da Forlì’s Angels

If the walls of my modest home weren’t already covered with framed artwork featuring one model – yes, that would be me 🙂 – I would want to time travel back to the Renaissance and commission one of the great Italian fresco painters of the 15th and 16th centuries to paint my home’s interior. He could adorn these plaster walls with stories, allegories, figures and faces, depicting themes of theology, philosophy, poetry, and the human condition. I couldn’t afford to pay him, mind you, but perhaps he’d be willing to barter his services for some art modeling.

For today’s Music Monday we have some surviving fragments of a fresco painted by Melozzo da Forlì for the Church of the Twelve Holy Apostles in Rome in the late 1400s. Today they are on view at the Pinacoteca Gallery in the Vatican Art Museums. These are “music-making angels”, celestial and beautiful with their lutes, drums, violins and tambourines. The third one would look lovely in my bedroom. Anyone up for a decorative house painting gig? 😉

DaForli-Angel2

DaForli-Angel

daforli5

DaForli-Angel3

16 thoughts on “da Forlì’s Angels

  1. Bill says:

    Ah, but how could you sleep knowing that you could be gazing at something this beautiful? 🙂

  2. Jennifer says:

    These really are rather beautiful and painted so long ago! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  3. Oh the Renaissance Masters, what an incredible period that was. I never get tired of looking at such awe inspiring art! Those visions of Christian iconography are so deeply embedded in my spirit, I was born in Italy after all… By the way my wife’s name is Claudia, and she was born in 1968 too… Funny!

    • artmodel says:

      lorenzo,

      That is so cool about your wife! See, Claudia is a beautiful name and 1968 was quite a year 😉

      And I also never get tired of Renaissance art. Your native country is home to the greatest artistic traditions.

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  4. Grier Horner says:

    These are truly angels from the realms of glory.

  5. dougrogers says:

    Saw those two summers ago.

  6. I love the art of that period. 🙂

  7. Derek says:


    Here is a history of this underrated great painter check it out
    I have seen this from my art history class a while back.
    These are wonderful paintings and done very classical I assume is done Oil on tempera I bet

  8. Dr. Jone Dae says:

    Nice. Love the Italian angels.

Leave a Reply

