America in Five Minutes

Hellooo my dahlings! How is everyone? I haven’t posted since last Thursday, sorry about that. I have come to the end of my final blast of work before the Thanksgiving break. In fact, the job I had booked for tomorrow has been cancelled, which means my holiday break kicks off a day early. Yay!! So now I have five whole days, instead of four, to get my weary art model’s spine back into alignment. For that I use a very sophisticated technique. It’s called “laying on the couch in a near comatose state while wearing sweatpants”. Works like a charm 🙂

I will post again on Thanksgiving morning. Until then here’s a video I think is pretty cool. I’m a sucker for time lapse film projects. This one is from freelance photographer Brian DeFrees. He took a two month, 12,000 mile road trip across America, starting in his hometown of Syracuse, NY, with his Canon digital camera mounted on his dashboard and programmed to take a picture every five seconds. I first came across this video via Laughing Squid.

So here, condensed into five minutes, is Brian’s journey through our vast, incredible country, in which we travel through small towns and big cities, flat open plains and rugged mountains, golden canyons and deserts, through tunnels and across bridges, under blue skies and rolling clouds. Look for the rainbow and, my favorite, the hot springs of Yellowstone. Wyoming looks amazing. I’ve always wanted to go there.

8 thoughts on “America in Five Minutes

  1. Andrew says:

    That’s quite a trip! Nice choice of music.

    I wish youtube built cars. It would be a nice feature to fast-forward through a traffic jam.

  2. Tom Relth says:

    Hi Claudia. I am a subscriber to only a few blogs, ex-californian, painter and teacher living just outside of Casablanca Morocco. I certainly appreciate your writing and particularly the works about “the muse”. As I think you say you like time lapse … here are two links for you to enjoy while you are “laying on the couch in a near comatose state while wearing sweatpants” – have a great Thanksgiving, Tom

    Ted in SF
    http://www.youtube . com/ watch?v=gXDMoiEkyuQ
    also see his website at
    http://www.movingart.tv/

    • artmodel says:

      Tom,

      Hello, and thank you for reading Museworthy! I wasn’t able to get the YouTube video but I watched the one on the MovingArt website. Stunning and breathtaking. Thanks for hooking me up during my “sweatpants phase”.

      Glad you enjoy the blog 🙂

      Happy Thanksgiving!

      Claudia

  3. Jennifer says:

    Thanks for the trip round America while I was eating my breakfast 🙂 I’ve got a couple of friends who are planning an American road trip next year, so I’ll forward this to them …

    • artmodel says:

      Jennifer,

      That’s great about your friends! America is a country well-suited to a road trip – so vast and diverse. They’re going to have quite an experience I’m sure.

      Thanks for your comments.

      Claudia

  4. Watched it full screen, quite impressive, Claudia.

Leave a Reply

