Fly on Little Wing

When the entertainment media started reporting that a Jimi Hendrix biopic was in the works, I got super excited. I’m a huge fan of Hendrix. I’m also a fan of the biopic genre of film. This Andre Benjamin guy (stage name “Andre 3000”) from the hip-hop group OutKast, has been cast as Jimi. I don’t know much about Andre, but from what I’ve read he has great passion for the role and is very dedicated to the project. But now the film has hit a significant speed bump. It seems that the Hendrix Estate is refusing to support the film and will not grant licensing rights for use of Hendrix’s recordings. In other words, the film will have no authentic Hendrix music – not his voice, not his guitar. The filmmakers will have to rely on covers. For an artist as original and distinctive as Jimi Hendrix, that could affect the quality of the film. I mean, who is going to replicate the guitar parts? Can they hire Jimmy Page to do it? 😆 And any song written by Hendrix himself cannot be used, cover or not. That means, for example, no Voodoo Child, and no Purple Haze. Pretty disappointing.

I’m not sure what to make of all this. If the Hendrix Estate feels they have been denied a voice in the film’s production, then I suppose that’s a legitimate objection. On the other hand, the Hendrix Estate has a well-known history of being difficult to deal with. But unless the film’s producers are planning a defamatory portrayal of Hendrix, which they’re not, I don’t see what the problem could be. Oh well. We’ll see what happens.

For Music Monday, here is one of my favorite Hendrix recordings. This is Little Wing . . . “butterflies and zebras and moonbeams . . .”

8 thoughts on “Fly on Little Wing

  1. violinhunter says:

    I have played with Page (and Plant) and I know Page can do this!!! 🙂

    • artmodel says:

      violinhunter,

      That’s amazing! What a great experience that must have been.

      Claudia

      • violinhunter says:

        It really was. The arena was absolutely packed and the crowd went crazy over LedZep – very noisy as you can imagine. Not the usual calm classical music audience. Sometimes I feel a little guilty when getting paid for having so much fun. 🙂

  2. Derek says:

    Aah, Jimi I remember seeing him in London back in 1969.
    He was the best guitarist in rock and he was fierce and soulful.
    “Little Wing” is my favorite.God bless him.

    • artmodel says:

      Derek,

      “Fierce and soulful” describes Jimi’s music perfectly. You’re so lucky to have seen him perform live! Absolutely the greatest rock guitarist of all time.

      Claudia

  3. Bill MacDonald says:

    Money, control, personal dislike — I’d bet on one (or all) of those.
    I’m sure Page could do it, too — but might it be better to get a really good studio musician who wouldn’t have to worry about the inadvertent intrusion of his/her own style — and might work cheaper? (Of course, having Page involved wouldn’t hurt at the box office, either.)

    • artmodel says:

      Bill,

      I’d be all for a studio musician doing the guitar parts, as long as he has the gifts needed to emulate Hendrix.

      You’re right that Page would be be a huge draw for the film, but on the other hand could be a distraction because of his own legendary status. I’m sure he’d feel honored to do it if asked.

      Thanks for your comments.

      Claudia

  4. Derek says:

    I have great memories from the Albert Hall 1969 no one can ever top him , he even outplayed Clapton whom the press and fans dubbed him as “God”. alof of players like Stevie Ray Vaughan and Eddie Van Halen have done his style but I rank Jimi the #1 guitarist, Speaking of Jimmy Page, I have seen Pagey live when Led Zeppelin ruled the 1970’s, he is another guitar player that a lot of guitar players copied . I hope I don’t sound like an old time talking about this stuff but even my kids love this music thanks to me.

Leave a Reply

