Light Years

I was going to open my birthday blog post with some “wise” and insightful quote about how aging is really a liberating, beautiful experience full of maturity and honesty or whatever, but come on . . . those quotes are all horseshit. And if anyone tells me that as a woman at 46 I am “ripening” they’re getting a knee to the groin. Ripening? What am I, a banana?

It goes without saying that I am grateful to be alive, healthy, and celebrating a birthday as opposed to, you know, NOT celebrating one. On the other hand, I can’t exactly bring myself to jump for joy either. It doesn’t help that I overheard a conversation between two guys on a crowded subway a few weeks ago. One of them was telling the other about a woman at his gym who flirts with him regularly. While he conceded that she was very nice and looked good, attractive and fit, he said he’ll never ask her out because, and I quote, “She’s old. She’s like 40!”. His friend shared in the horror by replying “Ew! That sucks.” The “ew” was a nice touch, don’t you think? There I was standing right next to these guys, trapped with no way to escape until my stop came up. The conductor’s announcement of 14th Street never sounded so good. I was outta there. What a relief.

Just a couple of New York jerks, right? Not worth getting upset over? Perhaps. But that attitude is much more prevalent than you think. Much much more. Especially in this city, which has ruthless tendencies. Yes, that attitude is hurtful, even cruel at times. Take my word for it. I have extensive firsthand experience. So today, on my 46th birthday, I feel like I have to apologize for not being Kate Upton.

My mother gave birth to me in 1968 and there’s nothing I can do to change that. Nor can I change, apparently, my habit of taking selfies on Photo Booth after knocking back a couple of Mike’s Hard Lemonades. Heck it’s my birthday. If I want to make an ass out of myself I will ๐Ÿ˜‰

4-up on 7-21-14 at 7.47 PM (compiled)

4-up on 7-21-14 at 7.48 PM (compiled)

4-up on 7-21-14 at 7.48 PM #13 (compiled)

38 thoughts on “Light Years

  1. Mark says:

    Rock on! Don’t regard the opinions of children (regardless of age) on adult matters. Age is largely in the head, though there is a bit of a physical component. Enjoy your life and enjoy your birthday. From the sound of it you are making at least something of a start!

    • artmodel says:

      Mark,

      There are a lot of adult children walking around, that’s for sure. I have to remember that!

      Thanks so much for your kind birthday wishes. Nice to hear from you!

      Claudia

  2. Lucy says:

    Happy Birthday!!! You look beautiful.

  3. jeffhaynes says:

    Sure, I’d like to be 20 again, but only if I could keep the wisdom I’ve gained in the 20 years since the last time I was 20. I know that I’m much more of the person I strive to be now than I was two decades ago.

    You have obviously built some great successes for yourself, including ongoing modeling work. Think about it. Most women, regardless of age, can not claim to be professional models, with as much contribution to works of art, as you. Keep going. And happy birthday!

    • artmodel says:

      Jeff,

      You are so right about being the person you “strive to be”. We get closer to it with each year, hopefully. And as much as I lament the loss of my youth, I look back on the 20-something me as a different person. Not different like a stranger (because I know her very well) but like a person untested. Being tested, as we are now, changes everything.

      My modeling career is without a doubt a source of pride for me. Thank you for pointing that out. And thanks for sharing your comments!

      Claudia

  4. Happy, happy birthday Claudia! Sorry about these feckless douches, ptui. You have a very happy new year and I cannot wait to do more work with you! xoxo

    • artmodel says:

      Daniel,

      They were douches! I could have done without overhearing their conversation but when you ride the subway as much as I do you overhear a lot of unfortunate things. This is our town ๐Ÿ˜›

      I’m excited to resume our work! We’re in the schedule. Thanks for commenting and I’ll see you very soon, friend

      Claudia

  5. Bill says:

    (Full disclosure: If I allow you to think of yourself as all-that-old at 46, what must I be at 63+? I have a vested interest here ๐Ÿ™‚
    1) a lot of guys tend to be self-centered, right? Well, their definition of an old person is someone who is older than they are.
    2) when you did your last blog posting about taking your bikini to the beach — well, there are a lot of people who would never own a bikini — let alone do justice to one like you must.
    The bottom line is that besides growing into an even more beautiful person on the inside, I’m not seeing any evidence of this so-called “ripening” — and you are still far more “ap-peeling” than a banana. (Sorry — couldn’t resist. Well, I could have resisted. . .)

    So — happy 46th! And who the hell is Kate Upton anyway?! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • artmodel says:

      Bill,

      Kate Upton is the Sports Illustrated swimsuit cover model and current infatuation of 80% of American men. Allow me to provide a description of her: she’s 22. Need I say more? ๐Ÿ˜†

      I hope I did justice to my bikini! I could clarify that I used to do it a great justice 20 years ago, but I won’t go there and ruin your nice compliment.

      Your birthday wishes and thoughts are very sweet, puns and all! Thank you.

      Claudia

  6. Derek says:

    Happy birthday
    46 years is a milestone you don’t have to be a supermodel to be beautiful, you have a unique beauty that is unqiue and eloquent. and you ecrtainly have a gift in being who you are and you have nothing to be ashame of it. your mum did a great job in creatying you and you are her greatest accomplishment along with your brother and her artistry of work that she has done but No. 1 accomplshment id you and Chris, you are both her luvs of her life speaking as a parent and grand parent who is now 65.

    Since you remember 1968, I was 19 back then and I was a wild and crazy bloke and watched some of my favorite bands of that era, like Jimi Hendrix, Cream, The Hollies, The Yardbirds to0 name a few. Its also the first time I met my first wife back then. the sisties was at both a blessing and a double edge sword and I lived it. I see it on telly that many have protested an unpopular war which has divided the country.And assasinations of Martin Luther King and Robert Kennedy. Very tumultuous.

    Lovely photos of you seems like you are having fun and you are doing great and loving your art of being creating the artistic poses that inspires alot of artist. I would have prefer to see that beautiful reclining pose that you do so eloquentl and poetic but then again I fancied the pics, and don’t say that you are old that is alot of melarkey. 46 is a youthful age, btw did you that is the age of President Kennedy when he was tragically taken away in ’63. Anyway happy birthday a big hello to the family.

    • artmodel says:

      Derek,

      I’m glad you brought up my birth year of 1968. It was a tumultuous year to put it mildly. But an excellent year for music. It’s wonderful that you have such fond and vivid memories of those days.

      And I’m glad you liked the pictures. As I said in the post, I was a little lubricated with beverages, which is funny because I model nude in front of people all the time, sober and composed. But when I take pics of myself in the privacy of my home I feel slightly ridiculous! Hence the “loosening up”.

      Great to hear from you as always. Thanks for your comments and birthday wishes!

      Claudia

  7. John Giesecke says:

    Have the happiest! You add so much to the joy of art with your blog. Thank you.

  8. tmikeporter says:

    Your outlook on life is your source of beauty!

    • artmodel says:

      tmikeporter,

      I think that’s true generally, for all people. I try to keep my outlook positive, even though it’s not always easy. Thank you for commenting!

      Claudia

  9. Ken Crocker says:

    I wish I had such a beautiful model! On your birthday, always remember what Yogi Berra said: Always go to other people’s funerals, otherwise they won’t come to yours.

  10. Stewart says:

    Happy Birthday Claudia!

    Think young…be young. Have a wonderful day!

    • Dave says:

      Happy Birthday, Claudia! The photos don’t lie–you look terrific!

      One of the many benefits I’ve received from modeling is feeling a lot better about my age (5 years older than you). I know I’m no Tom Cruise (1year older than me), but hundreds of strangers have stared at me for hours on end and not only have they not been repulsed, they’ve made something beautiful out of my image. I can only guess how many more people have rendered your image than mine, but you have shown us so many examples of the beauty and grace they have found there.

      Again, Happy Birthday!

      Dave

      • artmodel says:

        Dave,

        You’re absolutely spot on about art modeling making us feel better about our age, our body, and our self-esteem. No question about that. Those artist renderings are illuminating to us models in a way totally unique to our experience.

        Thanks so much for your thoughtful comments and birthday wishes!

        Claudia

    • artmodel says:

      Thanks Stewart! Thinking young is the key, it’s true.

      Great to hear from you! Hope you’ve been well.

      Claudia

  11. Dan Hawkins says:

    Happy birthday beautiful lady! I hope you get to model today. I always liked to tell people that I was able to work in my birthday suit on my birthday.

  12. fredh1 says:

    You possess a rare beauty that is not youth-dependent. On your birthday I honor you – thank you for being!

  13. Steve says:

    Buona compleana tesora! Happy birthday young lady! Blessings to you and your family… ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Brian says:

    Claudia – fuck those guys. You look great! Happy Birthday! BTW – I was in your neighborhood (sort of) a few weeks back…just passed though Queens on my way to LaGuardia…brought back a lot of memories…

    • artmodel says:

      Brian,

      You better have been just passing through the borough to get to LGA because if you had any free time and didn’t contact me I will kick your butt!! ๐Ÿ˜†

      Speaking of memories, I was looking at some old pictures of us the other day. They were great. You would love them.

      Thank you so much for posting a birthday comment for me. Means a lot. Hope you’re doing well, Brian ๐Ÿ™‚

      Claudia

  15. scultore says:

    Happy belated birthday! Now I know who Kate Upton is! All the best to a really great human and muse.

  16. rob says:

    So tired of working with models under the age of 46. So tired of it………..

    • artmodel says:

      Rob,

      I can’t tell if you’re being sarcastic. I suspect you are ๐Ÿ˜†

      Claudia

      • rob says:

        No, I really am!! I’d like some maturity along with beauty, stamina and flexibility. So, yes happy belated birthday to the ideal art subject and super blogger!! Plus, I don’t know you well enough to be sarcastic about something as important as your birthday!!

  17. Derek says:

    In honoring your birthday here is a band from my generation and this is from the year you were born this Mick and the boys with “Sympathy for the Devil” it’s a dark song but its a fun song to listen my children and garndchildren love this song It was a very tumultuous era I do remember it well. I hope you fancy what you see

    • artmodel says:

      Derek,

      The quintessential Rolling Stones song. Great rock and roll. And the young and limber Mick is showing off his frontman moves, with a shirt removal at the end! Thanks for sharing.

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

