Face Forward

Friends, I am feeling much, much better since the burglary I’m happy to report. All of you who assured me that my sense of security would return in due time? You were right. I wouldn’t say that I’m at 100% – or ever will be – but I’m currently at a good 75%. And I’ll take it! The jittery nerves, the thick knot of anxiety in my chest, the fear and vulnerability and sleepless nights have diminished significantly. So thanks again to all of you for your support and comfort, expressed through blog comments and emails. I really appreciate it 🙂

This is a pencil drawing of me by Irene Vitale, which is lovely for its simplicity and loose lines.  Between the burglary (during which she was a great support) and two snowstorm cancellations of scheduled art classes, Irene and I have had a crazy couple of months! Finally, we made it to the Art League of Long Island for class, on a snow-free day, where she taught, I modeled, and all was well.

IMG_6188

6 thoughts on “Face Forward

  1. Bill says:

    Good to hear it! A little more time — and you’ll be back to 100%. And soon the Mets will be back — and maybe this will be the year?

    And that is a beautiful drawing — excellent likeness with an economy of line.

    • artmodel says:

      Bill,

      Thank you! I love simplicity in drawings too and Irene did a great job with this one. As for the Mets in 2014, I will try not to get my hopes up 😆

      Claudia

  2. Dave says:

    So glad you’re feeling more secure, Claudia. And, once again, I can only express my envy as to the quality of the artists for whom you pose. Can you please send a few of them to the places I model?

    Dave

  3. Derek says:

    welcome back to some positive news from you my dear muse
    I am glad things are working out for you still doing the things that you love and inspiring people with your creative talents and I have some positive news I just finished doing a gallery in Sydney and this lady from my age group has bought the piece I did of you. The piece is the foreshortening reclining poses that was featured on the recently Museworthy art show. I was influenced by your mum’s piece she did of you that I did my own version of it but I didn’t do it exactly was Elaine did since I did it with Oil media on a canvas from my own studio .
    I got to meet my own muse for the first time in 41 years Allison Phillips who is now 70 years old and is a yoga instructor and looks beautiful as ever.. She is now a grandmother too, and we kept in touch with since the gallery opening with a group of artists. they all love the piece I did of you. I managed to photograph this so I can email it to you and maybe show the piece your mum inspired me as well as you being the inspiration. I have a lot to learn all this fancy technology regarding the piece. Anyway I will leave you alone for now I am going to be working with Allison in the future we have so much to talk after all these years.

    • artmodel says:

      Derek,

      I love this update! Thank you so much. What a bundle of fabulous news! Yes, please email the photo when you can, I really want to see it. And I know my Mom does too. Also, that’s wonderful about your reunion with Allison! It’s so great to hear that things are going well in your life. Very happy for you, friend 🙂

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

