Escape from New York

Only eleven more days until Martha’s Vineyard!! Not that I’m counting or anything 😆 I’m sorry everyone. I don’t know what’s wrong with me, but I’ve never felt such an intense desire for a vacation than I do this summer. This restlessness and need to get away is exacerbated, I think, by my lovesick longing for a certain man. A diversion is definitely in order, for my own sanity! Also, I am more than ready to get the hell out of this city. Did I, the born-and-bred native New Yorker just write that? Yes I did. I love New York with all of my heart, but I’m gonna tell the blunt truth here: this city is full of fucking sickos, jerks, and assorted jackasses. Some guy thought that it would be a fine idea to haul a three piece furniture set onto a crowded N train during the evening rush. Yeah that was smart. Sure, crush my foot and smash us all up against the doors why don’t you? We’ll all suffer because you’re too much of a cheapskate to rent a van. That people attempt this crap in an already dysfunctional city is beyond me. Oh and to the guy on Seventh Avenue who asked me to show him my boobs? Bite me. And to the two attitude-laden hipster coffee baristas who couldn’t be bothered and ignored me at Starbucks even though they saw me standing right there, you girls can bite me too 😡

Here’s an art image that’s totally unrelated to anything I just wrote, although I did do something similar at work the other day on my modeling break. Someone left an art magazine lying around the studio so I perused it, in the nude, because I didn’t feel like putting my gown on, and because nobody in that class cares, and because I don’t even care, because I just want to go on VACATION dammit!!

Nude Reading by Alfred Henry Maurer, 1928:

14 thoughts on “Escape from New York

  1. peter howard says:

    I’m really curious to know what items of furniture did the guy bring onto your train – very odd! Have a great vacation = sounds like you need it x

  2. Jennifer says:

    Amazing that you can find an image for something like not putting your gown on in the break 🙂 You really sound like your vacation can’t come quick enough and the heat and bustle of NYC are just too much at the moment. Just hang on in for a few more days …

    • artmodel says:

      Jennifer,

      You are just the sweetest person 🙂 Next week I’m modeling for a 5 day workshop, Mon – Fri, and then V A C A T I O N!

      Thanks for commenting! Hope things are getting back to normal after the Olympics.

      Claudia

  3. Maria Di Fiore says:

    Dear Art-Model- Love the nude–but check out Frederick Frieseke (Giverny 1906)–Thought I’d pass on. Enjoy your time away–I know the feeling of the world caving in. New York could be a disconcerting place–I like to visit but always glad to come home. Jerks are everywhere–don’t feel you’re alone–just go and get the hell out of Dodge for abit–“Martha” will be sure to clear your head– at least for a little while. Keep us posted. MDF/

    Begin forwarded message:

    > >

  4. Bill MacDonald says:

    Wow, you do sound upset. Now I know why you guys pose in the nude — that way we can be sure that you’re not carrying any weapons 🙂

  5. Peta says:

    G’day mate and fellow art model

    I have been to NYC and its like going to paradise very much
    like Sydney. I don’t know about the other side of NY. There are some who come across as very nice and some who come across as obnoxious , but I am not going to be judgmental about it all I can say is that I had a brief wonderful time there and had a great time there. Anyway my dad and I wish you a great vacation , anyway I have to go away too, I am studying and doing my art modeling in Sydney

    have a good one luv
    Peta

    • artmodel says:

      Peta, thank you! For sure, there are fantastic people here in NYC, and this city’s positives definitely outweigh the negatives. I’m so glad to hear that you had a good experience here. Sometimes, for those of us who live here year round, we just need to get out of town for a bit. That can apply to any big city I’m sure.

      Thanks so much for your comments! Always good to hear from you. Best to your dad!

      Claudia

  6. Fred says:

    I’m having a great vacation with my Mom & Dad right now. I hope your vacation on Martha’s Vineyard will be a refreshing and restorative break from NYC madness!

    • artmodel says:

      Fred,

      Awesome that you’re enjoying your visit with your parents. I still have another week until Martha’s Vineyard. But I’m modeling for a workshop this week which will at least make the time go by faster.

      See you soon.

      Claudia

  7. Bee says:

    Did you ever end up watching the youtube vid “Sh*t Real New Yorker’s Say?”– everything you describes seems like something from that video to me. Here in San Francisco, everyone isn’t nearly as terrible, I don’t think, just more crazy in general!

    • artmodel says:

      HAHAHAHAHA!!! Funny. Some of those are a little broad and not necessarily unique to NYC, but others are dead on accurate. The guy at 3:35 shaking his head while saying “It’s Bushwick” is perfect.

      Thanks for sharing!

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

