A Pop Star Poses Nude for Art

Well, I guess I have to go ahead and post about this. Museworthy is first and foremost an art modeling blog and I try my best to stay on top of any “art modeling” stories that make it into news circulation. Yes I purposely put art modeling in quotes just there. Pop star Lady Gaga, she of the meat dress and horrible music, took part in a life drawing session with none other than Tony Bennett.

Gaga and Bennett recently recorded a duet of “The Lady is a Tramp” and have apparently become good friends. For his part, Tony Bennett has been a dedicated painter throughout his life. He is as passionate about it as he is about his singing career, perhaps more. For her part, Lady Gaga is a marginally talented, gimmick-laden, attention-starved exhibitionist who would probably shrivel up and die if her name wasn’t in the pop culture headlines at least once a week.

Am I coming across a little cynical? I apologize. Lady Gaga is no doubt a perfectly nice person with loads of class who takes very seriously her responsibility as a positive role model to her millions of impressionable young fans. I myself have not been able to get on the Gaga bandwagon. There are a couple of reasons for this. First, as someone who came of age in the early 1980s, I went through all this sex/shock/scandalous outfits/brash antics thing already, ad nauseum, with Madonna. So there’s kind of a “been there, done that” feeling going on with many of my generation. Wearing just a bra and panties in public? Replicating sex acts on stage? Yawn. Lame. That’s so 1985. What else you got?

The other reason I’ve not gotten on the Gaga bandwagon is that she sucks.

So now this creature from the Upper West Side is exploiting her fleeting foray into my profession and will no doubt be giving interview after interview in which she bullshits about how “nerve-wracking” it was to pose nude for art and what a “different” experience it was for her, yadda, yadda. Girl, please. You’re barely clothed most of the time, in front of the entire world. Spare us the phony bashful routine.

The full series of Tony Bennett Lady Gaga drawings will appear in the January issue of Vanity Fair, but one is circulating online as a teaser. It’s very good:

Here are some links to the Gaga posing nude for Tony Bennett extravaganza: The Sun,  Blackbook, and whatever . . .  <— not into it, sorry.

Let’s consider this this week’s Music Monday post and be done with it, ok? I’m going to go listen to some Nina Simone.

34 thoughts on “A Pop Star Poses Nude for Art

  1. Andrew says:

    “The other reason I’ve not gotten on the Gaga bandwagon is that she sucks.” LMAO!!!

    Check out this Bad Romance parody. Funny as hell.

  2. Jennifer says:

    An entertaining rant 🙂

    As you say, we’ve seen it all before and Gaga does it with less talent.

    • artmodel says:

      Jennifer,

      It’s funny because the whole Gaga thing has made me appreciate the early Madonna even more. Makes me want to dance to “Into the Groove”.

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  3. Dave Rudin says:

    What about the time she flipped the bird to Mets fans when she went to a game a few years ago? As you implied, Claudia, a class act.

  4. Ron says:

    Jerry Seinfeld shares your sentiments, especially in relation to the Citifield incident. http://content.usatoday.com/communities/entertainment/post/2010/06/jerry-seinfeld-lady-gaga-is-a-jerk-/1

  5. She is almost insanely obnoxious. This post, however, is hilarious – especially the bit Andrew quotes. You know who else drew? Peter Falk. I miss Peter Falk.

    • Dave Rudin says:

      I once photographed a girl in Santa Fe who had modeled for Gene Hackman. She said he was a very nice man, but was better an actor than as an artist.

    • artmodel says:

      Daniel,

      Peter Falk was cool. Didn’t know he was an artist. Anthony Quinn was a painter, and Tony Curtis too I think.

      Thanks for your comments! Glad you liked the post.

      Dave,

      Interesting anecdote about Gene Hackman. I like him a lot as an actor. He was amazing in “Mississippi Burning”, and “French Connection” of course. Thanks for sharing!

      Claudia

  6. Bill MacDonald says:

    First Amanda Palmer posed for Neil Gaiman, now Lady GaGa is getting into art modeling. I think I see a trend here. Hmmm. I wonder if J Lo is busy this weekend . . . 🙂

    • artmodel says:

      Bill,

      There is a trend, you’re right! I’m fine with it really, with the exception of Gaga because she’s irritating beyond belief.

      Since you brought up J. Lo, I imagine she’d make a very nice figure subject. I mean that sincerely.

      Thanks for your comments!

      Claudia

  7. Ilene Skeen says:

    Claudia,

    Write Tony Bennett and tell him that you can do an even better job! We can all vouch for your being the best art model around, flat ass or not!

    Best as ever,

    Ilene

  8. Derek says:

    I like the sketch that Bennet did on her , but I find Gaga somewhat rehearsed and artificial . She has no originality she is mainly a carbon copy of Madonna and Christina Aguilera I hate to sound cynical but I find her
    interview with Katie Couric well rehearsed and couric is channeling Barbara Walters. I mean spare the kleenex when she gets all teary eyed when Ms. Couric asked her some touchy question.

    Tony Bennett on the other hand I love his voice and he is also a talented
    artist recording wise and artistic. Nervous about being nude infront of Bennet, I don’t biy it I know for a fact she feels comfortable showing off her fabulous physique, anyone who tells you that it was nerve wracking is lying.

    • artmodel says:

      Derek,

      I was aware of that Katie Couric interview and made a point to miss it.
      “Artificial” is a good word to describe Gaga. I wouldn’t care about all the outrageousness if her music was good at least.

      Thanks for your comments.

      Claudia

  9. Come on Claudia, tell us what you really think! 😉

    Actually I like L’gaga, find her quite funny. I watched at least 3 minutes of the Gaga/Cournic thanksgiving and enjoyed a good 30 seconds of it.

    Tony’s sketch: When I look at it I hear her saying “What’s up, doc?”

    • artmodel says:

      Jim,

      A full 30 seconds? I’m impressed 😆

      I think I heard that the Charlie Brown Christmas Special beat the Gaga show in the ratings. Now that’s awesome.

      Thanks for commenting!

      Claudia

  10. derek says:

    I like Charlie Brown that was a great holiday tradition. Charlie Shultz god bless him

  11. okanomodé says:

    while i agree that gaga is at times quite irritatingly rehearsed, i don’t see her as much different from any number of mega pop icons now or years past. madonna drew from/stole from/appropriated/sampled icons & a number of artists from history who came before her as well. (not to mention innercity black & latino kids) she too was arrogant, & extremely artificial at time. artists take bits & pieces (& disgustingly huge chunks) from all kinds of places for inspiration… my only issue with gaga (& others including madonna) is when they talk themselves up as if everything they do is so damn original & no one else has ever done anything like it. madonna broke new ground, as did grace jones, as did prince, as did michael jackson. diana ross, sammy davis jr., the list could go on. is gaga breaking new ground? probably to some degree or another. is she floating pretty comfortably on what’s already been done? hell yes. she’s also stepping up & advocating for glbtqi folks & for that i love her.

    all of this said i’m right with u MUSEWORTHY (“I went through all this sex/shock/scandalous outfits/brash antics thing already, ad nauseum, with Madonna. So there’s kind of a “been there, done that”) AMEN.

    • artmodel says:

      okanomode,

      Great comments! Thank you so much. I agree that Madonna was a stealer in many respects. I’m glad you mentioned Grace Jones because she doesn’t get enough credit for her contributions to performance style and theatrics. And Prince? I was a HUGE fan 🙂

      Welcome to Museworthy!

      Claudia

  12. I just found your blog and it is interesting reading when “colleagues” in other countries share their thoughts, ideas, experiences etc.

    My blog http://oblyg.blogspot.com is in Swedish but try a translating sevice like translate.google.com

    If you are at Facebook have a look at https://www.facebook.com/konstmodell.punkt.se

  13. violinhunter says:

    I know Bennett personally and I’m sure he behaved like a true gentleman during the sessions – haha. I’m surprised he agreed to do this. He does not need any more publicity.

  14. Los says:

    That is actually a poorly execute figure drawing – no matter who posed during the sitting – The drawing sucks

Leave a Reply

