Feeling the Heat

To my fellow east coasters, I hope you’re handling this oppressive heat wave with more dignity than I am. Sure, I’ll admit that I’m walking around the house in a somewhat “indecent” manner, i.e. underwear. And that I cut up half a watermelon and ate it all by myself. I’m also giving my outdoor cats cold bottled “artesian” water stored in the fridge instead of plain old water from the garden hose, because I’m an unapologetic cat-pamperer. And I myself am drinking quite a bit of Mike’s Hard Lemonade, a beverage that one can too easily forget contains alcohol. One minute you’re innocently trying to quench your thirst, and the next you’re feeling an inebriated buzz in the middle of the afternoon and lying around like a useless lump. To paraphrase Dean Wormer from Animal House, “sweaty, drunk, and lethargic is no way to go through life, son”. 😆

Extreme heat, humidity, and horrible air quality don’t lend themselves to refined behavior. Hot, gross weather makes you feel, well, hot and gross. Even while sitting in church yesterday, I used the paper service program to fan myself as we read from the Book of Common Prayer. So I should try to comport myself with more grace and sophistication, like the lovely woman in this 1912 John William Waterhouse painting Sweet Summer. But look, even she’s doing the partially nude routine. Can you blame her? Go topless girl, it’s hot!

waterhouse-sweet-summer-1912

I was going to post “Heat Wave” by Martha and the Vandelas for Music Monday, but I thought that was too obvious and predictable. Instead, let’s enjoy someone I consider one of the greatest female vocalists of all time. This is the superb Ella Fitzgerald performing George Gershwin’s “Summertime” from the American opera Porgy and Bess. Stay cool, friends!

8 thoughts on “Feeling the Heat

  1. artmodelandrew says:

    Waterhouse’s subject looks quite dignified in my opinion.

  2. Bill says:

    You know what really gets me, though? I spend all Winter complaining about the snow, the cold, the ice . . . fantasizing about Summer. Then it comes, and I wind up planted in my recliner, too lethargic to move, channel surfing from Jerry Springer to Judge Judy to Dr. Phil. Sigh. P.S. Nice video — the weather may be hot, but your blog is way cool.

    • artmodel says:

      Bill,

      I’m glad I’m not the only one lazing around! The word “lethargic” has never been more appropriate these days.

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  3. eleni papageorge says:

    Lately, this year in particular, Martha and the Vandels “Heat Wave” is almost my theme song with my hotflashes and other menopausal indecencies. That might be too much info, but with this heat and annoying humidity can there ever be too much info.
    Incidently, my cat would get cold artisinal water and canned sardines with bones. and then l would get her really high on Cosmic Kitty catnip for dessert.

    • artmodel says:

      eleni,

      You’re getting close to TMI territory, but I’ll let it slide this time 😆 Just kidding, of course! The good news is that today seems far less humid than the past several days so you might have some relief.

      My cats LOVE sardines! With bones and skin. They are quickly devoured.

      Thanks for your comments, friend! Miss you. See you soon I hope.

      Claudia

  4. Steve Y says:

    Claudia,

    You’re rockin’ Mike’s & the BCP! My girl 🙂 I just got home from work and am enjoying a Sangiovese or two while watching the Mets. Let’s hope for a sweep! Meanwhile, here’s to summer, lazy days, adult beverages and of course baseball…

    Blessings,

    • artmodel says:

      Steve,

      I came home from work yesterday to find the Mets on the brink of a sweep! Good stuff. Other good stuff is your Sangiovese, Mike’s Hard, and definitely the BCP. I love your summer-inspired comments and joyous spirit. Thank you 🙂

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

