Naked in New Hope

Is Pennsylvania in da house??!! Why yes it is, and it’s naked baby! I received a delightful email from my artist friend Tai Lin in which he shared a bit of terrific news. His painting of me, titled Awakening, is among the works on view in the 6th Annual “Naked in New Hope” art exhibition! The group show at New Hope Sidetracks Art Gallery includes local artists from Bucks County and artists from all across the nation. A wide range of media are represented, from oils and acrylics to pencil and charcoal to etchings, pastel, watercolor, sculpture, and collage.

This is Tai’s painting of me. Created a few years ago at the National Academy in Sharon Sprung’s class, I remember it like it was yesterday. In fact, I own the small study that Tai did as practice for his final piece. It hangs on my living room wall and inspires compliments from everyone who enters.

Awakening by Tai Lin:

And a fellow WordPress blogger, artist Chris Carter, will also be exhibiting in the show. See Chris’ blog entry here.

“Naked in New Hope” opens Saturday night, September 15th with a gala reception and runs through November 3rd. Here’s the listing in Fine Art America. Congratulations Tai! So proud of you, friend 🙂

14 thoughts on “Naked in New Hope

  1. Awakening is absolutely beautiful. Congratulations to you and Tai for being included in the exhibition. I hope your likeness has a nice visit in New Hope.

  2. I’m standing here looking at it! Wow, beautiful pose and expression, and a great placement at a well-attended show. Congratulations to both of you. -Kimberly

    Sent from my iPhone

    • artmodel says:

      Kimberly,

      You are awesome!! Thank you so much for the on-the-scene report! I’m delighted to hear that the painting looks great at the show. I wish I could have been there for the opening. But I do plan to get over there to see the exhibit.

      Thanks again. Much appreciated!

      Claudia

  3. Bill says:

    Really beautiful — both painting and pose. Congratulations to both of you!

  4. Jennifer says:

    Lovely painting! Congrats to Tai Lin (and you for inspiring him 🙂 )

  5. Tai Lin says:

    Hey Claudia and Friends, thanks you so much for all the lovely words. The show was really nice and “Awakening” really made a great impression. I am really honored to be in the show and had Claudia as a model and inspiration.

    • artmodel says:

      Tai!! Thanks for posting a comment! I’m thrilled that the exhibit, and your painting, are a smashing success. I am so honored to be the model for “Awakening”, and to have it posted here on Museworthy. I plan to go see the show in the upcoming weeks. Can’t wait!

      Thank you, friend. And again, congratulations! You deserve it 🙂

      Claudia

  6. Tai Lin says:

    New Hope a lovely town, and don’t forget to visit Lambertville in New Jersey, right across the river from New Hope, it’s very artsy and laid back. Many small shops and art galleries. Just drive along Delaware river or small roads is very nice.. great for a weekend getaway. If you need more info, let me know!!

  7. derek says:

    I love the painting
    especially the background done so well
    like a Van Gogh type but he made his own and
    I must congratulate the artist for4 doing such a great job
    capturing the grace and beauty of this young lady.

    This young lady knows how to inspire artists and she is also very smart.
    Claudia you looked very comfortable there I believe it was a long pose
    Correct me if I am wrong. My daughter’s favorite poses were the reclining poses she did in Brisbane. I wish I had the piece but she is
    saving them for a portfolio she plans for London.

    There is also new hope in that picture, and by the way louv I adored your beautiful poses on the pictures displayed in your blog. excellent
    model may I say. You and Tai make ma great collaboration with all the concepts.

    • artmodel says:

      derek,

      You are correct. It was a long pose. A two-week painting class. You, like many people, respond positively to this piece, and that makes me very happy. In person it is even more luminous. Tai is a fantastic artist.

      Thanks again for your very generous comments!

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

