An Armenian in Chicago

Thoughtful, wonderful friends are a blessing. And I am very blessed in this regard. After a bustling week of modeling, running around – and exhaustion! – it’s a treat to open an email from a friend with an attachment to share. My good pal Daniel Maidman is currently in Chicago and during a visit to the Art Institute he saw this 1912 painting by Ralph Elmer Clarkson titled Nouvart Dzeron, A Daughter of Armenia. Daniel was kind enough to take a picture of it and send it my way. Now I may be a daughter of New York City, but I’m still an Armenian girl 🙂

IMG_7769

An elegant work and a charismatic model. According to the Art Institute of Chicago’s artwork page for this piece, Nouvart was one of Clarkson’s students. Three years after this painting was created, the Ottoman Turks began their genocide against the Armenian people. I had never seen this painting until Daniel sent it. So huge thanks D!

My busy modeling phase continues tomorrow morning with a terrific new gig; posing for the Saturday workshop taught by the marvelous Peter Cox. And I’m extra excited because my other good friend, Janet Cook, will be in the class. Looking forward to seeing her. Friends and art and modeling – I have no complaints 🙂

8 thoughts on “An Armenian in Chicago

  1. Bill says:

    Excellent painting — thanks. As a model, I guess you’d never know where your image was going to show up — maybe in a museum at some point.

  2. Bob says:

    Great art museum. If you ever find yourself in Chicago, save a day to tour it with us.

    And Bill brings up an interesting point. As models we never know where we’ll end up. I’ve been used on a writing site and on another site for a story on awkward interviews.

    • artmodel says:

      Bob,

      In his emails, Daniel has been raving about Chicago, especially the art scene. I have never been there, which is crazy. I hope to go someday. When I do, will definitely hook up with you and Pat. That would be so much fun!

      Thanks for your comments.

      Claudia

  3. derek says:

    I enjoy your knowledge from the arts especially the paining that was done 100 years back. I admire your education and I know that you are very intelligent given your history of being an educator yourself. I always picture you in the future as a writer or a college professor. II read that you are Armenian descendant from what I read. You look Greek given your exotic looks it doesn’t hurt to have your mum’ and dad’s looks.
    As I said before I never met your dad but I am sure he is a good man, and I never met your mum but I have corespondent from this webpage and she is a real sweetheart, and has been a great help in being a better parent to my children and I will never forget that. I also admire her talent as an artist which I didn’t know and its great that she has been very supportive of your career and understands as an artist herself. Not many parents understand it but we as parents understand our children well. The most important thing is that your family is behind you all the way and friends who care about you.Forget all the critics its what you love to do is what matters.

    I love your stories of the paintings your know very well. btw.. Mr Maidman did a great job of that painting he did of you and it capture the grace and beauty of what you are and how inspirational you are. The big portrait fro the September 2010 blog and I love the painting very well and it was lovely how your mum complimented the artistry of Mr Maidman and very pleased. Give them my regards as I am getting ready for surgery wish me well. For Thursday

    • artmodel says:

      derek,

      Prayers and well wishes to you and your upcoming surgery. Afterwards, you will continue to enjoy art so passionately and with such joy!

      Thanks, as always, for your generous comments 🙂

      Claudia

  4. Claudia – I’m sorry for the delay commenting on this, but also not sorry, because I love these other comments I might never have seen!

    Items: I’m so glad you enjoyed that painting, and tickled you made it into a blog post.

    I was in Chicago for a show I was in – it was that double-figure painting of Emma, all in green. And I did indeed have a great, great time there, and highly recommend it.

    Thank you to Derek for your kind words about my work with Claudia. It is not difficult at all with a model like her. You’d have to be just awful not to do something good.

    And Claudia, you are in fact in a museum right now. I’ve got drawings in a show at the Alden B. Dow Museum of Science and Art in Midland, Michigan. I’m working on getting you a picture. You’re going to like it.

    🙂

    • artmodel says:

      Daniel,

      Thanks for stopping in to post comments! I know you’ve been so busy with your travels. Can’t wait to hear more about your Chicago visit, and yes, please send along a pic when you can of the drawing in the Alden B. Dow Museum. Yay!

      Talk to you soon, friend 🙂

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

