Big and Bold

I have previously expressed my fondness for big drawings. Not only are the results great to look at, but watching an artist in the process of working big is also an engrossing sight. At the Tuesday night life drawing session at the National Art League, Liguo Liang set up a big easel with a big drawing board and big sheet of brown paper and drew with big pieces of charcoal. That’s a lot of big stuff! Good thing the League offers a nice spacious room for its life drawing sessions.

As I held still in a long pose I observed Liguo’s animated drawing energy. He was standing the whole time, using movements with his entire arm and body, stepping back, stepping forward, creating wonderful scraping sounds with his charcoal on paper – the only sound to be heard in the otherwise quiet atmosphere. I don’t doubt the concentration of the the other artists, but Liguo was really into it!

The result is a forcefully rendered figure, well-placed on the large sheet of paper. Strong, thick lines, defined shapes, a simplified, boldly delineated image that dominates the paper’s surface. Liguo mentioned to me that he hadn’t done any drawing for many, many months and is ready to start attending regularly. I’d say he has many more strong drawings in his future. Click on sections of this picture for detailed close-ups.

8 thoughts on “Big and Bold

  1. Bill MacDonald says:

    Definitely — it is a very good drawing — particularly for someone who is relatively out of practice.
    I think the question of size is one of personal preference, of course, and situation — for example, Michelangelo had to go large on the Sistine Chapel ceiling.
    But, when you take a photo of a drawing, the size of the original often becomes largely irrelevant. The sense of power and vigor from the large drawing is still present, but I think that the viewer often finds the virtues of the smaller work to be more accessible from the enlarged photo than the original. And, interestingly enough, the enlargement often reveals an energy that was there all the time — but wasn’t readily obvious to the naked eye.

    • artmodel says:

      Great comments, Bill.

      I love drawings of all sizes, but working in a larger scale certainly seems to have a freeing effect on the artist’s expression. Like you said, the energy of a work is broadcasted stronger in a large piece.

      Thanks for commenting!

      Claudia

  2. Rob says:

    He sounds like me…or the me I think I am sometimes!! When I go to a group I make tons of noise, bang the board on my easel and just enjoy that abandon and sometimes the results!! Big graphite, big charcoal, huge pastel…love it!! BTW, the work is good. So, I put a group together here in li’l ole greenfield….wanna be our first NYC big deal model to pose? I’ll pick up the FungWah ticket!!

    • artmodel says:

      Rob,

      I love the noisemakers! We models are happy for the distraction of some shifting and scratching sounds to break the monotony. I like your use of the word “abandon”. What a wonderful way to approach the act of creation.

      Congratulations on organizing your art group! I’m honored you would want me as a “NYC big deal model” 🙂 Unfortunately, this big ole city has me locked up for a while!

      Thanks for your comments.

      Claudia

  3. Great drawing, great pose!

    Sigh sigh sigh, you’re sooooo busy the in NYC. Guess asking you to pose at our North Pole Grange session this coming Tuesday is out of the question then. ;-(

    • artmodel says:

      Jim,

      Yeah, the North Pole is slightly out of of my traveling range 😆
      But I wish I could model for you!

      Glad you liked this drawing, and my pose.

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  4. Felix Liang says:

    I am Felix Liang of Liguo Liang. His son. I think this drawing is epic!!!!!! But my dad is way better than you think. Wait till’ you see his drawings when he’s in practice. He kicks butt!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

