Thank You Robin

The evil beast has snatched another victim. Or the “Black Dog” as Winston Churchill called it. No matter the descriptive epithet, depression is an absolutely brutal, unforgiving, unrelenting vicious illness. Those of us who suffer from it can try to convey its debilitating effects to non-sufferers and hope that they simply take our word for it. Clinical depression is nothing short of a fiend. A malicious demon that battles for your very soul. It keeps you constantly on the defensive, menacing you, taunting you. Yesterday, beloved actor Robin Williams tragically reached the point – the point of no return – where he just could not make it through one more day. In his California home, he took his own life. He was 63 years old. God rest his soul.

A shy, bullied only child, raised in the midwest, often left alone to his own devices, Williams seized his coping mechanisms, carried them into adulthood, and spun them into pure magic. A husband, father of three, Julliard alum, Oscar winner, stand-up comic, devoted friend, tireless supporter of the USO and St. Jude Children’s Hospital, actor of such astonishingly vast range he could communicate, and communicate with complete authenticity, both hilarity and heartbreak, joy and pathos, absurdity and earnestness. The performer who can transition between comedy and drama is a rare breed. Jack Lemmon comes to mind, as does Tom Hanks. But Robin Williams as an individual revealed a warmth and self-deprecating candor that is uncommon among show business types. He made no secret of his drug and alcohol addictions, his insecurities, and of course, his decades long struggle with depression. He sought, above all else, to entertain us. And boy did he.

Robin Williams, our genie and jester. Our alien, our mime, our english teacher, our Boston shrink, our stream-of-consciousness talk show guest … ours. Rest in peace. And thank you.

kinopoisk.ru

12 thoughts on “Thank You Robin

  1. Beautifully stated, Claudia; thank you too.

  2. Derek says:

    All I can say is what a great loss he left way too soon and he is two years younger than me. I am gutted and shiocked of what is happen to Robin. I remember watching his show when he played the alien back in the 1970’s. He was a bundle of joy and what a genius as a comic and a in dramatic roles like in “Good will Hunting” and “Dead Poets Society”.BTW he is a scotsman that is what he got the name Robin.

    My daughter loved his work as Aladin the genie in the animated film whe n she was a little girl and now my grandchildren fancied this tortured soul. He seemde fine and so full of life and who knew he had this old demon inside of him. I do know for a fact that he had personal issues like substance abuse. his death reminded me of a 1970;s comic legend Freddie Prinze who was a comic geius who left way too soon at 22 in 1977.I sympathize with his wife and kids and I pray that no one goes what I went rhhrough and what Robin went through a lesson to be learned.

    I will remember him for his bodyu of work rather than his tragic death and depression does hit home for me, I had my own demons meself with it and what Robin went through. God bless him and my prayers are with his family and to his fans.

    Rest in Peace mate

    Derek

    • artmodel says:

      Derek,

      I enjoyed Aladdin so much. It wouldn’t have been nearly as good without Robin Williams. He was genius. Also, I thought his performance in Awakenings was excellent and deserves more attention.

      Thanks for sharing your sympathies and compassionate thoughts. It is a terrible devastating loss for his family. In this time of grief, I hope they are comforted by the overwhelming expressions of love for the man and his work pouring out from America and around the world.

      Claudia

  3. Dave says:

    Thanks, Claudia, for that beautiful eulogy. I feel fortunate to have seen him perform in person. It was in Detroit about 10 years ago–he was from the Detroit area and you could tell he enjoyed being back.

    I hope his death will cause someone, somewhere to seek treatment for his or her depression.

    • artmodel says:

      Dave,

      How lucky you are to have seen him perform live! What a great memory. His death has indeed sparked a serious discussion about depression and mental health issues. Far too many people suffer with it quietly, afraid to burden others or come across as weak. Robin Williams got to the severe stage of being suicidal. I wonder if we’ll find out if he was on any medications. I’ve never taken any.

      Thanks for your comments.

      Claudia

  4. Peta says:

    g’day mate

    I also heard about Robin’ s death since my dad has mentioned me about my love for his character of Aladdin he really made me laugh that I had tears in me eyes in good fun that is. Thanks dad for mentioning me and I’ll see you soon. I hope you are in a good mood.

    Here is my own tribute to Robin Willians with
    Aladdin, rest in peace mate

    • artmodel says:

      Peta,

      It’s so good to hear from you. Thanks for sharing the Aladdin clip as a tribute to Robin Williams. It’s extraordinary how many people were touched by his work. So many contributions. He truly offered something for everyone.

      Hope you are doing well 🙂

      Claudia

  5. Steve Y says:

    Claudia,

    A very beautifully written tribute, thank you. His tormented soul recalls a favorite poet & hymn writer of the eighteenth century, William Cowper -pronounced Cooper. He was a contemporary of John Newton. Cowper suffered from depression, mental illness and repeated attempts at suicide. Nevertheless his literary gifts were immense, penning such hymns as “Praise for the fountain opened” and “God moves in a mysterious way”; also translating Homer and penning the dark poem “The Castaway”.

    I loved Robin because he put such an unabashed human face on his characters. He understood the irony and deep contradiction of fallen humanity and brought it forth eloquence and dignity.

    Blessings..

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/William_Cowper

    • artmodel says:

      Steve,

      Thank you so much for all of this; your beautiful expression of Robin Williams’ gifts, and the information about William Cowper. I’m aware of both him and John Newton, but with your comment I’m inspired to pursue his work more in depth. The Olney Hymns interest me, maybe they’re a good place to start? I’m checking out this page: http://www.theotherpages.org/poems/olney.html

      As someone who suffers from depression I get a bit uncomfortable with the “romanticizing” of mental anguish and personal pain. We do it with compassionate intention perhaps. But given our subjects here – Williams and Cowper – it’s understandable that we perceive tormented souls as deeply intuitive, expressive individuals who glow with honesty and truth. Something about inner turmoil seems to bring forth a fervency of spirit.

      Again, thank you Steve. Blessings to you, friend ..

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

