Beacon

O grace abounding, whereby I presumed
. .So deep the eternal light to search and sound
. .That my whole vision was therein consumed!

In that abyss I saw how love held bound
. .Into one volume all the leaves whose flight
. .Is scattered through the universe around;

How substance, accident, and mode unite
. .Fused, so to speak, together, in such wise
. .That this I tell of is one simple light.

Yea, of this complex I believe mine eyes
. .Beheld the universal form – in me,
. .Even as I speak, I feel such joy arise.

— Dante Alighieri, il Paradiso, Canto XXXIII

Wash sketches of me by Eleni Papageorge, created at Spring Studio:

IMG_6434

IMG_6433

8 thoughts on “Beacon

  1. Reblogged this on Joanna K Neilson and commented:
    Beautiful images, beautiful words of classic poetry. Sustenance through art.

  2. eleni papageorge says:

    wow these really look different outside the studio
    thank u for posting the images w/
    Dante frm an extract: “IL paradisio” in canto XXXlll
    it’s always great 2 draw u
    these poses r inspiring & inspired
    sorry i’ve been reading
    2 much ee cumings lately

    • artmodel says:

      Eleni,

      Now that you’ve seen your work on the Internet, maybe you’ll finally get a website? I will keep pestering you, girl 😆
      And I love ee cummings!

      Thanks for posting a comment and thanks for the fantastic sketches. See you soon!

      Claudia

  3. Derek says:

    You have been very influential ti us artists and you have hada great impact on us especially with this piece done by eleni papageorge.The piece reminds me of both Pablo Picasso and Robert DeNiro,Sr. who are fine abstract artists themselves. Great job Eleni. I don’t know you personally but you did a fine job that shows sterngth and vulnerability there in the piece along with the poem that tells and story.

    I wish I could have been there at your job to illustrate but I live in Australia with my family there but next time at the next museworthy art show give us more beautiful images and we will be able show creative inspiration.

    on behalf of us artists here who have illustrated you thank you very much and keep on with the job you love the most, you are the best muse there darling. and eleni keep on loving your art.

    • artmodel says:

      Derek,

      I’m so glad you enjoyed Eleni’s art. She’s been drawing and painting for a long time and keeps getting better. She has her own distinct style, which is great. As a model, it’s a real pleasure to be drawn by her.

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  4. Jennifer says:

    Agree with the above comments – lovely loose wash sketches to illustrate a thoughtful poem.

Leave a Reply

