Museworthy Art Show Redux

With all due respect to the other bloggers out there, this blog – sweet ol’ Museworthy – has the best readers. THE BEST. That’s a fact, Jack! 😉 It’s been too long since I acknowledged this, but you guys really and truly keep me going in the blogosphere. I owe you all a debt of gratitude, and I try to demonstrate it every week, with every post, with every word typed and every image uploaded. Each time I hit the “publish” button on a post draft I hope, in my heart, that you all take even a little something from my humble offering. In return, I receive much from my readers; smiles, laughs, thought-provoking insights, intelligent comments and conversation, emails, useful links, and even personal support during my moody, unraveled episodes. What did I do to deserve such a cool gang of followers? I’m so very grateful.

I’m sure many of you remember the Museworthy Art Show from 2011. It was a great success if you recall. I definitely enjoyed it! Since then I’ve been made aware of interest in a second Museworthy Art Show, something I should have done last fall. A reader emailed me recently with a splendid idea for another Art Show, but with an interesting twist. Todd Fife, a Museworthy reader from the great state of Kentucky, suggested that this time readers submit their artwork based on a life modeling photograph of me, the muse and blogarista! For a reference photo we would choose from two, maybe three, of the professional photos of me which have appeared on the blog over the years. Just a reminder; all the nude pictures of me which have been published on Museworthy since its inception have been taken by the only person who ever photographs me, and that is my dear friend Fred Hatt. So what do we think of this idea? My livelihood is devoted to serving as model for artists in studios and schools, so why not for my blog readers? If everyone likes this concept then I will figure out the specifics and set a submission date. Please share your thoughts in the comments! And like last time, I too will submit a piece, because one need not be an “artist” to participate in a Museworthy Art Show. All are welcome to take part!

This is me doing the chair thing, photographed by Fred Hatt:

Picture 3

By the way, since I was just singing the praises of my readers and their feedback, I’m wondering why no one has said a word about the new blog theme background. Does it totally suck? 😆 My mother doesn’t like it! I suspect it’s too girlie and silly. But “customization” can drive you absolutely mad. I was up until four in the morning testing different backgrounds. If pink circles and swirls aren’t working for you guys then I may have to experiment again and choose something else. Stay tuned!

35 thoughts on “Museworthy Art Show Redux

  1. Ooooh! Me me me me! I want to take part! Love your blogging lately, Claudia! And the theme is OK, but I feel like it’s testing my color vision or something, and I don’t know if I pass.

    • artmodel says:

      Daniel,

      So I gather that you’re enthusiastic about the art show idea? 😆
      As for the theme, I certainly don’t want to cause color vision disturbance! Think I’ll change it soon.

      Thanks for your comments and input!

      Claudia

  2. Mark says:

    For those of us who get your blog via e-mail we don’t see your background. I had to go to the website to see it and then realized that I don’t remember what the old one looked like. If you like it, keep it. I’m interested in your comments and the art you put up, both of yourself and of others. I think that if I was still going to the website I probably wouldn’t pay the background much attention. After all, it’s background. If you notice it, it’s trying to compete with the rest of the blog. Meanwhile I’ll wait to see a submission date.

    • artmodel says:

      Mark,

      I completely forgot about RSS and email subscribers and how they view the blog. Thanks for reminding me! I read blogs on the sites themselves so it didn’t occur to me.

      Yes, wait for the submission date! I’ll post it soon. Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  3. Mark says:

    Your unique and thoughtful commentary on art and your perspective as a model are what draw me to your blog, so put up any old background you want. I’ll still read your posts.

    And, about your art show; I’m in!

    • artmodel says:

      Mark,

      Thank you so much for the kind words! Yes, the content of the blog is definitely more important than the background 🙂

      Glad I can count you in for the Art Show!

      Claudia

  4. cauartprof says:

    Claudia,
    I agree with Daniel and Mark, let’s make some art! As you suggested it would be great to see a few “Claudia” options from Fred’s pics. It would also add a bit of variety to the show. You mentioned the blog background….yeah, not a fan, BUT as our fearless leader in this adventure I support your right to have any background you choose. Look forward to seeing the details on Museworthy Art Show II.
    Chris

    • artmodel says:

      Chris,

      You’re with my Mom in your opinion of the background, She’s not a fan either! I like the colors but the pattern looks a little like gift wrapping paper 😆

      So happy you’re ready to make some art! Yes, I think we should have a couple of images to choose from.

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  5. Bill says:

    I generally don’t see the background through my RSS reader, either. (I hesitate to say that after you stayed up until 4 in the morning.)

    Sure, great — I’m up for the show — and thank you to your friend, Fred, for his willingness to participate. My suggestion would be to use 2-3 photos, since that would add variety to the show while giving us a little more choice. Another possibility would be to include a portrait photo, if such an entity exists.

    • artmodel says:

      Bill,

      A choice of 2 or 3 photos sounds about right. And I too thought about a portrait option because I know many people enjoy that. I will try to work that in. I remember that your piece in the first Art Show was a portrait.

      Thanks so much for your feedback!

      Claudia

  6. Dave says:

    I have to admit I didn’t notice the background until you mentioned it. But now I see it, it’s fine with me.

    That pose looks painful, especially for the right foot! I doubt I could hold it for more than a minute. I haven’t done any photographic modeling, but I guess you can push the envelope a lot further than for a drawing or painting.

    I draw as well as model, so I’ll take part in the show. Looking forward to it.

    • artmodel says:

      Dave,

      One of the cool things about modeling for photographs is that you don’t have to hold poses for long periods of time, just long enough to snap the pic. So we models can do interesting, dramatic things and not have to worry about torturing ourselves! The pose in this photo is just one of many variations I did in the chair. Fred and I were experimenting with different angles, shadows, etc.

      I love that you will submit a piece for the show! That’s great Dave. Thanks for your feedback!

      Claudia

  7. T.O. Fife says:

    Groovy, this should be fun. Maybe you could link to some of the photos available? And when the options have been narrowed down to a couple or so, is there a chance for a higher resolution or larger image for the final choices? As for the background, I like it . . .

    • artmodel says:

      Todd,

      You called it! You are the man. Looks like the idea has gone over well, thank you! And I’m glad you like the background 🙂

      Yes, I will ensure that the photos be hi-res and large.

      Claudia

  8. danielh1966 says:

    I’m not an artist, although a year or two ago I did try to draw a female model who was a friend of mine. She was modeling for the local art center for the first time after I recommended her to the coordinator. With my friend’s approval, I made a deal with that coordinator; I could come draw for half the session without paying the fee and model with my friend for the second half. Trying to draw the gestures that my friend did was apparently beyond me. I did my best on a couple of 5 to 10 minute poses, and then tried a 30 minute one. I got frustrated and didn’t even make it to the halfway mark of the session before throwing my clothes off and getting on the platform with my friend (where I was much more comfortable).

    So Claudia, I think I will pass on attempting to draw, but it is always nice to see photographs of you. I have posted a couple of photos of myself in poses on my blog, but I’ve never invited anyone to draw them. I really wish I had more photographs of myself modeling in studio classroom situations. I’ve never wanted to do photographic modeling, but I would love for someone to take a really good set of pictures during a class with several artists or art students drawing. But I’m too shy to ask anyone, and I don’t want to disrupt any of the artists…

    • artmodel says:

      Dan,

      I occasionally draw – I should say ATTEMPT to draw – at Spring Studio, one of the places I work. Models can draw there anytime for free. For those of us with no training or skill, it’s ridiculously hard! Makes us appreciate what artists do, yes? Like you, I am much more comfortable on the modeling platform than with a pad and pencil in my hand.

      No worries about not contributing artwork for the show. I totally understand. You will enjoy it, though, when you see the marvelous variety of styles that Museworthy readers will share with us.

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  9. Rob says:

    Ready to paint or draw!!

  10. Bryan says:

    This sounds like a fun idea. It will be interesting to see how various artists translate the same photo.

  11. François says:

    Hi Claudia,

    I suggest that in addition to the 2 or 3 pictures you write a text. This text would be a “picture” of you made with words.
    After all a blog is a diary that is made public. A diary in which you tell us about your passions, emotions, moods, heartaches, your friends, family etc…

    The goal would be to give the ones willing to to make a drawing from the text or to draw a calligram. Or the purpose of the text could be just to highlight the 2 or 3 pictures.

    The text could be made of a few sentences or one sentence like in a “haiku”, these Japanese poems.

    When I read your articles quite often some words are emerging in my mind such as “Sur les pavés de ma vie / je trébuche / et dans mes chutes / je revois des visages aimés”. More or less it says “On the cobbles of my life / I stumble / and when I fall / I see beloved faces”

    François

    • artmodel says:

      Francois,

      What an interesting idea! Fascinating. You were thinking something similar to these portrait calligrams by Joni James? http://jonijamesart.blogspot.com/2013/04/portrait-calligrams-by-joni-james.html

      This also might be a nice option for people who would like to express their creativity in a less traditional manner. I’m very intrigued! So I could just present the words/phrases for others to use in the design? You have really piqued my interest.

      Thank you for proposing this idea! I’m going to seriously consider it.

      Claudia

      • François says:

        Hi Claudia,

        Not being an English speaker, it’s rather difficult for me to express clearly what I have in mind. Sorry for that. However I think you capture very well the idea.

        The final result could be calligram (the Joni James’ ones being an option among others) or a drawing including your text like in the Japanese engravings that include a poem (in fact a text + image composition) or a drawing of yourself sitting inspired by your text or …

        You are right to say that this leads to express creativity in a less traditional manner.

        And at the end of the day your text may inspire a landscape or what so ever… But this is may be too far from what you think the Redux has to be: a drawing representing (or inspired from) yourself sitting.

        Well at least this is what I understood of it.

        Francois

  12. derek says:

    I have seen the last art show of this website
    I missed out at the time I was ill at the time. I think its a good idea .
    Its great to have artists submit artworks. Your friend Fred Hatt is very talented artist and does unique artworks. this photo of you reminds of the Mapplethorpe photography in general. This time with class, grace and beauty and I said before “Full of soul”.This time its a beautiful female than a male.

    You do remind me of Allison my old model from way back in 1973 when I was in art college. I would love to do one of your incline poses for the art work. You are still an inspiration to a lot of artists, like Fred, Daniel and the rest to name a few. I am sorry that Elaine did not like the background of the website. I know that you are also an inspiration for Elaine when she the piece on you on your birthday, awe that was lovely. It was like giving birth to you again. She is amazingly creative and has a vision in what she sees. She even said a poetic statement on Dan Maidman’s 2010 piece on you which she sees the artistry and he love for her child being brought on canvas, awe. that is so sweet.I love the leaves fronn the background it look like the wilderness.

    I also like Mr. maidman’s work he did on you which was splendid and brilliant. He also has a vision in you as a muse. I think its a wonderful idea and I always read your blog of your wealth of knowledge and your beautiful photographs of the arts you being the great muse that yiu have become. Being a muse is an;so an art form you You inspire them and be creative once you are on that podium like a rock star You are like that shaman and be in awe to the audience who is illustrating you. and you become that creative force in the universe. Anyway those are not my words it came from Allison and I always remember that and I am passing this generation to another. I am proud of you young lady. Go for it.

    Derek

    • artmodel says:

      Derek,

      I certainly agree with you 100% about the impressive talents of my good friends Fred Hatt and Daniel Maidman. I am truly honored to be a muse and collaborator to those fellas. The fact that they are both wonderful guys makes it even more gratifying. I can’t speak for Fred but I’m fairly sure he’d be flattered by the Mapplethorpe comparison!

      I do hope you’re able to submit a work for this year’s art show. I’d like that a lot! I could never take the place of Allison, but I can definitely offer one of those horizontal poses I know you’re very fond of. Mom is also going to submit, so that will be great!

      Thanks, as always, for your comments 🙂

      Claudia

  13. fredh1 says:

    Hey Claudia, I’m really looking forward to seeing what kind of artwork people do from the photos! I like the new background. I’ve always had a liking for spirals. Funny, I had the same thought as Daniel – the variable sized dots make it look a lot like the Ishihara Test for Color Blindness!

    • artmodel says:

      Fred,

      I’m glad you like the background! A little surprised, but glad. Heck, I like spirals and swirls too. Circular shapes in general.

      I’m also very much looking forward to seeing the interpretations of your photos. Exciting! And can I assume you’ll be contributing one of your own? That’s probably a dumb question 😆

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  14. openup666 says:

    Dear Claudia, if I could send a message to your ex-boyfriend, I would tell him he missed out big time. You are an erudite, lovely, intelligent and funny woman.

    • artmodel says:

      openup666,

      You are so very kind. How thoughtful of you to write those things 🙂
      As for the ex, he’s probably aware of all that but seems to have different priorities in life. His values are odd to me, but there’s nothing I can do about it, unfortunately.

      Thanks so much for your comments!

      Claudia

  15. Droc says:

    Sounds like a great idea, count me in!

  16. Laird Glass says:

    Great idea Claudia. Having not touched pencil or paint for the past 6 months. It would inspire me to get started again. Laird (Montreal) Date: Fri, 9 Aug 2013 04:13:02 +0000 To: lairdgg@hotmail.com

  17. Jennifer says:

    Great idea for the show! Like a lot of people I initially read your blog on my phone, so don’t see the background until I log on via my computer to comment.

Leave a Reply

