2014 Send-off

I’m sure I’m not alone in my view that 2014 was a less-than-stellar year in many, many ways. Ebola, missing airplanes, kidnappings, beheadings, shootings, politicians being worthless and incompetent. Well, that last one could apply to any given year. Reading the news is always a dispiriting experience, but 2014 took it to whole new levels of misery and wretchedness. Good lord 😦

As for me personally, 2014 was a stew of tumult, leavened occasionally with some bright spots. In February my house was burglarized, which sucked, and not long after that the family strife began, which sucked even more. But then, on the night before Easter, I was born-again. And then came a crisis of confidence in my art modeling career, which was happily healed come September when schools opened again and brought a slew of work, with both reliable mainstays and brand new connections. I was “in demand” once again. Whew! What a relief. And of course my mother’s art show was another notable high point of 2014.

Museworthy had a fine year in blogging, with over 180,000 views, 69 new posts, 148 new subscribers, and visitors from 170 countries with the United States, the UK, France, and Canada leading the pack. I’m honored to blog for each and every one of you, wherever you are around the globe.

We’ll bid farewell to 2014 with two gouache drawings of yours truly by Robert Fontanelli, created at Spring Studio this year. I’m a pink lady and I appreciate Rob making me so glammed up! Thanks for the images, Robert. And thanks to all of you out there. Bring on 2015! Happy New Year, dear friends. See you soon 🙂

Claudia_Lounge_LoRes

Claudia_Body_LoRes

34 thoughts on “2014 Send-off

  1. myipadography says:

    Beautiful

  2. artmodelandrew says:

    Let’s leave all the Scheiße from 2014 behind and hit the reset button.

  3. scultore says:

    Great thing about New Year’s, its a good time for the reset, I am looking forward to it with lots more time for the real things in life like art ,friends, and inspirational models like you Claudia!

  4. I often think the ending year is awful because they’ve forgotten most of what was terrible about the year before. I actually believe there’s been no better time to be alive, but, at the same, time, no year or era with without it’s problems, dangers, and tragedies. Modern media just makes sure we don’t remain blissfully unaware of it all. :/

    And speaking of media, I love the works posted above, especially the first; you have a “Veronica Lake” look in it. Have a happy new year! 🙂

    • artmodel says:

      Phineas,

      You bring a voice of reason to the year-end laments. Thanks for that. I also happen to think that the 24 hour news cycle might be one of the worst phenomena of recent times. You and I are old enough to remember when you had to either buy a newspaper or turn on a TV network at 6:30 PM to get the news. Now it’s all day, every day.

      Thanks for commenting and I’m glad you liked the drawings! Veronica Lake? I’ll take it! 😉

      Happy New Year!

      Claudia

  5. Grier Horner says:

    Hope 2015 is a banner year for you.

  6. Lynn Kauppi says:

    Claudia

    The first work makes you look like Jessica Rabbit!: “I’m not bad. I’m just drawn that way!”
    The artist did a beautiful job with a beautiful model.

    Happy New Year!

    Lynn

    • artmodel says:

      Lynn,

      You nailed it with the Jessica Rabbit comparison! I hadn’t thought of that at all. Such a great movie. I haven’t seen it in ages.

      Thanks and Happy New Year!

      Claudia

  7. Bill says:

    It is definitely a Veronica Lake/Jessica Rabbit thing that’s going on there — I like it! (One of my favorite movie quotes, too.)

    Don’t worry — this is the year. Mets and Red Sox in the World Series!

    Happy New Year!

    • artmodel says:

      Bill,

      If 2015 brings a Mets/Red Sox World Series, I will personally come up to Boston, sit at the bar at Cask ‘n Flagon during the games, while wearing my Mets hat 😆 But be careful what you wish for my dear friend. Remember 1986!

      A very Happy New Year to you Bill. All the best 🙂

      Claudia

      • Bill says:

        1986? I’m sorry — I remember that we won the pennant that year, but everything after that is kind of fuzzy. . .

        Anyway, you’d be perfectly safe. Bostonians may love the Red Sox but, as far as they’re concerned, muses in bars can wear any hat they want 🙂

        • artmodel says:

          Bill,

          That’s good to know! And I could de-fuzz your memory of what happened after the Red Sox won the pennant, but you’re my friend and I would never torment you in that way 😉

          {Bill Buckner}

          Claudia

          • Bill says:

            Bill. . . I remember Bill Buckner! He played for the Red Sox back before we won those two recent World Series. (BTW, that was the manager’s fault. Buckner was playing hurt and they should have used a defensive substitute for him in the late innings.)

  8. Derek says:

    Happy New Year 2015.
    I hope you had a great new year possibly for this new year and hopefully things will be better than last year. Just recently my 78 year old sister had experienced a shortness of breath and was briefly hospitalized for a short time thank god she is out of danger and she finally spend the new year’s day with us and she began cooking for us along with the children and grandchildren anyway I wish you great success for you and your mum and brother and niece and the rest of you . Lovely piece that young lad did.

    Derek

    • artmodel says:

      Derek,

      Thanks so much for the lovely new year’s wishes. Glad to hear your sister is ok, and was cooking for the family! That’s wonderful.

      All the best to you, always 🙂

      Claudia

  9. Jennifer says:

    You’re right, 2014 sucked for both the world and personally! Here’s wishing you a much-improved 2015 and long may Museworthy continue to brighten the blogging world! take care and all good wishes, Jennifer

    • artmodel says:

      Jennifer,

      Thank you and Happy New Year! Indeed, many of us are happy to bid farewell to 2014. Let’s hope 2015 brings renewal, healing, and prosperity for all of us.

      Blessings to you, friend.

      Claudia

  10. fredh1 says:

    All the best for you in 2015, Claudia!

  11. Dave says:

    Happy New Year, Claudia! I wish you lots of great gigs and an equally satisfying year off of the platform.

    Dave

  12. Brian says:

    Claudia,

    My apologies for posting so late…nonetheless, best wishes to you (and Museworthy) in 2015!

    As for 2014 – while not a ‘banner year’ there was still much to be grateful for…old friends especially.

    Brian

    • artmodel says:

      Brian,

      No apologies necessary! Never too late to comment here. It’s wonderful to hear from you. Grateful for “old friends” indeed 🙂

      Hope you’re well, and warm wishes for good things in 2015. Thanks Brian!

      Claudia

  13. Hey Claudia

    Well 2014 was stormy for you – but here you are – Blessed to be breathing in 2015
    Me, I was also not unhappy to close the door on 2014 :p

    All the best for the rest of this year
    I guess the Salt Marsh is frozen <>

    SJQ

  14. AND and and – I also have to say that your rebirth is very very special news to me – 2014 did OK after all – more than

    • artmodel says:

      Stephen,

      Wonderful to hear from you! Yes, my rebirth was very, very special. One of the best events in my life. Sometimes I wish I could relive that night on Easter eve. And the salt marsh is indeed frozen! I’ve been so busy with modeling and I must talk a cold winter stroll over there soon. My excellent camera, which was stolen in my house burglary last year, was integral to my marsh photography. Not having it has impeded my posting. But I’m going to buy a new camera soon. I really need it!

      Thanks for your comments. Warm wishes to you for a marvelous 2015!

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

