The Art of Winter

Helloo, helloooo!! How are my dear Museworthy friends? I’ve been immersed in a busy art modeling schedule which has been going smashingly, I’m happy to say. Have a few blog posts in the works about some pretty cool topics. They are all currently in unfinished draft form. I will get to them as soon as I have sufficient time to put in the effort they deserve. Very soon, I promise 🙂

Until then I’d like to share a wonderful video by artist Liam Rainsford, an artist, graphic designer, and photographer. Here in the New York area we’ve been having an unseasonably warm winter, especially the past few days. On Wednesday temperatures were in the 50s! The phrase, “Can you believe this weather?!” has been spoken a lot around town. The sun has been shining and heavy coats have been left hanging in the closet. But more authentic winter conditions have always been a source of great artistic inspiration, especially when it comes to landscapes. So I figured since we here in NY are lacking a true winter experience (so far) we might enjoy watching Liam’s process in creating his work “Bleak Winter”. It’s always fascinating to see a painting come to life. This video is done in time-lapse, for which I have a particular fondness. Enjoy friends!

9 thoughts on “The Art of Winter

  1. Jennifer says:

    We hadn’t been having a proper winter here either – until now! So it might all just be around the corner for NYC too …

    Interesting wintry painting 🙂 Where my daughter’s at uni I’m often treated to a big sky and wide vista and am frustrated by my lack of knowledge of how to paint it – so some tips presented here, thanks. Also, a man not afraid to use a bit of black …

    • artmodel says:

      Jennifer,

      I’m inspired by this video too. Makes me want to paint a landscape!

      Our NY temps have dropped since I wrote this post. But still no big snowfalls or deep freezes :keeps fingers crossed:

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  2. Dan Hawkins says:

    The year I lived in New York was the longest winter of my life. I’m glad it’s mild this year. I live in Texas, and we’ve been in the 70s in the afternoons for the past few days. I love it, but I know that a blue norther will hit us eventually.

    My modeling schedule is about to get much busier. I work a regular office job during the days and model in the evenings…

    • artmodel says:

      Dan,

      Hello and welcome! Glad to have you here on Museworthy 🙂

      Temperatures in the 70s sounds absolutely divine. Last year’s winter here in NY was pretty rough so I’m thinking we’re getting a reprieve this year.

      Glad your art modeling schedule is picking up! Thanks for your comments.

      Claudia

  3. Winter? Winter??? Ah shucks, you guys couldn’t handle winter! 🙂

    Today it’s warmed up to a balmy -5°F., from a lot of -55 degree weather last week. Alas lass, what a shame you’re so busy, I’ve this great idea for an ice blue snow nymph painting…. -grin-

    • artmodel says:

      Jim,

      Yes, I know, we’re wimps. I admit it fully!

      When you write about subzero temperatures up in Alaska, I feel put in my rightful place as a whiny New Yorker 😆

      Btw, the ice blue snow nymph sounds like a great idea! You should do it.

      Claudia

  4. “Btw, the ice blue snow nymph sounds like a great idea! You should do it.”

    Great minds think alike, Claudia?:-) I did my first rendering of the concept last night.

  5. Dawn says:

    Love the painting – and love the time lapse… the music suits it all so well, too. Any idea what it is? It sounds llike George Winston…

Leave a Reply

