Goin’ to the Printshop

Guess what everyone? I registered for a printmaking class at the Lower East Side Printshop, and it starts today. Yay! I’m excited! We will meet once a week for eight weeks. Excellent 🙂

This is an Intro class for beginners like me who know next to nothing about how to make prints. Emphasis will be on inatglio techniques like drypoint and etching, blocks, plates, and all that other cool stuff. Now I am fully aware that I’m a neophyte and therefore have no unrealistic expectations. So because I have no illusions about my ability, I’ve set very modest goals for myself. I’m thinking that after eight classes, I’ll be able to produce something of merely this quality:

Um, yeah, that was joke, in case you couldn’t tell 😆

The above image is a drypoint titled Holy Family with Saint John, the Magdalene, and Nicodemus, circa 1512, by master printer Albrecht Durer. One of the greatest printmakers of all time, if not the greatest. Although Rembrandt’s prints are pretty amazing. The Met Museum has an informative essay, “The Printed Image in the West: Drypoint”.

Besides getting my creative juices flowing and hopefully having fun, I’ve also been thinking about how long it’s been since I actually learned something new. Gosh, it’s really been a while. I don’t mean learning in terms of acquiring knowledge. That’s something I try to do every day by reading, asking questions, searching on the Internet, etc. I mean learn how to DO something – a skill or a technique. Wish me luck!

Before I go I want to give a quick shoutout to my friend Janet Cook who is having a solo exhibition, “Power and Beauty”, at Dacia Gallery. Way to go Janet!! And I’ve been informed that one of Janet’s paintings of me will be among the exhibited works. That makes me happy 🙂 Unfortunately I have to miss the reception Thursday night because I’m working. But I will definitely be seeing Janet’s show before it closes on May 11th.

10 thoughts on “Goin’ to the Printshop

  1. Congratulations Claudia! I hope you have a great time, and I can’t wait to see what you make. I’ll report back on Janet’s opening – I’ll be able to make it. The only Nicodemus I’ve known until just now is the wise old rat in “Mrs. Brisby and the Rats of NIMH.”

    • artmodel says:

      Daniel, thank you! I’m so disappointed I can’t be there tonight, but this happens to me a lot – modeling job conflicting with a reception. Wish I could be there for Janet! Do tell me all about it.

      Printmaking was awesome by the way 🙂

      Claudia

  2. Jennifer says:

    Good luck – enjoy 🙂 It will be exciting and I look forward to reading more about it …

    Jennifer

    • artmodel says:

      Jennifer,

      After only one class I can assure you that my readers will be seeing a lot of printing posts on this blog! I loved it 🙂

      Thanks for your support!

      Claudia

  3. Bill MacDonald says:

    I have to admit that I’m a little disappointed. When I read that you were starting the class and saw the print, I thought that you were going to say that that was your first piece. I thought to myself, “That Claudia is pretty good — first session and she’s already channeling Durer!” 🙂

    Seriously, though, that’s great — I hope you share some of your prints with us. And best of luck to your friend — the work on her website looks top-notch.

    • artmodel says:

      Bill,

      Haha, very funny 😆 I was laughing as I posted the Durer print. My mischief.

      I am definitely going to share my beginning prints. Last night was our first class and we already made monotypes! So much fun! I think I’m in love 🙂

      Our instructor is fantastic. After just one class I’ve already learned so much from her. Lisa Mackie http://lisamackie.com/

      Thanks also for your kind comments about Janet’s work. She’s both a wonderful artist and person.

      Claudia

  4. janetacook says:

    Thank you ms muse, for including me in your blog. I think the painting of you may be sold.
    Looking forward to the opening Thursday evening 7-10pm. I better wear comfy shoes.
    Glad you are giving print a go, try paper lithos, you can make wonderful prints of yourself, or family, and friends this way on thin japenese paper (best). I just learnt how to do it. It’s really easy!

    • artmodel says:

      Janet,

      Wow, if that painting gets sold that would be incredible! It’s a dazzling one 🙂

      Thanks for the printing tips. Yes, I want to do the lithos, those sound great. We had a fabulous first class. I can hardly wait until next Wednesday! Learning SO much.

      Again, I am heartbroken that I can’t be there tonight. Will be thinking of you as I model for the sketch class. Have a marvelous opening, Janet. And have fun!

      Talk to you soon, friend.
      Claudia

  5. violinhunter says:

    Well, it’s not violin lessons – that would be more daunting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

