No Ordinary Day

Is there such a thing as an “ordinary day”? People use that expression all the time, myself included. But as I grow fonder and fonder of the life I’ve made for myself, of the city that’s been my home for all my 43 years, and of the friends, colleagues, and acquaintances I’ve made along the way, I realize that “ordinary” is a term rarely applicable. Rather, it minimizes and cheapens, and deprives the much-maligned “daily life” of its subtle, unique soul.

Tuesday morning I modeled for a small life drawing class at the New York Film Academy. Never thought my art modeling career would bring me there but, alas, it did. And it was fun. Nothing ordinary about doing nude poses in the “Billy Wilder” room, which, by the way, is next door to the “Jonathan Demme” room. Sure, I did come within an inch of getting accidentally clocked in the head with a tripod on a mad dash for the ladies’ room. But hey, it’s always something, right? An easel in art school, a tripod in film school. In any case, concussion averted.

When that job ended at 12:00, I walked out of the film academy building, crossed the street, inhaled a deep breath of fresh air, and enjoyed a leisurely stroll through Union Square Park. It was a bright, sunny, buzzing New York afternoon. At the northwest corner of the park, I noticed the sitting area resplendent with bright green garden chairs and blue umbrellas. I found the crisp, clean colors and their chromatic effect quite pleasing. So I took a few pictures. This one is not an ordinary scene if you consider the colors, the perspective, the curving flowerbed border edging in the bottom right and the tilted birdhouse in the tree in the upper left:

So I made my way to my 2:00 job, but stopped first for a quick lunch at Loving Hut on Seventh Avenue. There, I had the best veggie burger ever, anywhere, in the annals of veggie burgerdom! It was perfect and delicious. So NOT ordinary. Yum 🙂

Less than hour later, I was posing for the students in Vincent Arcilesi‘s class on the 6th floor at FIT. During the fast pose warm ups, Vincent sat down to sketch the model along with the rest of the class, which he often does. I took an active standing pose and Vincent did what all good artists should do in that instance – captured the gesture. I was standing still of course, but the forward stepping movement and arm/leg extension is strong in Vincent’s quick sketch. Loose, spontaneous, a one-of-a-kind Arcilesi. Not ordinary at all.

Things are only ordinary if we, through own our jaded disinterest, choose to dismiss them as such. But for some of us, a life as a professional artist’s model, working in a big, lively city, where shapes, colors, sounds, encounters and experiences can be found literally everywhere around us, nothing should be regarded as “ordinary”. Every day is unique. Every day is a blessing to be valued and appreciated. Thank you for allowing me to share my “extraordinary” day with you 🙂

18 thoughts on “No Ordinary Day

  1. Jennifer says:

    Lovely stuff 🙂 Always good to be reminded to count our blessings. Also nice to be reminded (when I looked at the photos) that it was at this time of year that I was in New York, certainly an extraordinary city.

  2. Eddy says:

    Lovely blogg to read indeed (actually the only one i am following belive or not),your lines are always filled with sparkling fresh positive energy,optimism and joy,just what i need those gray days…..
    I was never in New York or in States but planning to visit it this summer,it will be extraordinary adventure for me,no doubt. I would like to visit this place and have a cup of tea then maybe have a look to some good trumpet shop and find heaven there if you know what i mean :))) Keep up writing and all the best from Stockholm!

    Eddy

    • artmodel says:

      Eddy,

      Comments from trumpet players are most welcome on this blog! And I am honored that Museworthy is your one blog follow. Cool!

      Thank you for mentioning the positive energy of my posts. I strive for that. And I hope that will visit our big city this summer. Yes we have tea, and jazz, and music shops, and many interesting folks. You’ll love it.

      Sending best wishes to Stockholm! Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Claudia

  3. Dan Hawkins says:

    Any day that I get to model is an extraordinary day. And I even say that during these busy times when I’m modeling two or three evenings a week. I wish I could retire from my full-time job and just model all the time. One of these days…

    Nice pose and drawing too!

    • artmodel says:

      Dan,

      Your love for art modeling is as strong as mine. It comes through in all your comments. What we do is special and singular.

      Thank you! Hope you had a blessed Easter.

      Claudia

  4. Bill MacDonald says:

    A great deal of this depends on your point-of-view — for me, any day that I get on the bus and travel to NYC is an extraordinary day. And, at 61 and in my current shape, if I modeled nude in front of two art classes in the process — well, I’m not sure that “extraordinary” would be a word that would even begin to cover it 🙂

    • artmodel says:

      Bill,

      Welcome home!! Hope you had an amazing trip.

      I think you’d be a terrific model, by the way. And it would definitely be
      an extraordinary experience.

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  5. dougrogers says:

    Have a lovely day.

  6. I’ve been having a NYC moment of my own recently while promoting an electric car trip at the Auto Show http://bit.ly/I3xMcY and having the exact same thought – if you stop to notice the city, there is beauty and energy everywhere. Thanks for a great post.

    • artmodel says:

      Kimberly,

      Great post! Thanks for sharing. I’m so glad you’re enjoying the unique energy of the city. It’s really impossible to be bored here.

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  7. fredh1 says:

    Seeing the extraordinary in the everyday is the gift of the awakened mind. Thanks for sharing your day!

  8. violinhunter says:

    Good morning. Thank you for sharing this. I am finding your posts to be so extraordinarily sober and enlightening. I had never known a real model before and now I do and I’m very happy about that. AND, you are articulate and write so well. Since I just discovered you, I’m barely beginning to catch up with your older posts. Thanks again.

    • artmodel says:

      violinhunter,

      You are incredibly kind! All I can say in response to your comments is thank you 🙂

      Delighted that you’re enjoying your tour through Museworthy!

      Claudia

  9. Brian says:

    As I have found, an “attitude of gratitude”, no matter where you are, makes such a big difference on one’s outlook and the way we experience each day. And, as others have indicated, your blog Claudia, is well, no ordinary blog. But then, you’re no ordinary art model.

    • artmodel says:

      Brian! My dear friend! I was just thinking of you the other day 🙂

      I like “attitude of gratitude”. A great little life motto. I hope I expressed something of that sentiment in this post.

      Thanks for your comments, Brian, and for finding the time in your busy life to check in on this blog and my escapades!

      Claudia
      xo

Leave a Reply

