Holiday Hiatus

This past Saturday at the National Academy was my last day of art modeling before the Christmas break. My next job isn’t until January 2nd, and I’m feeling a little bummed. I’ve been enjoying modeling so much lately, and posing really well, if I do say so myself. But the art schools are closing, the private groups are suspended until the new year, which makes me an artist’s model without a gig. Boo hoo. Now what am I supposed to do with myself? Christmas shopping? 😆

I thought I’d share a drawing that was done at the National Academy. The class was anatomy drawing, taught by Eric March who is a great guy and I really like working with. First we had an informative demo focusing on the muscles in the neck and shoulders, during which I offered up my clavicle, trapezius, and something called the “sternocleidomastoid”. Then, with strategically placed lighting to help bring out the forms, Eric and I set up a pose where my head was turned sharply enough to fire up those neck muscles. The class worked on their drawings for a little over two hours. They were all wonderful, but this one by Eun Young Yun was a particular standout in my opinion. She used delicate, hatching-like pencil strokes, the effects of which I hope translate well enough in this photo I took.

Eun included more of my figure than did the other students, who limited their drawings to the neck and just vague suggestions of my head, hair, etc. The result with Eun’s piece is gauzy and gossamer. It has much more elegance and sensitivity than the stiff, studied academic anatomy drawings you usually see. Rather than generic, isolated body parts, there is clearly a human life subject present on Eun’s paper, sternocleidomastoid and all!

12 thoughts on “Holiday Hiatus

  1. Come to Virginia. My group doesn’t take a break during the holidays:D If only two people were present, the session would still continue. That doesn’t happen though. We usually have ex-members attending sessions during the holidays. Since they’re visiting family or back from school. I hope I’ll be able to work with you one day. Thank you for featuring me on your blog and I hope you have a wonderful holiday.

    • artmodel says:

      Devon,

      I should come to Virginia! Up here the groups would probably like to keep it going during holiday week but too many people go away or are otherwise occupied that it never materializes. So they just cancel until after the new year.

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  2. Ray says:

    Beautiful drawing
    could not have said better.

  3. Bill MacDonald says:

    Just come to Boston early. Better yet, Cape Cod — it’s a lot easier to get a parking space at the beach right now 🙂

  4. gavinpollock says:

    Well, if you’re travelling, how about Cumbria? 😉 I’ve “graduated” from modelling to teaching and I’m short of models now ;(

    That is a great drawing. I love a model with a good set of clavicles.

    • artmodel says:

      Gavin,

      So nice to hear from you! It’s been a while and I’ve missed you. How wonderful that you are now an instructor! Very exciting.

      If I could go to Cumbria and model for you I definitely would! It’d be an honor 🙂 But thankfully, I return to work on Monday.

      Glad you like the drawing, and my clavicles!

      Claudia

  5. Kim Davies says:

    Beautiful; this is gorgeous! I love her strokes. Divine hatching and lovely tonal work.

Leave a Reply

