Happy 4th Birthday Museworthy!!

Here we are again, dearest friends. Commemorating  another Museworthy blog birthday 🙂 We have completed four marvelous years. Who would have thought that the life of an artist’s model could inspire enough material for steady blogging? I sure didn’t! Yet, here we are. Here I am, after all this time. It’s a minor wonder, but a wonder nonetheless.

In keeping with an awesome Museworthy tradition, we have a photo of yours truly taken by my friend Fred Hatt. Together we chose an image that reflects where I am right now personally – content, relaxed, fulfilled, breathing in life. Merci beaucoup Fred.

But will this next year – the fifth – be the last year for Museworthy? I can’t honestly say right now. What I do know is that full time art modeling is beginning to take its toll on me. I’ve been feeling it but trying to keep it to myself, until now. I want to be clear though; It’s NOT my spirit. It’s my body.

So a crossroads might be hovering on my horizon. I can either aggressively fend off the deterioration and fight for my right to remain on the art modeling platform with every fiber of my being, or maybe – possibly – think about my future and consider the necessity, the inevitability, of a new life. A different life for my “second half”.

Ah, we’ll see. Right now I can’t contemplate giving up something I absolutely love. Nope. Not today. Instead, let’s just enjoy the Museworthy milestone together as friends. I am still here. Thanks so very, very much, to each and every one of  you 🙂

I’ve always liked this track from Bob Dylan. Listen with me to “New Morning”:

19 thoughts on “Happy 4th Birthday Museworthy!!

  1. Mark says:

    Happy blogaversary to you! Happy blogaversary to us!
    Sometimes aging baseball pitchers can extend their careers by learning new ways of pitching. I don’t know what the art modeling equivalent of a knuckleball is but I have confidence that you will figure it out. I’m glad you’re still here and hope you will be for years to come.

    • artmodel says:

      Mark,

      Thank you so much! I really appreciate the baseball analogy. It may very well hold the key to solving my little dilemma. Everyone has to make adjustments in life. Art models should be no exception.

      Thanks again for your very kind comments 🙂

      Claudia

  2. Bill says:

    Happy Blogaversary from me, too!
    You know, even if you do decide to move on at some point, that doesn’t mean that your new endeavors won’t be museworthy. Either way, I have to say that you publish a great blog.

    • artmodel says:

      Bill,

      That is incredibly sweet, thank you! I know I have more art modeling in me. Just having these long term thoughts.

      I appreciate your loyal readership very much 🙂

      Claudia

  3. derek says:

    Happ 4th museworthy
    I see this picture and I have to see you have a great physique very
    lean and athletic and you do these poses with alot of soul,You don’t exactly look your age you look more like 23 or 24, you look like you could be my daughter.

    • artmodel says:

      derek,

      You are waaaay too kind! I’ll grant you that I probably look younger than my 43 years, but I definitely don’t look 24! I wish :sigh:

      But thank you so much for the compliments. I am flattered 🙂

      Claudia

  4. Jennifer says:

    Have fourth blogaversary from me too 🙂 I should certainly be sorry to see the demise of ‘Museworthy’, but can well imagine that art modelling must take its toll. Good luck with your thoughts re the future, but in the meanwhile I shall continue to enjoy your Museworthy posts …

    Lovely photo, btw!

  5. scultore says:

    Lets make it unanimous, three cheers for the blogaversary of Museworthy and the worthy Muse! and as an artist, I would like to say it would be a loss to artists for you to move on, but where ever life leads you, we will follow

    • artmodel says:

      Bruce,

      You rock! Meeting, befriending, and posing for artists like yourself is exactly what has made art modeling so immensely rewarding for me.

      Thanks so much for your comments. See you soon!

      Claudia

  6. Andrew says:

    Great photo collaboration with Fred! It’s expressive and interesting without looking like you’re trying to look expressive and interesting. Perfect. 😉

    Art modeling can certainly take it’s toll on the body. Yet there are plenty of people who model in their advanced years. It may become necessary to ratchet down the range of poses. But then, would it still be interesting for you? I’ve seen many “model sitting in chair staring into space” drawings on the Internet. Easy to hold, but dull. (I suppose it is different with costume modeling, where the creativity is all about the costume, not as much about the pose. That’s not my world.)

    When it starts to feel like a job rather than a passion, then a job with steady hours and benefits will seem like more rational use of time.

    Maybe the ideal to do something financially stable, with enough flexibility to continue modeling part-time.

    Pardon my rambling. Just some random thoughts.

    • Stewart says:

      Congrads!

      As an artist who has been working with models for almost 30 years now, I have witnessed many models who have begun to “suffer” because of their efforts on our behalf. Having modeled myself many years ago I am fully aware that my body has a memory of what it was put through previously…it doesn’t matter how many years go by the memory remains. If I may so humbly suggest that you be more selective of the projects you decide to work on. Frequency of modelling also takes it’s toll. A dear friend of mine was working 3 shifts as a model…or 9 hours a day…4 days a week which is way too much. She is very selective now and will only work in situations where there is the traditional 20 minutes on an 20 minutes off approach in place. She’s now in her mid-fifties and going strong… yoga has helped give her a “second-life”….

      And just sitting there staring off into space can be painful…:)

      Be well muse

      • artmodel says:

        Stewart,

        Thank you very much! You clearly have an understanding of what art models endure and the cumulative effects of this work. Your empathy is most appreciated. And you described it so well in using the word “memory”. After a few days of steady modeling, one day off used to suffice for recovery. But it doesn’t anymore for me, I’m sorry to say.

        I will consider your advice and input. Your friend has made smart decisions.

        Again, thank you for your comments 🙂

        Claudia

    • artmodel says:

      Andrew,

      You are perfectly in synch with me and Fred because that’s just what we were going for with this year’s photo. Your description is on the money.

      And you are not rambling at all. In fact, I was very much looking forward to your comments on this issue – my fear of becoming an artist’s model in physical decline. The main problem is that I do it full time, so your suggestion that I downgrade into part time – not any time soon, but eventually – might be the answer. Someday. Full time art modeling is just totally abnormal and taxing on the body, as you know.

      Thank you so much, Andrew.

      Claudia

  7. Congrads and THANK YOU for four years here!

    “… think about my future … a new life. A different life …”

    Well worth thinking about (we all should often, else we can, to easily, let our work define who we are rather than add to who we are.) even if you keep modeling.

    Of course I, selfishly, hope to find Museworthy here for many more years!

    • artmodel says:

      Jim, thank you!

      And you can continue with your selfishness regarding this blog, as I am still very much here. Not going anywhere for a long while.

      I appreciate your readership, my friend in Alaska 🙂

      Claudia

  8. Brian says:

    Claudia – Congrats to you on another successful year with Museworthy!!

    I can empathize with your need for change…A new beginning, a new direction, another leg in the journey…its inevitable, really, especially as we enter our ‘second half’. Good to keep the creative juices flowing as well.

    I’d like to echo the comments from Jim (above) in that I hope to find Museworthy here in the years to come!

    • artmodel says:

      Brian,

      It made me so happy to see a comment from you on this post 🙂

      Both you and JIm can rest assured that Museworthy is alive and well. And I know that you are very familiar with new beginnings, new chapters. You’re good at it!

      Thanks so much for your kindness and support.

      Claudia

  9. violinhunter says:

    You are “still” gorgeous!!! Take my word – I know gorgeous when I see it. However, may I suggest writing as an alternative profession? Perhaps theatre, art, or music critic for the NYT?

Leave a Reply

