2011 in Review, and an Art World Rumble

Hey gang! I was just chatting on the phone with my Mom and I casually mentioned that I’m due for a new blog post. When I told her I would procrastinate and do it Friday night, she suggested I get it up now. Oh snap! My Mom doesn’t mess around. So, under extreme pressure from my momma, I’m posting now. Ok, maybe not “extreme” pressure, but enough to make me comply. She is my Mom, after all.

This has been my first week back to modeling after the holiday break. I’m happy to report that it’s off to a splendid start. Feels great to working again and to see my calendar filling up. Will post work from my modeling jobs as it comes in. Also, I thought I’d take a cue from other WordPress bloggers, namely my dear friend Doug Rogers, who shared with his readers the “year in review” stat roundup given us by our WordPress custodians at the end of every year. It’s fun to check out, so thought I’d share. And I’d like to say thank you to the United States, Great Britain, and Canada!

“The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2011 annual report for this blog:”

Here’s an excerpt:

The Louvre Museum has 8.5 million visitors per year. This blog was viewed about 200,000 times in 2011. If it were an exhibit at the Louvre Museum, it would take about 9 days for that many people to see it.

Click here to see the complete report.

The next item is really cool. I love a good art world brawl, don’t you? Well, British artist David Hockney has offered up a well-deserved smackdown of notorious “conceptualist”, hack, and dead animal exploiter Damien Hirst. Hockney, who was recently honored by the Queen with the Order of Merit, criticized Hirst for his use of assistants to produce art that bears his name. The British arts press is having a field day with this story. Here’s the Daily Mail article, and here it is in The Guardian. I say we take this further. How about a WWF-style match between the two men? I put my money on Hockney, not only because I agree with him, but because he smokes and doesn’t give a shit what anyone thinks about it. Very badass.

Here’s some great David Hockney:

And of course check out Hockney’s website for more images.

Alright friends. I’ll be back very soon. I have a portrait class in the morning, so I need my beauty sleep 🙂  Fun stuff coming up in the new year for Museworthy. Hope you all stay along for the ride.

6 thoughts on “2011 in Review, and an Art World Rumble

  1. Bill MacDonald says:

    I agree — it might not turn out to be a great fight, but the souvenir t-shirts would be stunning. If they could agree on the design, that is.

  2. I love that Hockney has been tearing into Hirst, apparently out of the blue. I’d like to think Hirst woke up, read the news, and thought, “What the *hell*? What did I ever do to David?”

    And congratulations on your massive readership! I hope the new year goes great, or, at the very least, that you keep on writing excellent blog posts…

    • artmodel says:

      Daniel,

      Thanks for your warm blogging wishes!

      I know this Hockney/Hirst thing is right up your alley and that you thoroughly enjoy it. I’ve learned more about Hockney as a result of this. He’s an irreverent, outspoken old buzzard. And I mean that in a good way!

      Claudia

  3. Stephen says:

    Mums just know best – and congratulations on your readership – though this is not a surprise – you host such a cool blog

Leave a Reply

