The Days Ahead

Hey babes. Wazzup? Hope you all had a good week. Mine was busy, and now I’m on the verge of entering the summer slowdown. I have modeling jobs booked on my summer schedule, but with a lot more free days than I’ve had the past several months. It’s all good. No complaints. It’s the nature of the business. Maybe I can finally get to some serious garden work, long bike rides, and creative endeavors of my own. Speaking of creative endeavors, I owe you all some samples of my printmaking. Next week is our last class. I can’t believe how it flew by! I am most definitely going to continue my printmaking practice, especially linocuts. I have fallen in love with linocuts.

I’m also exploring the possibility of enrolling in a Classics program for the fall, although I must admit that the idea of going through the whole admissions process is a turn off. I’ve already been through all that for undergraduate and grad school. It’s a hassle. So maybe I’ll just do non-matriculating, we’ll see.

So what else can I share with you? The annual summer family vacation has been planned. This year we’re heading up to Martha’s Vineyard in late August. Soo excited for that! I also have some writing pieces I’ve been trying to work on. With my lighter modeling schedule coming up I’ll be able to dig into those and finally complete the unfinished drafts I have saved in my laptop. And, of course, more blog posts 🙂

I’m off to bed now. I have a full Saturday of modeling at the National Academy. Here’s a watercolor of me by my friend Jordan Mejias, created a few months ago at Spring Studio. I’m lying down on the job, as we art models sometimes tend to do 😉

11 thoughts on “The Days Ahead

  1. violinhunter says:

    It is a lovely work – almost as lovely as the model. Dare I say “delicious?” I have never been able to control watercolors so I really do admire this work. Thank you for showing it to me. 🙂

    • artmodel says:

      violinhunter, glad you liked it! I too have trouble controlling watercolors. That’s one of the challenges of the medium. My friend Jordan manages to do amazing things with them.

      Claudia

  2. Jennifer says:

    It’s always exciting when one’s schedule frees up enough to be able to fit in a few new things, so I hope you enjoy the lighter summer months and look forward to reading about it on Museworthy!

  3. Bill MacDonald says:

    Well, I admit that I’m probably a little biased 🙂 but Boston does throw a great party for the 4th of July:
    http://www.bostonharborfest.com/about.html

  4. Fred says:

    Jordan is good with watercolors, and with you!

    Looking forward to seeing your linocuts.

    When you mention enrolling in a classics program, you mean ancient Greek and Roman literature? I love that stuff. I did have some classes in it in college, but mostly just liked reading things. May I recommend the dialogues of Plato, starting with the “Symposium”?

    • artmodel says:

      Fred,

      Yes, Classics studies are based on the Greek and Latin languages, along with literature, philosophy, some history, arts, archaeology, and all other subjects of antiquity as they relate to humanities study. I am torn, though, between pursuing a degree or just taking classes. I’ll see what I can manage.

      Thanks for your support and comments!

      Claudia

  5. scultore says:

    I was wondering about the printmaking! bring it on I say :), and studying classics, wow, I wish I had the time, only had the Reader’s Digest version in my college education but loved reading Metamorphoses, etc.

    • artmodel says:

      Bruce,

      After my mother, you were the first person I told about taking the printmaking class, that night at your place. You may not remember, but you told me about the feeling you had, years ago, when you carved into your first piece of wood. Yeah, I TOTALLY get it 🙂

      Thanks so much for commenting! Hope to see you soon, friend.

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

