Free As a Bird

I crack the windows in my house and the furnace fires up. I tighten my scarf because I feel a chill on my neck. Back in February those know-it-all groundhogs predicted an early spring this year and yet it’s April and we got nothin’! This unseasonably cool weather is delaying the coming of spring and I don’t like it at all. The nip in the air just won’t go away, and it’s inhibiting my mood and activities. I think this officially qualifies as an abnormal seasonal funk 😦

If it weren’t for the birds perched in the trees, singing their mating calls, starting to build nests, and noshing at my backyard birdfeeder, we’d have virtually no signs of spring here in the NYC area. This is why birds are awesome. They don’t give a damn. They go about their business in spite of rain, wind,  cold, providing visual and audible signs of energetic life even when the ground remains hard and dry and tree branches are still without leaf buds. Regular Museworthy readers may have noticed that birds pop up often on this blog in one form or another. Artistically and spiritually, I find them agents of cheer, beauty, and optimism. Right now as I write this post, I can see birds jauntily flitting through the trees outside my window and two plump robins digging for worms on my neighbor’s front lawn. Rock on my little feathered friends 🙂

So to honor of the only creatures willing to carry on with springtime ebullience, here are a few birds of art created by some great masters.

Two Studies of a Bird of Paradise, by Rembrandt. Beautiful in pen and ink:

Rembrandt -two-studies-of-a-bird-of-paradise-1630.jpg!HalfHD

The Kingfisher by Vincent van Gogh:

vangogh-kingfisher

Bird Returning to it’s Nest by Georges Braque:

braque-bird

The cutest owl drawing I’ve ever seen, this is Albrecht Durer’s The Little Owl:

Durer-littleowl

The Promise, by one of my favorite surrealists Rene Magritte:

Magritte-the-promise-1966

And last but certainly not least, a bird by Picasso, work “Untitled”:

Picasso-untitled

8 thoughts on “Free As a Bird

  1. Jennifer says:

    As it’s equally ‘non-Spring’ over here, thanks very much for a touch of Spring with such an interesting selection of birds!

    • artmodel says:

      Jennifer,

      I just heard on the weather forecast that warmer temperatures are coming. YAY! Must have been my blog post that did it 😉

      Thanks for commenting!

      Claudia

  2. What a wonderful selection of bird images! May I also nominate one of my favorite bird painters, Edward Lear – yes, the same guy who wrote “The Owl and the Pussycat”.

    • artmodel says:

      Fred,

      Next time I do a poetry post I’ll use an Edward Lear limerick! Thanks for your comments. Also, temperatures going into the upper 70s today. Hell yeah!!!

      Claudia

  3. Dan Hawkins says:

    Beautiful pictures. You should have added a video of Lynyrd Skynyrd’s “Free Bird” as a Music Monday post…

    • artmodel says:

      Dan,

      I considered that a few times for a Music Monday! And now I’ve blown it because I already titled this post. I’ll get Skynyrd on here though.

      Thanks!

      Claudia

  4. Bill says:

    Nice selection — especially liked the Durer and Rembrandt.
    It’s been even worse up here in Boston — the birds have had their wings de-iced so they could fly 🙂

    • artmodel says:

      Bill,

      Hang in there friend. Spring is a’comin! I love the Durer very much too. No owls around here unfortunately.

      Thanks for commenting!

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

