Hasan Niyazi – A Remembrance

The art history blogging community received an incomprehensible shock this week. Hasan Niyazi, blogger of the splendid 3PipeProblem, died suddenly of an epileptic seizure. He was only 37 years old. I learned of the tragic news via a tweet I saw on Twitter just after I finished my modeling job. Ten minutes later I was sitting on a bus in Jersey, staring out the window, wiping tears from my eyes. A tireless advocate of digital archiving, use of the Internet as an essential tool for art historians, and commitment to excellence in scholarship, Hasan possessed an extraordinary ability to connect people all around the globe. He supported the endeavors of fellow art bloggers, even an artist’s model in NYC. He posted this tweet to me just a few weeks ago and it meant so much.

Hasan made himself known to me by posting a wonderful comment on Museworthy a long time ago, a comment that was both amiable and intelligent. That original comment was the beginning of our online friendship. How he managed to find me amid the countless art blogs on the Web I have no idea, but that was Hasan! And I’m very glad he did. Hasan had great admiration for my work as a model and he expressed it often, something I very much appreciated. While his core group of colleagues were fellow art historians, he still included me in his circle and enjoyed my quirky tales of life on the other side of the canvas and model’s take on art. I was incredibly honored, and pleasantly surprised, to receive an email from him last spring requesting my input for a discussion on art blogging that he was participating in at Melbourne University. It was so very thoughtful of him, and that gesture of respect for my feedback was emblematic of Hasan Niyazi’s appreciation of all voices in the art blogging community.

Unfortunately I never had the chance to meet Hasan in person. But I will forever cherish our warm, enjoyable interactions, not just about art but everything from the effect of wine on a sore throat to Blackie the one-eyed cat who I feed every day on my doorstep. Hasan Niyazi was a gifted art historian, passionate about the Italian Renaissance, a period of art that arguably has no rival and never ceases to elevate the human spirit. Hasan was also an extremely kind, genuine, benevolent, and hospitable human being who expressed himself with intellect, wit, eloquence, and joyful enthusiasm. He will be sorely missed by many, many people.

My art selection to honor Hasan Niyazi is this fresco detail, Cupid and the Three Graces, by his idol the great Raphael:

RaphaelCupidThreeGraces

A lovely tribute to Hasan was posted by Monica Bowen at Alberti’s Window, also Frank at Giorgione blog, Dr. Ben Harvey, and Sedef’s Corner. These tributes and the comments posted speak volumes about how many people were touched by Hasan Niyazi and how deeply his tragic, unexpected passing is felt, even by folks like me who only knew him online.

I want to express my profound condolences to Hasan’s family in their grief. Deaths of loved ones are difficult enough. Sudden deaths are even more shattering. I know this firsthand from my father who died within hours of us speaking on the phone. RIP Hasan. Peaceful journey, beautiful friend.

12 thoughts on “Hasan Niyazi – A Remembrance

  1. Jennifer says:

    I didn’t know the blog but am certainly very sorry to hear of such a sudden death at a young age. Will clearly be a great loss to you personally and the world in general.

  2. Bill says:

    I’m very sorry for your loss — it’s all just so fragile, isn’t it? And it does remind you of the other times . . . I remember sitting in my office on the afternoon of 9/11, wondering whether I had lost anyone I knew — when I heard that a younger work friend had unexpectedly died . . . in Switzerland. It made no sense.
    Take care.

    • artmodel says:

      Bill,

      I have become ultra sensitive to deaths which are sudden, because of my father no doubt. That feeling of an unexpected “blow” is still raw to me after all these years. Grief goes on, but it softens. SHOCK, on the other hand, has a jarring – almost violent – emotional effect that you can’t ever fully shake from your pysche. Hasan Niyazi’s death was so sudden, and gosh he was so incredibly young, that it’s difficult to process. I can imagine what his family is going through.

      Thanks so much for your comments and thoughts.

      Claudia

  3. Hasret Niazi says:

    Thank you very much for the moving tribute of my beautiful brother, Hasan. I am his younger sister. He had a gentle, pure soul – he was the most kindest, honest, loving man I have ever met. The sudden and unexpected loss of my dear brother has hit my family deeply. It is very painful and raw. We only lost my father two years ago. I know that Hasan’s legacy will live on, and his memory will live in our hearts forever. Thank again for the beautiful post.

    • artmodel says:

      Hasret,

      I’m so honored that you wrote a comment here on Museworthy, and I’m very glad that you found my post a worthy testimonial to your brother. It wasn’t easy to write, and I think Hasan’s other friends in the art blogging community wrote really wonderful tributes. Surely you are aware of how loved and respected he was, both for his warm personality and dedication to art history. He will be terribly missed.

      I can imagine the grief you and your family are experiencing. The shock of a sudden death is a painful thing. But I know that your family will provide strength for each other during this traumatic time, and Hasan’s legacy will serve as a source of great joy and comfort over the years.

      My deepest sympathies on the loss of your brother Hasan. May he rest in peace.

      Claudia

      • Hasret Niazi says:

        Thank you Claudia. You write so eloquently, just like others in the art blogging community, I cant seem to find the right words other than thank you. Your kind words provide much comfort at this difficult time.

        Hasret

  4. I’ve missed Hasan a while ago, but today I thought I will google his name and found this sad news. Hasan and I had nice interactions and discussions on twitter for some years and shared the same interest on certain subjects. I feel sorry for him and his family. Claudia thanks for writing this post.

    • Hasret says:

      Thank you for having us in your thoughts Dona. I am Hasret, Hasans sister. It is a very difficult time for us and we miss him terribly. I enjoy reading about his interactions with friends and fellow colleagues in the art history field. This was his area of absolute passion. I can only aspire to be as passionate, dedicated and knowledgeable as he was in my life. Thank you very much again.

    • artmodel says:

      Dona,

      Hasan’s passing was so shocking. He cultivated many warm relationships on Twitter and throughout the blogging community. An intelligent and passionate art historian, he left a huge void.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

