No-han Santana!

If you haven’t been a loyal, long-suffering Met fan your entire life, as I have been, you probably can’t fully appreciate what took place at CitiField last night. Finally – finally – after 50 years, a NY Mets pitcher threw a no-hitter. The first no-hitter in franchise history. That impressive baseball achievement has been so elusive for so long, Met fans have wondered if it would ever happen. But now it has, thanks to Venezuelan-born left hander Johan Santana. With a little defensive help from his teammates, namely outfielder Mike Baxter, Santana delivered a great historic moment for us Met fans. What makes it even sweeter is that he did it against the reigning World Series champs the St. Louis Cardinals. And yes, we fans will be milking this and celebrating this for days!

And if anyone tries to rain on our parade by pointing out the questionable foul ball call by the third base umpire, and carp about human error unfairly affecting outcomes, I have just one thing to say to you:  tell it to the Yankees —> Derek Jeter “Home Run”, 1996 ALCS

15 thoughts on “No-han Santana!

  1. Bill MacDonald says:

    Congrats! Marvelous Marv Throneberry is probably smiling up there — while downing yet another Miller Lite.
    P.S. “Yankees”? Name rings a bell . . .

    • artmodel says:

      Bill,

      Marvelous Marv! Good thing he wasn’t playing first for Santana’s game 😆

      I love having Red Sox fans like you and Steve reading this blog because you guys contribute Yankees jabs. I like it!

      Claudia

  2. Steve says:

    Congrats Johan, the Mets & their fans, it was a long time coming! As for any controversy, Giuliani wasn’t too concerned about blown calls when he game Jeffrey Maier the key to the city. Btw, what is this key and what exactly does it do?

    • artmodel says:

      Steve,

      In the video I linked to about the Maier/Yankee incident, Derek Jeter says, regarding the home run controversy, “I don’t care”, and smirks. How smug can you get?! Typical Yankee attitude.

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  3. Dave Rudin says:

    I was planning to watch a movie Friday night but luckily decided to leave on the Mets game instead. Like many, I thought I’d never live to see the day when the Mets would actually get a no-hitter. I’m still not sure if it’s really sunk in yet!

    • artmodel says:

      Dave,

      I had a long day of work on Friday. Modeling gave me a backache and all I wanted to do was relax at home and watch the game. With Santana pitching, the Cardinals, seeing Beltran again, etc I assumed it would be a good game, but not necessarily an historic one! We finally got the no-hitter! Took long enough 😆

      Great to hear from you!

      Claudia

  4. Ron says:

    I was listening to part of the game on the radio , around the fifth inning and they were talking about how it was unlikely that Santana could go all the way, since he had issued so many walks and his pitch count was so high. He defined the odds. Aside from being the first no hitter in the team’s 50 year history, this also exorcised some more recent demons. The losing pitcher was Adam Wainwright, who struck out Carlos Beltran to end the 2006 playoffs, the same Beltran who hit that liner down the third base line. How ironic it would have been if he had been the last batter.

    • artmodel says:

      Ron,

      I was worried that Beltran would be the one to break up the no-hitter in the late innings. He’s having such a great year. I forgot about the Wainwright/Beltran connection, that’s amazing. And yes Santana, ironically, didn’t have his best stuff in terms of the walks, but his sheer guts and determination got him to end. There was no way he was going to give up the ball, high pitch count or not.

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  5. Dave Rudin says:

    The Mets have now pitched two consecutive complete game shutouts against the Cardinals – the World Series champions and the best hitting team in the NL this year! As for the Yankees and their need for help from the umps, I refuse to even mention that snotnose kid’s name – and is it any surprise that a mayor who said that it’s okay to play hookie from school to see a Yankee parade (and then claim that he was more interested in their education than their teachers!) would give an award to a cheater???

    • artmodel says:

      Dave,

      Giuliani was a total jackass during that whole episode. I know he’s a huge Yankee fan and all that but he just went way too far. All in poor taste. You probably didn’t watch the video I linked to but the kid (who shall remain nameless) is interviewed, along with Jeter who describes the incident as “a little interference” 😯

      Claudia

  6. violinhunter says:

    I wonder if this might have a parallel in music. When Jack Benny played Mendelssohn, a critic famously said that Benny had lost (or something like that.)

  7. Dan Hawkins says:

    I’m always fascinated by pitchers throwing no-hitters and perfect games, and I’ve always found it odd that the New York Mets, with two world championships in their 50 year history, had never had a pitcher throw one for them. I checked the http://www.nonohitters.com website several times a year for the past couple of years. I wonder what they guy running it will do now, track the San Diego Padres since they are now the only franchise without a no-hitter? Oddly enough, the Padres have also never had a player hit for the cycle for them (one of only two teams without such an accomplishment).

    I live in Texas, and I go to an average of 10 Ranger games per year. I feel fortunate to have been present for both a Rangers nohitter and a Rangers cycle. I was in the stands on May 1, 1991 when former Met Nolan Ryan pitched his 7th career no-hitter. He struck out 16 Blue Jays and only allowed two walks. And on Jackie Robinson Day in 2009, my son and I were at a Ranger game on a school night (mainly because it was dollar hot dog night) and saw Ian Kinsler grab a bit of baseball history. He went 6 for 6 in a nine-inning game, which is rare enough, but he also hit for the cycle. He became the first player since the 1890s to both go 6 for 6 and hit for the cycle in a 9 inning game (and the Rangers only batted in 8 innings since there wasn’t a bottom of the 9th). It was amazing to see as we counted his hits: two singles, two doubles, a triple, and a home run. And if the Rangers could have just extended the bottom of the 8th two more batters, he would have come up for a 7th at-bat.

    These kind of feats are what make baseball such a wonderful sport to watch. I think about being at those two games and seeing such things, and then I think that a fan of the San Diego Padres could have gone to every Padres games for the past 43 years and never seen his or her team accomplish either.

    • artmodel says:

      Dan,

      Thanks for your excellent comments! You might be happy to know that, much to the dismay of my family and friends (NL fans that we are), I was actually rooting for the Rangers in the World Series last year. Two reasons for it. First is that they were the underdogs against the Cardinals and I like to root for the underdog. The second was the cuteness that is CJ Wilson 😉

      I didn’t know about the Padres having no no-hitter until after the Santana game when a commentator mentioned it. I thought the Mets were the last team to not have one. I feel a little better now!

      Claudia

      • Dan Hawkins says:

        Claudia:

        I actually drove to St. Louis with my 12-year-old son last year and went to both Games 6 and 7 of the World Series. We had gone to Game 5 of the 2010 World Series and had seen the Giants celebrate a World Championship, and we were determined to be in the ballpark to see the Rangers celebrate one. So we waited until the Rangers got to three wins before going to any games. We didn’t even go to any of the 2011 World Series games in Texas. There were a whole lot of us Ranger fans at Game 6 in St. Louis, so much that I was really surprised. And things were looking really good in Game 6 going into the bottom of the 9th with a two run lead and Feliz on the mound. I don’t like to talk much about what happened after that.

        There weren’t so many of us Ranger fans at Game 7. But I had already bought tickets for the seventh game right before the Series had even started, so I figured that we might as well use them. How many chances does one get to go to a seventh game of the World Series?

        And in the early ’90s, I worked for the New York Public Library in a branch about four blocks from Yankee Stadium. And yet, I still found going to Mets games to be a much more pleasant experience. Tickets were cheaper, the fans were more into the games, and there was just something about National League ball.

        Dan

Leave a Reply

