My Town

I hadn’t intended to post for the September 11th anniversary, as it’s not something I do every year. I posted back in 2011 for the ten year remembrance but not since then. I think with the current global events and resurgence of terrorism threats, feelings of fear, anger, and unease have been triggered in many people – especially those of us who live and work in big densely populated cities.

There’s no question that the 911 attacks and their aftermath are deeply felt by all Americans. But it will always be different for New Yorkers; more acute, more personal, more harrowing. Unless you lived here at the time you can’t fully understand. I don’t mean in any way to diminish others’ feelings or ignore Shanksville and the Pentagon. I’d never do that. I’m just trying to express the unique and exceptional mindset of a unique and exceptional city that remains a bullseye for grievance-obsessed monsters. It is a city that will never stop inspiring people, a city that wallops its inhabitants with challenges and impossibilities, thrills and disenchantments, oddities and curiosities, scandals and triumphs, idealism and cynicism. We are a maddeningly paradoxical town, where neurosis and fortitude live side by side. We rebuild on top of rubble, and we hold up a collective middle finger to people who think they can destroy us. And to those who hate New York or don’t understand it, we respond in snippy Big Apple form: take it or leave it.

New York, by Franz Kline, 1953

Kine-NewYork

Love, peace, and blessings to all of you, on this day and every day …

6 thoughts on “My Town

  1. Derek says:

    That event was infamous just like when London was bombed by the Nazi Germans during WWII 70 years ago my dad was a military man and he served in ww2 when England was bombed by the evil leadership of Hitler. I lost a friend in 9/11 as I mentioned it a while back and my heart goes out to him and his family. I hope no one gies through another monster like Bin Ladin or another Hitler. God bless them angels

    I hope and pray that we never go through this again and I hope we don’t have another monster in the future. NY is a good place to live and I have the pleasure of living there and its an artistic and hip territory depsite the tragic death of John Lennon in 1980 and the 9/11 attacks, it is very fun and the coolest place to be .

    • artmodel says:

      Derek,

      I’m praying right along with you. Sadly, the current tensions and upheavals in the world don’t bode well for a peaceful future. I feel concern for innocent people everywhere – Europe, America, Asia, the Middle East, etc.

      Thanks for your comments and your nice words about New York City! Always great to hear from you 🙂

      Claudia

  2. Lynn Kauppi says:

    Claudia

    My thoughts and prayers are with everyone affected from all three sites. Nothing else I can say.

    Lynn

  3. Bill says:

    Well said.

    And, as for your city, I have to say that there aren’t many other places on this planet that I’d endure an 8+ hour round trip on a bus to visit for a few hours. It is extraordinary.

    • artmodel says:

      Bill,

      What a great compliment! Your city ain’t too shabby either.
      Keep taking those bus rides and including your NY friend in your day visits 🙂

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

