Family Evermore

If I had the power to clap my hands twice and magically heal the fractured state of my family’s relations right now, I’d do it in a heartbeat. In fact it would have been done already. I think back on the warmth, kindness, good humor and conviviality that characterized Hajian family gatherings of my youth – and most of my adulthood – and wonder, “How did this happen? Where did all this animus and dissension come from?” 😦

But I can still give thanks, especially so now under the circumstances, that my family is still here .. to see another day … and with each day brings a chance to make things right, and begin anew. Hope is a priceless asset.

On this Thanksgiving of 2014, I offer the Prayer for Families from the Book of Common Prayer. It is particularly apropos for me today, and perhaps for some of you too:

“Almighty God, our heavenly Father, who settest the solitary
in families: We commend to thy continual care the homes in
which thy people dwell. Put far from them, we beseech thee,
every root of bitterness, the desire of vainglory, and the pride
of life. Fill them with faith, virtue, knowledge, temperance,
patience, godliness. Knit together in constant affection those
who, in holy wedlock, have been made one flesh. Turn the
hearts of the parents to the children, and the hearts of the
children to the parents; and so enkindle fervent charity among
us all, that we may evermore be kindly affectioned one
to another; through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.”

I wish a most blessed Thanksgiving to all of you. Peace, my friends.

Pablo Picasso, Harlequin’s Family, 1905:

Picasso-harlequins-family-1905-1

12 thoughts on “Family Evermore

  1. Mark says:

    May the blessings of the One be upon you and your family this Thanksgiving and always.

  2. Lynn Kauppi says:

    Happy Thanksgiving Claudia. My prayers for you and your loved ones.
    This year it’s my wife and me, our son, and our soon-to-be future daughter-in-law together for Thanksgiving. We’re truly blessed.
    Say a quick prayer for William and his grieving family, who’s now enrolled among the saints. Lived to his late 80s.

    All my love and friendship. Grace and peace

    Lynn

    • artmodel says:

      Lynn,

      A prayer for William, may he rest in peace. And much love to you and your family, that you may enjoy abundant blessings and good health always.

      Good to hear from you, and thank you!

      Claudia

  3. Derek says:

    happy thanksgiving to you and your lovely family:

    I am thankful to be alive at 65 going 66 in early January, and I am thankful to survive cancer and having my children and grandchildren with me in my support. I am thankful to be doing things one step at a time and I hope things are great with you and my prayers are with you friend and god bless you for the great things in life.

    • artmodel says:

      Derek,

      Not only do you have much to be thankful for but you take none of it for granted, ever. Your attitude about taking things one step at a time is useful for all of us. The “great things” in life, as you call them, are the things around us every day.

      God bless you friend. Peace.

      Claudia

  4. artmodelandrew says:

    Hey, the snow is back! I love when it snows at Museworthy.

Leave a Reply

