Gauguin the Holiday Man

Greetings friends! I’ve been browsing through art images with Christmas themes, hoping to pluck out that one unique work that I’d want to share with all of you for the season. Though there are so many to choose from, I believe I found this year’s winner. It’s a painting by Paul Gauguin and I’ll tell you why this is significant; last Easter, to honor that holiday, I featured Gauguin’s The Yellow Christ. Now I have gravitated not only to another Gauguin but one also set in Pont-Aven, Brittany, France, as was The Yellow Christ. It’s clear that Gauguin enjoyed a brilliantly creative and productive stay in that region, as he was profoundly inspired by the Breton countryside and its inhabitants, so much so that he used it as the backdrop for Biblical events. And he did it well. From now on Gauguin may be my “go-to” guy for religious artwork!

This is Christmas Night (The Blessing of the Oxen). I love the inclusion of animals in Christmas scenes. The oxen here are gentle, noble creatures, and Gauguin rightly made the shapes of their strong bodies the dominant forms of the composition.

gauguin-christmas-night-1894

5 thoughts on “Gauguin the Holiday Man

  1. Peta says:

    G’day fellow art model
    This is a lovely painting you posted and I want to wish you a happy X-mas from Australia. Thank you for making my dad happy .I reckoned the old bloke likes to talk about me all the time. Sometimes I feel embarrased but at the same time it shows that he luvs me as his daughter. Well I too luv me dad.

    I am planning to spend time with him and my mum as well. I also especially want to thank your lovely mum Elaine for making Derek a
    very happy man in my relationship with him especially with his own
    medical demons that he had to overcome. I thought we were going to lose him. He began to ifhgt this old demon and conquered it like a warrior like an Iron Man.luv you dad…I’ll see you there soon.

    Anyway have a great holiday to you both mum and daughter you really are reckomned to be something. G’day luvs.

    Kiss

    Peta Kylie Tewey
    art model and college student
    Brisbane, Australia

    • artmodel says:

      Peta,

      These are such beautiful comments! Thank you for sharing them, from the bottom of my heart. Your father is so proud of you and loves you tremendously. Cherish that feeling. There is nothing that can compare with a strong, loving relationship between parent and child. It’s what gets us through the tough times.

      Have a blessed holiday. Sending hugs to you and dad 🙂

      Claudia

  2. Bill says:

    Not a big Gauguin fan, but I did like this painting — good selection 🙂

    Merry Christmas,
    Bill MacDonald

  3. Jennifer says:

    Have had to wait a while to view this on my computer, but it’s a lovely painting. I especially like the way there are red markers to take us through the painting. Hope you’ve had a wonderful Christmas!

Leave a Reply

