Me and the Mad Hatter

Helloooo everyone! Hope you all had a good week. The summer is rolling along and the weather here in NYC has been really beautiful lately. Clear blue skies, not hot. Gorgeous. After a couple of blog posts bitching about my doldrum days and scarcity of modeling work, on Friday, at long last, I was rescued. Yay! Rescued from this idle summer of crap and nothingness. My knight in shining armor was the one and only Fred Hatt, who invited me to his studio in Brooklyn. We spent the afternoon drawing, discussing the photos for the Museworthy Art Show, and enjoying each other both as friends and collaborators.

Fred is of course a professional photographer but I also had my camera with me, and that inevitably leads to goofy pictures taken when I’m not posing. My view from the studio floor with Fred in the background:

IMG_5695

I like it on the floor. And the floor plus mirrors is a recipe for weird visuals. Fred has plenty of mirrors around. Can you find me in this picture? My version of “Where’s Waldo?” 😆

IMG_5691

More fun with mirrors. Here I am showing Fred the fine art of the “selfie” , one of the more dubious fads spawned by social media.

IMG_5699

Me acting like a complete idiot. You see folks? This is what mirror selfies will do to people 😆

IMG_5701

When I wasn’t messing around with my camera, Fred and I got down to the more inspiring endeavor of creating art. Here’s two drawings that Fred made, each a ten minute pose. You’ll notice in the first one that the elbow gesture is similar to that in the small mirror floor picture:

fredhatt-2013-08-16-claudia-02

fredhatt-2013-08-16-claudia-03

And finally, a picture  of me and Fred captured the way people took photos of themselves in the days before “selfies” – with a timer! The large drawing behind us is one that Fred did of me in the summer of 2009, which I posted on Museworthy. Thank you Fred for a lovely afternoon!

Picture 4

22 thoughts on “Me and the Mad Hatter

  1. hobo hippie says:

    Reblogged this on MUSE-AHOLIC and commented:
    very cool!

  2. Neil Fleischer says:

    Fred is one of my favorite artists to model for and I love the work that you’ve done with him…so beautiful. The comfort level of two talented collaborators and friends is evident in the art. Wonderful!

    • artmodel says:

      Neil,

      Fred is, without a doubt, a model’s artist. Wonderful to work with, respectful, and a great guy as you know. I value his friendship tremendously.

      Thanks very much for your comments!

      Claudia

  3. Derek says:

    I like the pastels he has done in the background of you.
    I fancy his work he is talented I wonder what school did he studied?
    You both should make a wonderful collaboration of the two of you create something special maybe in a book and maybe you both can split the profits from the works.
    I am looking forward to his Museworthy Art Gallery presentation of you. I have something in mind and I have done some research in your photos and the ones of Mr. Mapplethorpe. I am doing a piece with the incline pose and the one based on the 1983 picture of that young beautiful African American male name Ken Moody which he had his eyes closed and covered his crotch. I have you in that position that he was posing. Very calm, strong and vulnerable. Peta thinks he is “cute” in that picture. But I am doing a female version of that classic piece is how can I send it? I am kind of old school at this do I attach this one youre file or email you? forgive me for asking and when can I send it.

    I am also looking forward to Elaine’s work as well I am sure she will a great job at it with charcoal or paint. She defintely has an eye just like your friend Fred and I still luv the picture he did of you it reminded me of the Mapplethorpe images he did back in the 1970’s and 1980’s.

    Derek

    • artmodel says:

      Derek,

      I’m going to post all the information regarding Art Show submissions and guidelines soon. There will be plenty of time for everyone to choose their photo pose and create the work. Yes, Mom will be submitting, and me too! It’s going to be a lot of fun for the Museworthy community. Stay tuned!

      And Fred, believe it or not, is a self-taught artist. He went to school for film, but his art comes from his own independent practice.

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  4. Jim O'Neil says:

    Yep, you & Fred work well together, Claudia!

    Speaking of summer modeling doldrums, the life drawing sessions we have up here close down completely during the summer. Everyone’s far too busy, it seems, for regularly scheduled drawing sessions. For example I spent ten hours canoeing the river yesterday with two friends from Japan, 12 hours the day before taking them to a local hot spring, am setting up a fresh salmon BarBQ as a going back to Japan for one of them today, etc., etc., etc. -alas too busy to draw/paint/sketch.

    Parenthetical aside: (BTW, Claudia, I’ve become un-enamored with the ‘new flickir format’; if you’ve any interest in seeing what I’m up to here on top of the world, I’ve moved my art stuff and photos over to iperenity: http://www.ipernity.com/home/319805 ).

    • artmodel says:

      Jim,

      I can’t stand the new Flickr format! It’s very bad. I’m glad you said that because I thought it was just me! Thanks for sharing your ipernity link.

      Alaskans may have taken a break from life drawing this summer but you’re certainly spending the time well. River canoeing and hot springs sound awesome 🙂

      Great to hear from you!

      Claudia

  5. Dave says:

    I love the drawings. I wish i had an artist as talented as Fred to do some drawings of me!

  6. Jennifer says:

    Loved the view inside Fred’s studio and the gorgeous drawings! It was obviously a very rewarding afternoon 🙂

    • artmodel says:

      Jennifer, it was! And very welcome for me especially. Fred’s had a much busier summer with work than I have. It was so good of him to find the time to have me over for a session. Felt great!

      Thanks for your comments.

      Claudia

  7. Brian says:

    Just catching up after a long absence…you look fabulous Claudia…always great to see the work Fred does with you – I can feel the energy jumping right off the canvas. All the best.

    • artmodel says:

      Brian,

      I’m so glad you posted a comment, thank you! It’s been a long time and I’ve missed you. I hope everything is well in your life.

      “Energy” is the perfect word to describe Fred’s drawings.

      Great to hear from you 🙂

      Claudia

  8. toemailer says:

    We would love to post the top picture and an excerpt of you text at toemail if you do not mind? http://toemail.wordpress.com

  9. toemailer says:

    Thanks! We will let you know when it is posted,

  10. Grier Horner says:

    Fred’s work is fantastic. He is lucky to have a model like you.

  11. Inspirational shots. Thanks for the views, and best wishes.

Leave a Reply

