Weekend Blah

You know you’re officially old when you’re falling asleep at 9:30 on a Saturday night. Too tired to go out, too tired to socialize, even too tired to read. I remember when I had unquenchable energy, mental clarity, and often went dancing. Dancing? Do people go dancing anymore? Eh whatever. I’m really out of it and just wanted to say hi. Man, is this the lamest Museworthy post ever? I think so. Why am I even writing this? I’m barely lucid and my chances of offering anything of interest is exactly zero. Sorry guys.

Maybe I can jazz things up a bit with some art. It’s my only hope to salvage this pointless post. This is Sleeping Nude with a Red Shawl, by Zinaida Serebriakova:

Serebriakova

22 thoughts on “Weekend Blah

  1. lynnkauppi says:

    There is no reason to feel bad about posting this. It’s an important post. Over Christmas you stated that you had a spiritual renewal. According to both various theologies found in the Bible, in Benedictine spirituality, and in Lutheran spirituality and theology we embrace all aspects of daily life, including the mundane, the quotidian, the humdrum. Obviously your body craves rest. So rest!

    Grace and peace

    Lynn

  2. Freddie says:

    Actually, you seem pretty lucid to me – and you did it again, posting another obscure gem. Thanks!

    • artmodel says:

      Freddie,

      Thank you! I guess I didn’t give myself enough credit for my lucidity. And I’m glad you liked the painting! I think it’s quite lovely 🙂

      Claudia

  3. Bill says:

    You, old? When I was 6-7 years old, I entered a national contest to win a date with Annette Funichello (who was a Mousketeer at the time.) Now that’s old 🙂
    P.S. Annette went on to fame and fortune in the Beach Party movies, but she never knew what she missed. Fortunately — that would have been some date 🙂

    • artmodel says:

      Bill,

      I can see you on a date with Annette Funicello! I know she was very popular back in the day. But since you lost the contest, it wasn’t meant to be 😉

      Thanks for your comments, Bill. You always have the best stories!

      Claudia

  4. Bob says:

    For me it’s a seasonal thing. During the winter I find it a struggle to stay awake until 10. I try to keep active with yoga but it’s too easy to veg out on the couch.

    • artmodel says:

      Bob,

      Yes, it’s seasonal for sure. When I can’t be active outdoors with running, biking, etc, it adversely affects my overall energy, even for indoor things like yoga. Can’t get motivated.

      Thanks for commenting!

      Claudia

  5. Jennifer says:

    And still you manage to come up with an unusual picture ….

  6. cauartprof says:

    We are all entitled to the blahs on occasion! The Serebriakova nude is a visual treat. A quick Google search revealed a treasure trove of very sensual images of male and female models. For those of us outside the New York art scene your weekly blog entries are a great window into figurative arts and instruction there. So Thank You from those of us around the globe that look forward to your insights and stories.

    By the way, if anyone ever doubts your Armenian heritage, and assuming the sculpted head from “Busty Lady” and Alex Cox’s painting of you from “Tale of the Traveling Circus” are good likenesses, then compare the eyes with Arshile Gorky’s study of his mother for The Artist and his Mother (love the version at the Whitney).

    Have a good day! Best,

    Chris

    • artmodel says:

      Chris,

      I love what you said about my Armenian heritage, thank you! Yes, those works you mentioned represent the Armenian “look”, which I definitely have. This is an old Museworthy post about Gorky and my trip to Philadelphia Museum: https://artmodel.wordpress.com/2009/11/29/gorky-at-philly/

      I’m also gratified to hear that folks like yourself consider this blog as documenting the NYC figurative art scene. As a model, I do have a good vantage point.

      Thanks, as always, for your wonderful comments!

      Claudia

      • cauartprof says:

        Claudia,
        Wow, what a great post on Gorky. I have been following the blog for about a year so I missed it. Thanks much. Till next time.

        Chris

  7. doug rogers says:

    What Chris said. Get some sleep.

  8. coondude says:

    I never heard of Zinaida Serebriakova before and her paintings are wonderful, so thank you.

  9. Steve says:

    Lynn’s comments are quite incisive; indeed the scriptures embrace life in all aspects and Christ has redeemed it back to God on our behalf. Btw, I fell asleep and missed the second half of the super bowl. Did anyone in the house have the decency to wake me up? No :-/ Be well…

    • artmodel says:

      Steve,

      It was that damn power outage! The fourth quarter had most of the excitement. I think the pug should have been the one to wake you up 🙂

      Thanks for your comments, friend.

      Claudia

  10. LeeAnn Park says:

    I live in a part of the country where it doesn’t get cold. We had some nights with temperatures in the 30s. On a Saturday evening about 6, I wasn’t feeling well, so I decided I would take a nap and then get up and practice piano for a while. It was cold, I crawled under the blankets and woke up about 5 minutes after midnight! I got up and got a small drink of water. Then I crawled back to bed and slept until 5 AM. Then I felt great! I did play the piano later in the afternoon. Got about 11 hours of sleep.

    • artmodel says:

      LeeAnn,

      I have totally done that! Lie down for a nap around 6 and woken up hours later. It feels great! It’s rare when our daily routines allow for such a luxurious, carefree sleep pattern, but I do enjoy it when it happens. Sometimes our bodies just beg us for it.

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

