To Model, To Prosper

I have been really lucky with this prodigious year of art modeling. Seems like almost every day I’m getting an email or a text, returning a call, sitting with my calendar open on my lap as I write down a booking. I’m not certain but I think that this period – from last September to the present – has bestowed my most thriving and steady work schedule. Just today I booked six dates! To what can we attribute this current bounty? Many factors I suppose. An active art scene. My own proactive efforts to maintain contacts and connections. And maybe a little of my reputation as a reliable, dedicated art model who people seem to enjoy working with. Go figure ๐Ÿ˜›

I share this with all of you not to be boastful, but to counterbalance previous blog posts in which I’ve expressed the frustrations and unpredictability of freelance work. It’s nice when those of us who don’t have a steady 9 – 5 job can claim a stretch of consistency in our employment. Steady work is good. Steady independent work is especially good. Steady independent work when you love what you do is as close to professional fulfillment as you can get. And I love what I do. However, I take nothing for granted. I am wise enough to appreciate it and enjoy it now, while it lasts, and anticipate the imminent summer season which slows down considerably.

It is most fitting that I salute my thriving art modeling schedule with an artist who equally appreciates a full plate of pursuits, my dear friend Daniel Maidman. Last Monday, Daniel managed to find time amid his many creative endeavors, such as writing for the Huffington Post, to draw me at Spring Studio. I was so happy to see him! We had terrific fun and, as always, he created lovely figure drawings of me:

22 thoughts on “To Model, To Prosper

  1. I know from personal experience what a struggle it is to find freelance work. Congrats! How wonderful you are in such high demand. And what lovely sketches these are. Thanks for sharing them. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • artmodel says:

      Madame Paradox,

      Thank you very much! I’ve tried to work hard and be responsible. Have forged strong relationships along the way. It’s all still very rewarding ๐Ÿ™‚

      Appreciate your comments!

      Claudia

  2. Jennifer says:

    Speaking as a fellow freelancer (albeit in a completely different field), I can fully appreciate what you say about enjoyiing the work while you have it – long may it last for you ๐Ÿ™‚

    Lovely delicate drawings too.

    Jennifer

  3. Claudia –

    Thank you so much for the kind words and for posting my drawings of you. I was thrilled to see you at Spring St. again. Did I ever tell you my theory of freelance versus regular work? I think of us as hunter-gatherers, and people with regular jobs as agriculturalists. Like the original hunter-gatherers, we work fewer hours and have more fun, and also like them, are subject to unpredictable starvings to death. Oh well. It’s lots more fun! Can’t wait to catch up with you again –

    D

    • artmodel says:

      Daniel,

      Your metaphor is apt, even with the “starvations and death” part ๐Ÿ˜†

      And I should thank YOU for the exquisite drawings. We’ll do it again very soon, friend.

      Claudia

  4. Bill MacDonald says:

    Really great drawings — thank you (both) for sharing them. And congratulations on the bookings, too — I’m sure that it feels good to know that your work is appreciated, and bookings really are a very sincere form of approval and appreciation.

    Now if you could just figure out how to get meaningful employment for your cats. . .

    • artmodel says:

      Bill,

      My cats have a very bad work ethic. All they want to do is sleep and eat all day. Shiftless bunch ๐Ÿ˜†

      Thanks for your kind comments about my bookings. I like to think they are somewhat a reflection of my art modeling and professionalism.

      Claudia

  5. Andrew says:

    The top one is beautiful and elegant. It’s interesting how Daniel chose to orient the paper vertically for a horizontal pose.

    • artmodel says:

      Andrew,

      Yes, that is interesting. We need big D to jump in here and explain the method to his madness.

      Claudia

      • Hi! I’m sorry for the late reply. So, I did a really boring drawing in college, and a friend of mine said, “As bad as the drawing itself is, you don’t do yourself any favors with your centered composition.” I hadn’t thought of that at all! Ever since then, I’ve thought about composition constantly. Verticality adds a touch of energy, so whenever I possibly can, I tend to orient my paper or canvas vertically. Maybe I’ll want to do something restful at some point, but not yet. Does that help explain it?

  6. Mark Routt says:

    beautiful drawings!

  7. Dan Hawkins says:

    Claudia, those drawings are wonderful. I, too, have been getting quite a number of modeling assignments this semester. In fact, I had one of my most memorable sessions this morning (I just blogged about it).

    We are lucky that we get to do this and get paid for it…

    • artmodel says:

      Dan

      Excellent blog post about your plein air session! So glad you shared it. Also glad that your modeling schedule has been robust. This has been a good year for many of us I think.

      Indeed, we are very, very lucky to get paid for such a unique and rewarding form of work.

      Blessings to you, friend.

      Claudia

  8. nice drawings. I know Daniel

  9. violinhunter says:

    I somehow missed this post as I searched through your old posts. Please accept my respectful admiration on your beautiful physique. In other words, you are so GOOD and DELICIOUS Claudia. Really!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • artmodel says:

      violinhunter,

      I accept!

      As a 43 year old woman I will not argue with a man who thinks my body is “delicious”. And I’ll leave it at that ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Claudia

      • violinhunter says:

        I was about to reply (sensually) to your comment but I thought better of it… I do not yet know you that well – perhaps soon, if I should be so lucky. I also do admire your perspicacity, wit, intelligence, optimism, sensitivity, curiosity, sense of humor – need I go on??? You are therefore and henceforth (and officially) my muse Claudia. After a year of not painting even one line, I shall begin again. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Derek says:

    I never liked that word delicious referring to a human body of a young woman. I would say delicious to maybe food or candy but not on a woman that sounds so disrespectful.

    Claudia you have a lovely sculptured proportioned physique and I say it with great respects you are pure artistry not sexual after all I am a father of a life model myself ..

Leave a Reply

