Feeling the Funk

It will pass, it will pass, it will pass . . . That’s been my mantra for the past few days. And it looks like it will continue to be for at least a few more 😥 Hate these melancholy episodes, grrr. They suck, it’s as simple as that. But I’m still doing what I’m supposed to do – working my remaining few modeling jobs before the May break. Hopefully during that time I can regroup and snap out of it. For now I am a mushy, moody, pensive, wistful little weakling. I am lachrymose <— wanted to use the word “lachrymose”.

But my printmaking class is providing me with much delight and discovery, and my brother and I have planned a fun Mother’s Day on Sunday for our Mom. So there are things to look forward to, pleasures in life not to be taken for granted. Now if only this dark cloud would drift away and stop following me everywhere I go. Scram, dammit!

This is me, in an oil sketch by Daniel Schwartz. It was painted a few months ago but captures my mood of today perfectly.

I’ll see you all very soon.

Hugs and kisses . . .

Claudia

19 thoughts on “Feeling the Funk

  1. violinhunter says:

    Pardon the unsolicited advice but here’s my remedy: Listen to Mozart’s piano concerto number 20 in d minor. That will snap you right out of the melancholy, negative mood you’re in. Try the Brendel recording with Neville Marriner – it’s the best, just like you. 🙂

    • artmodel says:

      violinhunter,

      Don’t worry about unsolicited advice. If a blogger voluntarily posts something personal like this on their blog they are, in a sense, soliciting advice.

      The Mozart is a great idea. I’ll give it a try 🙂

      Thanks for your comments.

      Claudia

      • violinhunter says:

        Great – if that doesn’t do the trick, try the Fabio Biondi recording of Bach’s concerto for violin and oboe (or concerto for oboe and violin – I’m not sure which) – it is quite precious, enjoyable, and inspiring. Best, best, best wishes.

  2. you should model for me

  3. my favorite part on this painting is that off-white highlight on the cheek- I like the texture on this

  4. Bill MacDonald says:

    I’m just glad that you’re still basically OK. I saw The Avengers the other day and, as Captain America, Thor, The Hulk, and their friends destroyed NYC, I said to myself, “I hope Claudia got out OK. Well, she does have that magical full moon cat to protect her. . . ” 🙂
    Seriously, I hope you feel better. And thank you to you and Daniel Schwartz for that image — it really is quite nice.

    • artmodel says:

      Bill,

      I want to see the Avengers. Although I don’t like the idea of NYC being destroyed!

      Thanks so much for your kindness and concern. I’ll feel better soon, hopefully.

      Claudia

  5. Rob says:

    I know about the loss of energy and that heavy cloud, the down-ness that is sometimes like the attractive, brass cylindrical weight you used to see on an antique scale. You might think it has an uncomplicated job to do, all nice and smooth, polished; until you realize it is harder to lift and move than it looks.
    You are a special person, I think. The image tells me that.

  6. I can definately relate to your “melancholy episodes”. It’s part of being an artist.

  7. Jennifer says:

    Hope the clouds lift soon …

    Enjoy your family day 🙂

    Take care

    Jennifer

  8. Ron says:

    I always find that listening to the Beatles lifts my mood.

  9. Derek says:

    I love the painting of it. I don’t if you were sad in this portrait.
    The artist seems to capture the feeling that you expressed.
    You looked somewhat sad in this portrait then again what do I know.

Leave a Reply

