You Are Beautiful

When your grandfather was a musician, and your mother is a singer and your father is a composer, the odds are pretty good that you’ll be blessed with innate musical ability. These familial gifts were on full display last week at the end of year Talent Show held by my niece Olivia’s 5th grade class. After about 30 minutes of ten year-olds dancing, singing, in some cases hitting off-key notes, getting rattled by nerves, and having to deal with technical microphone issues (bless their hearts, all of those lovely children) our girl came out and absolutely nailed it. I was there, the proud auntie sitting in the audience with eyes tearing up. Yes I cried, I admit it 🙂

Filmed on iPhone by her Dad, my brother Chris, this is Olivia Hajian taking the stage at P.S. !66, performing the song “Beautiful” by Christina Aguilera, with composure, sensitivity, and the voice of an angel. Our Music Monday:

15 thoughts on “You Are Beautiful

  1. derek says:

    Awe lovely young lady
    I can relate to being a parent and grandfather witnessing their own success. She must be a fan of Christina Aguilera I Assume. BTW did you know Linda Perry wrote this song for Christina. Your brother must be very proud of her I can sure relate to what he is going through. Having children has been our greatest accomplishment. For a young lady she does have a voice of an angel just like Christina.

    Peta luvs Kelly Clarkson and Kylie Minogue who were both influenced by that young lady. What a lovely young lady your niece is and who knows she may want to get into the music business. A very talented family you have. You are a talented artist model and an educator with a brain power. A mum who has a talent for the arts with the use of her hands and your dad being an accomplished musician and your brother a talented composer. You know he can also compose for that American show like “Criminal Minds” I see that show I always see him do scores for Telly.

    God bless your niece….bravo….

    • artmodel says:

      derek,

      I can assure you my brother is very proud of Olivia, for her talents, accomplishments, intelligence, and kind soul. She’s grown into a very special girl. Of course you know what it’s like to be the father of a wonderful daughter 🙂

      Kelly Clarkson is a fantastic singer, a bit different from Christina Aguilera, but both are excellent. Singing is the one ability I wish I possessed. Sadly I don’t, except in the shower!

      Thanks, as always, for your warm and thoughtful comments.

      Claudia

  2. maria says:

    Claudia–I too have an Olivia and it brought tears to my eyes as I recalled the recitals, the angst brought on by all the performances and school productions. My daughter used to skirt away as soon as her performance was over….just like your Olivia did!

    Good for your niece- I can see she has the gift of performing artistry in her genes. I think she nailed the number.

    Thanks for sharing. They grow up so quickly—enjoy the ride.

    • artmodel says:

      maria,

      When we took Olivia to eat after school, my brother told her she should have taken a bow! She just gave us a little “oops” smile 🙂 It’s cute when they run off afterwards.

      I’m so glad you were able to relate so strongly to this post. We live vicariously through children in many ways, don’t we? Their triumphs are our triumphs, their sadness is our sadness. And they enrich our lives always.

      Thanks very much for your lovely comments!

      Claudia

  3. coondude says:

    Doesn’t always work. My parents were uncommonly bright. My brother is uncommonly bright. Et Moi? Ah, quelle domage!

  4. Bill says:

    She really did nail it, didn’t she? Not only the voice, but the composure, stage presence . . . you’re right — it must be in the genes.

    • artmodel says:

      Bill,

      In the genes for sure. And Olivia has always had a naturally pretty voice, even when she was a toddler.

      Thanks for commenting!

      Claudia

      • Bill says:

        One other point — whether it’s music or not, I think that the ability to get up there in front of a group of people and communicate one’s thoughts and feelings effectively is one of the most important skills that someone can develop. It’s not just a skill for singers, politicians and business people either — I think that the most successful art models are the ones who can communicate their beauty and power through their poses. It’s great to see that your niece is developing this skill at a young age.

    • eleni papageorge says:

      You’re not being an over-proud thia. You do have much to be proud of. I also agree with Bill. She really did nail it. More over, she has a strong stage presence. She also has composure and the evidence of this is when you hear kids talking during the performance, Olivia doesn’t stop, get tripped-up, nothing. She delivered. That’s remarkable for a performer that young. That’s genes for ya.
      Olivia reminds me of my nieces doing kareoke one Christmas-time, what feels like this past year but was probably more like 10 yrs. ago.
      Claudia, enjoy this while it’s happening and live in the moment because one morning you’ll be throwing yourself out of the apt. to attend HS graduation. and then they start college. Luckily for me 2 others are still in HS and still 2 others just now starting middle school. Hoping to see you at Spring Studio.

      • artmodel says:

        eleni,

        Olivia’s poise really is impressive, if I may so without sounding like the overweening aunt! She never gets nervous or stage fright before a performance, which is simply an inborn quality.

        Thank you so much for your lovely comments, I enjoyed reading them. And I do hope to see you soon at Spring Studio! I may be there as a sketcher instead of a model.

        Hope everything is well with you!

        Claudia

  5. Eric Clayton says:

    Voice of an angel, and beautiful just like her aunt. She was really composed.
    Cheers Eric

  6. Beautiful, wonderful voice!! A star for the future maybe!?
    Suzy 😀

Leave a Reply

