be creative again. I was struggling with cancer I thought that is the end for me. With the help of my doctors and my children mostly Peta who was also my angel of down nuder I had the courage to ifght the old demon inside me as well as depression.

    I was so influenced by the likes of Daniel Maidman and of course your lovely mum Elaine they also became my heroes as to inspire people like me to do more art which is a beautiful that the gods have given us. I don’t know them personally but I ams ure they are lovely people and amazing talents just like other heroes from australai and in the uk.You are also a special gem as to inpisiring people like us and the artists that have illustrated you. You continue to give everyone joy with your artistic gift and never say you are old unless you reach my age 66.

    If there are any images to inspire us I am ready to be creative and I am willing to share again as well as the artrists who are going to participate.Don’t think about retirement you are still young and so full of life. God bless .

    • artmodel says:

      Derek,

      I’m so very glad that you’re doing well. Your spirit is as optimistic and joyful as it’s ever been! And how lucky you are to have a loving, supporter daughter in Peta.

      I have a general idea about what the Portraits and Pets show should be .. or could be. We’ll discuss it more on the blog. It won’t take take place until the fall anyway so we have plenty of time.

      Thanks, as always, for your comments 🙂

      Claudia

  4. Dave says:

    Hmmm, portraits and pets. That sounds challenging. I have 3 large dogs, and I’d love to draw them. But they don’t do long poses very well, just gestures. So maybe portraits would be better. But I’ve never been too good at capturing the face. Still, I’m game. How about an awkward pose show instead?

    And thanks for commenting on my essay!

    Dave

  5. Bill says:

    Personally, I prefer the saline nasal gel. But I’ve always been a bit of a rebel 🙂 Glad you’re feeling better.

    Portraits and Pets — not sure what that means. Would your cat be sharing the model stand with you for a photo or two? Or would we be supplying our own pets in self-portraits?

    • artmodel says:

      Bill,

      I was thinking an either/or choice: human portrait or pet portrait. If people want to combine the two that’s great too! Not me or my pets, people will use their own. We’ll see. I’ll wait for more feedback.

      And now you’ve got me thinking about the saline nasal gel. Maybe I’ll try it!

      Thanks for commenting.

      Claudia

  6. Alexis says:

    Hi, I am a male figure model from Seattle. I have been the subject of fantasy creatures like centaur, as well as an artist has juxtaposed a pet and me in the same portrait from separate pose + photograph. However I would not feel comfortable to actually pose with an artist’s pet, in spite of being an avid animal lover my entire life.

    • artmodel says:

      Alexis,

      I’ve never posed with an artist’s pet on purpose, but it has occurred by accident! During some private modeling jobs cats have curled up next to me during the pose. Artists draw them right in. Cute results.
      Your centaur sounds cool!

      Thanks for your comments, and welcome to Museworthy!

      Claudia

  7. Alexis Nicator says:

    Thanks, you’ve got an awesome blog going, besides being a beautiful model!

    And if you’re talking about holding a floor backbend for 10 mins you’re also a frickin athlete, please don’t think of quitting anytime soon!!!

    • artmodel says:

      Alexis,

      Haha, to be fair it wasn’t like the yoga “wheel” pose, but had similarities. Two minutes into it I was like, “why did I do this?” 😆

      Thanks for your kind comments about the blog. I appreciate it!

      Claudia

  8. “‘Maybe I’m getting too old for this!’.”

    Nah, though it must’ve been a bit embarrassing when they had to get a crowbar to un-twist you. 😉 Glad to see the ear is getting better, too!

    • artmodel says:

      Phineas,

      I may require that crowbar soon! Actually, getting OUT of contorted poses can be tricky sometimes.

      And yes my ear is so much better! Thanks for commenting 🙂

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

