The Museworthy Art Show

Art washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life”

– Pablo Picasso

From England to New Zealand, from California to Brooklyn, Museworthy readers have come together for the first ever Museworthy Art Show. I want to express great thanks to all of you who submitted work. And I also encourage everyone to share this link on their Facebooks, Twitters, blogs, and other social media, so the world can see the stunning diversity of styles, visions, imaginations and sensibilities of Museworthy artists. If there is a mistake in anyone’s listing, please let me know and I will correct it right away. I am so proud to publish this post, and I feel privileged to have such a generous, vibrant, creative community of readers. Now, without further ado, I present the Museworthy Art Show!


Jennifer Knight

Luton, England

Rodinesque, pastel

Rodinesque is from a life drawing event that consists of two models who spend the day presenting us with life drawing poses that aim, as the name suggests, to emulate the spirit of Rodin.

.

Bruce Williams

New York City

Madelyn, charcoal on paper

website

.

Daniel Maidman

Brooklyn, NY

Blue Leah 5, oil on canvas, 48 x 36 inches

website

.

Devon Lawrence

Hampton Roads, Virginia

Samika, watercolor

website

.

Elaine Hajian

New York City

Summer in Provence, pastel on paper, 24 x 30 inches

.

Todd Fife

Bowling Green, Kentucky

College Days, pencil on paper

.

Jim O’Neil

Alaska

The Model as a Sand Dune, watercolor on 5 x 8 inch Bee’s sketch paper.

I started playing, at recent life drawing sessions with the idea of painting the model as a landscape, seascape ,or whatever ‘scape. This is part of that set.

website

.

William MacDonald

Quincy, Massachusetts

Head Study, graphite

Original 15 minute sketch is a miniature, about 2 inches tall.

website

.

Brian Smith

Toronto, Canada

Through a Glass Lightly,  pastel pencil in sanguine and white on a mid-tone paper, 35 x 23.

Done from life, working from one of my favorite models, Denise.

website

.

Dave Rudin

Brooklyn, NY

Untitled Nude, graphite on paper

.

Bob Palevitz

New York City

Heat Wave, oil on linen, 8 x 10 inches

.

Rob Carroll

Swindon, England

Rose, charcoal

.

Ron Anticevich

Southern California

Sheepshearer, Netherlands, oil on linen, 30 x 36 inches

We were taking a bike ride in the countryside outside of Amsterdam and saw this man working in a shed. When my friend, who speaks Dutch, asked him if we could take his picture he took of his hat, smoothed down his hair and then said yes.

website

.

Maurice Judd

New Zealand

Figure Study, gel pen

Done at the Palmerston North Life Drawing Society here in New Zealand.

.

Jane Gardiner

Glasgow, Scotland

The Smile, oil on linen, 25 cm square.

A painting of the fabulous Anna Lehr, a German actress currently working in Glasgow as part of Louna Productions.

website

.

Doug Rogers

London, Ontario, Canada

Yellow cloud with lightning, acrylic and paper on canvas, 16 x 20 inches

website

.

Fred Hatt

Brooklyn, NY

Cycle, aquarelle crayons on paper, 37 x 48 inches

website

.

Jean Marcellino

New York City

Benjamin, pastel pencil

website

.

Kelly Borsheim

Cedar Creek, Texas

Hindsight, charcoal with pastel on light brown Roma brand paper, 16 x 24 inches, drawn from life

website

.

Mark Miltz

Virginia Beach, Virginia

Rising Muse, oil on linen

This is the central panel of an autobiographical triptych. It will be included in “Spectrum 18; The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art” coming out next month.

website

.

Robert Bent

Greenfield, Massachusetts

Embrace, oil, 18 x 20 inches

website

.

Claudia Hajian

New York City

My Eyes, pastel on toned paper

32 thoughts on “The Museworthy Art Show

  1. Dave Rudin says:

    A great selection, Claudia – especially the two Hajians. Thanks for sharing and for including one of my efforts.

    Dave

  2. Brian Smith says:

    Congratulations, Claudia – I am honored to be a part of this wonderful collection of artists. Isn’t it wonderful that every artist has their own voice and style!
    Brian

  3. dougrogers says:

    i think Dave Rudin should take up painting.

    • Dave Rudin says:

      Don’t you think I should learn to draw first???

      • dougrogers says:

        Dave, you know how to draw. Don’t let these other magnificent cameras stop you. They’ll be the first to tell you that that realism isn’t drawing. Drawing and painting is expression

        • Dave Rudin says:

          Thanks for saying so, Doug. At first I thought you were poking some good natured fun at my limited drawing ability, but you seem to be serious. I do honestly hope to attend some drawing classes when time permits (it’s all I can do to keep up with developing, filing and scanning film, not to mention printing in the darkroom), but painting requires a lot more materials than just a box of pencils and a sketch pad and space for me is something in very short supply.

          As for my limited abilities, I think some of my results are okay for someone who is just barely above the stick figure level. (Perhaps Claudia will model for me so I can get some more practice…LOL) Heck, I even showed some of my work to a model I photographed who is also a very good artist and she said the drawings reminded her a little of Matisse!

  4. To: Claudia
    From: Maurice

    Thanks so much, Claudia – for putting this together. I feel privileged to be on the same page as all these amazing artists. As always the range of responses to a model is surprising both in range and complexity. Wonderful beautiful art. I look forward to exploring the links.

  5. fredh1 says:

    What a diverse and inspiring gathering of work! It would be nice to see the originals in a group show in a gallery.

  6. Wonderful work, Claudia! I love it! Your readers rule! Thank you so much for including me, and great work on those eyes!

  7. Kim Davies says:

    Lovely work throughout. Having just found your blog recently, I have visited a small handful of times and wanted to let you know, it’s great! It’s wonderful of you to take the time to showcase artists’ works. Fantastic blogging.
    Kim
    http://www.inspiredlines.blogspot.com

  8. Bill MacDonald says:

    Thank you for organizing this show — and, most especially, thank you for including me. I’m going to have a great time checking out these websites. This is really special!

  9. Fred says:

    It’s probably impolitic to single anything out from this collection that has so many great expressions, but Samika and Summer in Provence are resonating strongly for me!

  10. Very much enjoyed the diverse but excellent works here, Thank you, Shela Xoregos

  11. Thank you Claudia. Wonderful selections! An honor to be included in this group and a delight to be seen in this virtual gallery presided over by such a beautiful hostess!

  12. Jennifer says:

    It’s really exciting to be part of the first ‘Museworthy’ show! As always with art, there is such a great diversity of styles to make it a fascinating show. Thanks for organizing it!

  13. Claudia, I’m deeply flattered to be a part of this superb show. Thanks for including my work. Also, how great to see your self portrait! I hope you keep it up.

  14. Elaine says:

    Fred, thank you so much for the compliment. I am pleased that you were
    impressed with my work. As someone who has admired your work for years, and from a fellow artist, this meant everything. I love Cycle.

  15. artmodel says:

    Thanks everyone for all these wonderful comments!!

    I’m delighted that you’re all pleased with the show and are impressed, as I am, with its marvelous diversity. I hope the formatting/arrangement is to everyone’s liking.

    Daniel and Jean, I appreciate you noting my eyes drawing. I did so many versions of a self-portrait to the point where I couldn’t stand to look at myself in the mirror anymore! But seriously, it’s really difficult. My face is quite the pain in the ass to draw 😆 Also, the image is not cropped down to the eyes as a detail. I realize it looks that way because of the photo I took. But in this particular piece I did only my eyes. I didn’t crop OUT the rest of face. Don’t want anyone to think I cheated.

    Dave, of course you can draw! I knew that Doug was sincere in his comments because he’s a sweetheart. And I would love to model for you should you decide to get more into drawing. Also, remember that you live in a city where life drawing is readily available. We are lucky like that, so take advantage! I’m going to do the same.

    Fred, fine to select some personal faves. The artists surely appreciate it. See my mother’s comment above.

    And I really want to thank those of you who shared this link on your social media. MUCH appreciated! It worked too because we received well over 1,000 visits in less than 24 hours. Not bad!

    Love to everyone 🙂

    Claudia

  16. Andrew says:

    This is fun because it adds a tangible element to this virtual community — sort of like adding a face to a name. I’ve been a fan of Fred Hatt, Daniel Maidman, and Kelly Borsheim for a while. Now the Museworthy Art Show has introduced me to a few more talented people, and will give new context when I read their comments in the future.

  17. Cliff Hosking says:

    A wonderful show – I’ll be there next time. Thanks Fred Hatt for the link.

    Cheers

    Cliff

  18. Ron Anticevich says:

    Claudia, thank you again for the opportunity to participate in this show along with all of these fine artists. From concept to presentation you did great.
    Your eyes drawing is impressive. Even though you may have attempted many versions this version still looks fresh and spontaneous. It reminds me of work by Don Bachardy.

    Thank you, thank you, thank you,
    Ron

  19. Wonderful show, especially like Elaine Hajian’s piece!
    Joyce Morrill

  20. Just realised not yet thanked you – so thanks! This is quite brilliant and generous and inspirational. The eyes looking back at the end are particularly special!

  21. Rob says:

    Great display! Thanks for the opportunity, Claudia. If I can say, I enjoyed the placement of my piece; her look, her eyes and your piece with eyes following. Conscious, random whatever, it was good.
    You have a talented following and do such a great job with your site!!

  22. artmodel says:

    More awesome comments! Thanks everyone. Really enjoying reading this section.

    Rob, yes it was conscious. I guess I wanted to be close to you 🙂

    Andrew, this has given me the idea that perhaps a similar post can be done for models. I have to figure it out.

    Claudia

  23. red dirt girl says:

    Beautiful show, Claudia. Well done. All the artists deserve many kudos.

    xxx

  24. TO Fife says:

    Thanks for the outlet, and effort on your part. Hopefully this can inspire me to start drawing again . . .

  25. Derek says:

    Lovely work
    I was too ill back then , My favorite of the whole art show is probably
    Mr. Madiman’s “Blue Leah” he captured the anatomy of a beautiful female it showed strength and vulnerability there.

Leave a Reply

