Enter Autumn

A good Saturday evening to you! Hope this blog post finds you well. Let us say an official adios to summer as we celebrate the autumnal equinox with art and poetry.

Four Trees, by Egon Schiele, 1917:

For our poetry, one of my personal favorites from William Butler Yeats. This is “The Wild Swans at Coole”:

The trees are in their autumn beauty,
The woodland paths are dry,
Under the October twilight the water
Mirrors a still sky;
Upon the brimming water among the stones
Are nine-and-fifty Swans.

The nineteenth autumn has come upon me
Since I first made my count;
I saw, before I had well finished,
All suddenly mount
And scatter wheeling in great broken rings
Upon their clamorous wings.

I have looked upon those brilliant creatures,
And now my heart is sore.
All’s changed since I, hearing at twilight,
The first time on this shore,
The bell-beat of their wings above my head,
Trod with a lighter tread.

Unwearied still, lover by lover,
They paddle in the cold
Companionable streams or climb the air;
Their hearts have not grown old;
Passion or conquest, wander where they will,
Attend upon them still.

But now they drift on the still water,
Mysterious, beautiful;
Among what rushes will they build,
By what lake’s edge or pool
Delight men’s eyes when I awake some day
To find they have flown away?

A little reminder to all Museworthy readers, please visit on Monday for another “celebration” 🙂

See you soon, friends!

7 thoughts on “Enter Autumn

  1. I prefer Summer, but you selected a beautiful Schiele piece to represent Autumn.

  2. Jennifer says:

    Lovely Autumnal image and poem! It’s definitely got the first nip of autumn in the air over here too and the leaves are just starting to tinge golden brown 🙂

    • artmodel says:

      Jennifer,

      I would love to see autumn in England, especially in your beautiful countryside. We’re not seeing much leaf-changing here just yet, but it’s coming soon.

      Glad you enjoyed the art and poetry! Great to hear from you.

      Claudia

  3. Bill says:

    I enjoyed both the painting and the poem, but autumn reminds me of winter. I may be a New Englander, but I was born to lie on a warm beach with palm trees and gentle waves and beautiful women wearing grass skirts bringing me tall drinks with . . . well, yeah, I’d go to a museum once in a while, too.

    • artmodel says:

      Bill,

      I see we have another summer person in our midst! I was born in the summer so that’s my excuse. But really, the end of summer sucks. Maybe I should put on a grass skirt, go up there to Quincy and bring you a pina colada 🙂

      Thanks for commenting!

      Claudia

  4. Bill says:

    Sounds great — although you’d probably want to add a hoodie to the grass skirt tight about now 🙂

Leave a Reply

