A Workshop and a Workout

Hey gang. I’m posing for a figure workshop at the New York Academy of Art this whole week – an excellent booking for a model to have in the middle of August. This month is usually an idle, no-work wasteland, which is why I’m super grateful that the school gave me the gig. That’s 30 hours of posing and 30 hours of pay. Not bad. Workshops are intensive for both artists and models, but I enjoy them. The instructor is Dennis Cheaney and we had a great first day working together. Nice guy and attentive teacher. The students are going to learn a lot for sure.

We haven’t had a Music Monday in a while, so here we go. I’ve chosen something that I think is appropriate because 1) I am working, 2) I am modeling for a workshop, and 3) I worked out yesterday <— see how I tied it all together? Aren’t I just so clever? 😆

Anyway, here’s the one and only Jackie Wilson, aka the “Black Elvis”, performing his song “Baby Workout” on the old TV variety program Shindig, in 1965. This is fun, energetic, classic 60s revelry, and they keep it going right through the closing credits. If only I had the energy myself right now to get up and dance, but I’m too tired from working the workshop to dance to Baby Workout. Ok I’ll stop with the work stuff!

6 thoughts on “A Workshop and a Workout

  1. Karen says:

    What a lovely website! Lovely images and provocative insights — I’ll visit often.

    I discovered you while searching for Dagny Juel and have been browsing around. A former instructor of mine, Mary Kay Norseng, published a book on Dagny; I’m trying to find a copy to read.

    • artmodel says:

      Karen,

      Thank you so much, and welcome!! Delighted to have a new reader 🙂

      The Dagny Juel post is an oldie, but it still gets found through searches. In fact, all my past posts about famous models/muses still bring people to Museworthy. There’s a lot of interest in those women.

      Good luck finding the book. I might be interested in that myself.

      Appreciate your comment, and thanks again!

      Claudia

  2. Bill says:

    Just wanted to put in my two cents worth. I took a week-long workshop with Dennis in Boston a few years ago — really nice guy and an excellent teacher who knows his stuff. Used Anthony Ryder’s book as a text.

    • artmodel says:

      Bill,

      That’s a great two cents! Thanks so much for sharing. Yes, Dennis is terrific. And from a model’s point of view, he’s wonderful to work with. Really professional and respectful.

      Thanks Bill!

      Claudia

  3. derek says:

    Hi Claudia

    I notice you have an athletic shape to your physique may I ask what is your exercise regimen as to weight training or yoga, etc.? the reason I ask you look to be in great shape to do this job and you feel very comfortable doing these graceful beautiful poses . Forgive me for asking

    • artmodel says:

      Derek,

      It’s perfectly fine that you ask about my exercise regimen. I’m happy to discuss. I do a lot of yoga which I love. I also run and do bicycling. As far as weight training, I do it only moderately. Not on machines, just free weights and some exercises with a medicine ball. I also do mat pilates which I think is great for women to get toned without bulking up.

      Thanks for your compliments on my figure. Unfortunately, it’s not what it was when I was younger! Those were the good old days 🙂

      Claudia

Leave a Reply

