Elaine Hajian, Artist

It is with great daughterly pride that I announce my mother’s solo art exhibition at the Queens Botanical Garden. Yay Mommy!! This event has been almost a year in the making, and what a joyous triumph it is. Mom’s show, titled “Evolution of an Artist”, has just been unveiled in the Visitor’s Building and will remain on view until January 17th. Also, Mom is teaching a Plein Air Art Workshop this Saturday at the Botanical Garden. So basically, Mama is on a roll! I can’t tell you all how proud I am of her, happy for her, and how much my brother and I are sharing in her palpable exuberance during this time of artistic renewal in her life. The reception will take place on Sunday, October 26th, which also happens to be Mom’s 79th birthday. How cool is that? 🙂

Mom assembled a collection of her paintings that combine older pieces with new works, in oils and pastels, the latter being her favorite medium. Thanks to the invaluable assistance of her dear friends Joyce and Ed Morrill, the show came together magnificently, and the wonderful staff at the Botanical Garden are absolutely delighted to have mom’s paintings on display in their center. I took some photos on Wednesday.

IMG_6784

IMG_6792

The reflecting pool outside the building can be seen through the floor-level windows:

IMG_6770

While most of the pieces are landscapes and cityscapes, this section was curated nicely to group together sentimental subjects: portrait of my great-grandfather, an Armenian farm girl, a knitting grandma, and my cat Monty in a special work Mom gave me as a present after he died. It’s “Not for Sale”, but rather “on loan” from the walls of my house:

IMG_6796

So you can fully grasp the beautiful setting of the show amid the Queens Botanical Garden, this is the view from the exhibition space. Much nicer than those windowless galleries on the west side if you ask me:

IMG_6797

The lovely Rose Garden on the grounds that would inspire any artist, still looking healthy and vigorous in early October:

IMG_6818

IMG_6821

Congratulations Mom! You are so vital, so tireless, so youthful and enthusiastic in your outlook on life. I admire you, truly, with all my heart 🙂

And Museworthy readers, Music Monday returns next week! So stop by in a few days and we’ll have lots of fun. See you soon!

21 thoughts on “Elaine Hajian, Artist

  1. Jennifer says:

    Well done, Mommy Museworthy, putting on such a gorgeous solo show! You must be feeling very proud to see your work hanging all together on the wall of such a lovely venue. I hope you have a very successful show. A beautiful picture of the sadly departed Monty.

    • artmodel says:

      Jennifer,

      The Monty portrait is a favorite of many! Mom did a great job, and of course the subject is a handsome boy. I miss him 😦

      Thanks for your sweet comments. I love “Mommy Museworthy”!

      Claudia

  2. Derek says:

    Congratulations to you Elaine
    you are one visionary artist and a true gentle soul. The paintings are awesome and you show must be a success and I wish you nothing but great success from one fellow artist and parent to another/

    I won’t compare you with other artists you are your own person and what a unique feel to the colors and you do them so eloquence and grace/ I also love the landscapes you did especially the trees absoluately mesmerizing. I wish I could have been there but I live in Australia and I am not ready to fly over there due to my recent back surgery.

    I was influenced by artists from Australia and in England but you are also an inspiration for me as an artist when I did a piece based on your pastel painting of Claudia the foreshortening. the minute I saw that I was like blimey I should have done something like that for the Museworthy art show last year. I didn’t do it exactly cause I could never top your greatness but I did my version with different colors. But I also owe it to your lovely daughter who is a great inspiration to us artists.

    Anyway all the best to you Madame and I wish to live a great longevity as you are.

    Derek

    • artmodel says:

      Derek,

      I’m sure Mom is going to reply to comments when she has a moment. Right now she’s preparing for her plein air workshop tomorrow. But I want to thank you for your lovely remarks and agree that Mom absolutely has a gift for painting trees. She’s really wonderful at it 🙂

      Claudia

  3. Did you ever sit for your Mom? Did both of you ever think / talk about it? (I mean not a drawing from a picture, but a real life session)
    I think a daughter sitting for her mother is more than a sitting session. It is an absolute gift, a proof of total mutual trust and confidence. Something sealing the relation forever.
    My granddaughter is a teen. I have drawn her more than once, dressed of course (I prefer to be explicit but it’s important not to create any confusion). And each time she sits for me I have the feeling to foster and strengthen our reciprocal love and affection.
    And if one day – when she is an adult – she asks me (or agrees) to “pose as a muse” I will take her offer as the most beautiful gift on earth.

  4. Grier Horner says:

    Congratulations to one 79-year-old artist from another. Keep up the great work “Mommy Museworthy,” to steal Jennifer’s phrase.

    • artmodel says:

      Grier,

      All of you artists working and creating at 79, and even older, God bless you. It’s a beautiful, inspiring thing 🙂

      Thanks for commenting!

      Claudia

  5. Bill says:

    Really nice work! You must be really proud of her. A beautiful setting for those pieces, too — how large is the show?

  6. Viva Momma Hajian! My favorite is the autumn woodscape with path, the lower of the two-painting photo. I can almost hear the wind in the leaves. 🙂

    Beautiful setting, too.

    • artmodel says:

      Phineas,

      That painting you like is called “Country Lane”. And of course it looks even better in person. Yes, the setting of the Botanical Garden is really lovely. It’s a treasured gem here in our fair borough of Queens 🙂

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  7. fredh1 says:

    Looks great! Congratulations, Elaine!

  8. Elaine says:

    Thank you, Jennifer, Derek, Grier, Phineas and Fred for your comments on the blog about my art show. I appreciate all the support from family and friends, especially from Claudia who took the photos
    of the show. She and my son Chris have encouraged me along the way on this journey for which I will forever be grateful. Love to all.

  9. Elaine says:

    Bill, sorry for the oversight, I apologize. I’m 79 years old and my brain
    is playing mind games. Glad you liked the show. It will be on view until
    January 17th. If you happen to be in New York during then perhaps Claudia and I can give you a personal tour. Thanks for commenting.

  10. Cono Natale says:

    Is any of the art work for sale?

  11. Robin meek says:

    Howdy Claudia

    I know this is an old post from a couple years back but I love this post about writing about your mom. I do not know your mama personally but I see a very talented woman fabulous artwork. She is totally awesome I love her work I can relate to that kind of work cuz I am an artist myself I study art in Austin Texas and my favorite is oils and acrylic.
    I read that that you have posed for her in her projects and at where you work. What was it like posing for her. Was it very nerve wracking or felt comfortable with working with her

    Robin

    • artmodel says:

      Robin,

      I’ve never felt nervous posing for anybody, and definitely not my Mom. But thank you for enjoying and complimenting my mother’s artwork. She paints a variety of subjects – landscapes, still lifes, abstracts, portraits – which is a terrific strength as an artist.

      I hope your art studies are going well! Thanks for your comment.

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

