Prismatic Perceptions

My friends!! Where the hell have I been all week? I know that pressing question has been nagging you for days, and that you’ve lost tons of sleep over it. Okay, maybe not. DOH! Actually I’m the one who hasn’t been able to sleep. Clearly I have a disorder, and I believe the clinical name for my condition is “lovelornitis”. But just to be sure, I’ll check with Johns Hopkins School of Medicine and get back to you 😉

Also, we’ve had some hot flippin’ weather the past few days. As usual I worry about my cats who live outside and have to endure the scorching temperatures. We know of course that cats survive just about everything and worrying about them is a needless waste of time. Yet I do it anyway.

Now I bring the art, baby! I should say Francisco Malonzo is bringing the art. The last four Saturdays I’ve been posing for Dan Gheno‘s painting class at the National Academy. Francisco is a student of Dan’s and has painted me many times. He’s also a great guy. For the morning session I posed clothed, at Dan’s request, in a red tank top and grey cargo pants. Francisco created this dazzling piece and was kind enough to let me photograph it for the blog:

During the breaks, as I admired Francisco’s painterly style, he told me of some contemporary artists who inspire him a great deal. One is Alex Kanevsky, another is Mark Horst, and the third one is Paul Wright. I’m very glad Francisco introduced me to these three compelling artists.

Again by Francisco, my portrait which he completed today in one session:

You can see much more of Francisco’s work on his Flickr page and read his marvelous art and classical music commentaries on his blog Raeburn’s Ramblings.

Enjoy what’s left of the weekend everybody. I’ll see you all very soon. In the meantime, be happy, love life, and keep cool! 😆

10 thoughts on “Prismatic Perceptions

  1. Dave says:

    Just had to say that these are lovely paintings.

  2. Jennifer says:

    Love the painting! Really interesting, effective style and gorgeous colours. Hope you’ll be on a more even keel again soon, re the ‘lovelornitis’ – sure the baking weather isn’t helping either (you need to pop over here – our cold, wet summer would soon cool you down 🙂 )
    Am off to Prague for a few days on Weds, where apparently it’s also raining!!

    Jennifer

    • artmodel says:

      Jennifer,

      Prague sounds fantastic! Maybe the rain will have stopped by the time you get there. Either way, I’m sure you’ll have a wonderful time. I hear it’s an amazing city. Is it a sightseeing pleasure trip?

      Glad you enjoyed Francisco’s paintings. Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  3. Bill MacDonald says:

    Really good painting — and in only one sitting, eh? That’s impressive.

    Lovelornitis — watch — you’ll probably meet some good-looking beach hunk when you go to the Vineyard 🙂

    • artmodel says:

      Bill,

      The portrait was done in one 3 hour session. Yes, that is impressive! The seated pose was done over the previous weeks.

      I really hope you’re right about the hunk on the Vineyard. But the guy who is causing my current lovelornitis is some tough competition 😉

      Thanks for commenting!

      Claudia

  4. derek says:

    I love this painting it reminds of this painter who did all the sports illustrations.

  5. violinhunter says:

    This guy can paint.

Leave a Reply

