The Return

Aaannnnd . . . we’re back! It’s official. The fall 2013 school years have begun. Yay! Studios are open for business, students are ready to create, models are ready to pose, and instructors are ready to impart their brilliance and expertise ūüėČ

It felt great to walk into the New York Academy of Art for my first modeling booking there of the new term, John Jacobsmeyer’s printmaking class. The class created ink sketches of my nude figure which they would later make into prints. I’d love to see how they turned out. I may have to find those students and ask if I could take a gander at the final results, as I’m a huge printmaking fan.

Few institutions undergo a transformation as dramatic from first week to end of the year quite like art schools. Summer cleanups are very thorough. New coats of paint brighten things up, supplies are stored neatly away, and everything is scrubbed spotless. When classes begin, the immaculate surroundings transform into smudges, splatters, and spills. Ink, clay, and oil paint start to appear on chairs, stools, and the floor, stacks of rolled up papers and unfinished canvases occupy every corner, fabrics are strewn about, and unidentified sharp objects stick out from various spots. So to models and students alike I say enjoy the tidiness while it lasts, which is about a week!

The New York Academy’s printmaking room, a great space, on day three of the new semester. Not yet sullied from the dirty work of making prints.

IMG_5731

Actually, the Academy is one of the least disorderly art schools I’ve seen. It’s a spacious facility with a conscientious staff and student body. The atmosphere is terrific. Great vibes. The Art Students League, on the other hand, is a cluttered mess . At least it was when I worked there years ago.

Did I mention how good it feels to be back at steady work? Yes, I believe I did. Off we go!

IMG_5733

8 thoughts on “The Return

  1. scorpioski says:

    Eeek! What happened to your arms??
    You look so pale!
    Never mind –
    That’s just a statue, not our intrepid Art Model.
    Phew!
    Glad you’re back.
    Enjoy the ride and thanks for sharing it with us.
    xox
    Paul

    • artmodel says:

      Thanks Paul! I may not have gotten a lot of sun this summer but I could never be pale, that’s for sure! And those poor art school casts never get outside ūüėČ

      By the way, my brother, sister-in-law, and niece were on Nantucket this weekend for a wedding at the Winnetu.

      Claudia

  2. Dave says:

    I’m jealous. My first session of the fall isn’t until next week.

  3. Jennifer says:

    Yes, that autumnal nip is definitely there in the mornings now – great that it means the start of work for you and I hope you’ll have a very successful modelling year ahead of you.

  4. Dan Hawkins says:

    Claudia:

    I finally had a couple of modeling gigs this past week. It looks like it is going to be a slow semester on the modeling front. There just aren’t as many evening or weekend classes.

    I did do something interesting. I saw a casting call for Discovery Channel’s Naked and Afraid. I went ahead and submitted myself, thinking that I didn’t have a chance of making it on. But a rep from the show’s production company called me, and we had a great conversation. I think I may have a slim shot. Of course, I may be crazy for wanting to do this since the people on season one of that show went through hell.

    I did take my evening walk Saturday barefooted to try to toughen up my feet (since the survivalists on that show don’t have shoes). Then I modeled for an open drawing session at the Dallas Creative Arts Center the following day, and my feet were just killing me the whole session.

    Yes, I am crazy…

    • artmodel says:

      Dan,

      You’re not crazy, but I sure couldn’t participate in that Discovery Channel show. You’re much bolder than I am! But then again, you’ve already been on television so are probably comfortable in that milieu. Let me know what happens!

      I hope more modeling work comes your way. I forget sometimes that most other models have regular full time jobs and rely mostly on weekends and evenings for modeling work. Actually, my fall schedule so far doesn’t have much evenings or weekends either. Most of my upcoming work, as of now, is weekdays, and a few evenings. Hmm … interesting.

      Thanks for your comments Dan!

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

