Rock the Week

Hey gang! One of my busiest modeling weeks thus far has begun with one day down, four more to go. I worked over in Jersey City today, which went well. A little ride on the PATH train never hurt anybody. Now I’m comfortable at home with feet up, sweatpants on, and a freshly poured glass of wine next to me, posting on my little blog before Game 5 of the World Series starts.

I hope to post again before the weekend, but can’t guarantee. Something tells me you’ll all survive just fine if I don’t. The muse will return. Never fear! For now, here’s a little old school 70s rock and roll for Music Monday to get our toes tapping. From 1971 this is The Faces, with a really young Rod Stewart, doing their song “Bad ‘N’ Ruin” on a BBC television show. I have no idea what’s going on with Ronnie Wood and his toilet seat guitar. Is that thing even plugged in? ūüėÜ Whatever, this is fun stuff. Enjoy everyone, and rock the week!

11 thoughts on “Rock the Week

  1. Derek says:

    I remember this clip from Top Of The Pops
    I remember this band I grew up listening to that band back in 1970, I remember Ronnie Lane )RIP), Rod was a great singer and he is now 68 years old. Ronnie Wood who is now playing with Mick and The Boys is an accomplished painter
    http://www.ronniewoodexhibition.com/ronnie-wood-exhibition-1.php
    is one amazing bloke
    Thank you got bringing back great memories of some of my college memories from the 1970’s.
    I remember seeing Jimi Hendrix, Cream, Led Zeppelin, The Jeff Beck group in 1968-1975, and Black Sabbath with a young band name Van Halen opening up in 1978 in the old days
    My children really loves the music we listen when we were young. It has been the soundtrack of my youth and I am sure it must be childhood memories.

    Derek

    • artmodel says:

      Derek,

      I didn’t know that Ronnie Wood is an artist! Thanks for the link. I’ve always liked the young early Rod Stewart, when he was still singing rock and roll, more than the disco guy he became later.

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  2. artmodelandrew says:

    The toilet-seat guitar reminds me of Spike Jones and his City Slickers. One of their instruments was a latrineophone.

  3. Peter Howard says:

    Hello there I remember seeing The Faces around this time at the Free Trade Hall, Manchester, England. They were all out of their heads, leaning on each other to stay vertical, swigging bottles of red wine. Not sure which category this would have filled on X Factor! Great band. Love Pete

    Date: Tue, 29 Oct 2013 00:41:02 +0000 To: petelatics@hotmail.com

  4. Jennifer says:

    Derek has confirmed that this clip is from ToTP (in which case they were miming). It certainly took me back too ūüôā Love Rod’s dusky pink jacket and mauve top!

    • Derek says:

      Yes that is from Top of the Pops that brings back memories too, I’ve lived it meself as well, and yes they had to mime after all it is Top of the Pops.
      Rod was a great singer doing the rock stuff I never fancied his sugary ballads that he did . but then again he is old just like me.

      • artmodel says:

        Derek,

        I wasn’t a big fan of Rod’s recordings of classic pop standards either, but I gave him credit for trying! Still, such a distinctive singing voice. One of the most distinctive ever. Recognizable within seconds. It’s fun to see him so young in this clip. I believe he’s said that if he hadn’t gone into music he would have been a footballer.

        Thanks for your comments!

        Claudia

    • artmodel says:

      Jennifer,

      Yes I love the jacket! Rod pulls it off well, young rocker that he was in this clip. I’ve always felt that he has a very adorable quality about him. And I saw an interview with him on Katie Couric’s show – last year I think – and he was so nice, witty, and charming. Still looks darn good for 68!

      And I have learned since I posted this that Top of the Pops had lip-synched performances. Many shows here in the US do the same, except for Saturday Night Live of course.

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  5. Wow!
    That is AWESOME!!!
    Thank you so much for posting it!

Leave a Reply

