Birthday Girl

How did I get to be 43 years old? It seems like just yesterday I was wearing braces, learning long division, and harboring crushes on every cute boy in school ๐Ÿ™‚

I was going to get all deep and introspective in this blog post. But I’ve had a hectic couple of days and it’s hot as hell from the summer heat wave, so my brain feels really fuzzy and mushy. Can’t contemplate deep thoughts right now. All I really want is a popsicle. Did I mention that it’s hot?? Very, very, hot? :guzzles a gallon of ice water:

For my birthday last year I posted a Courbet. This year I’m posting a classic figurative work from Public School 178 in Queens, NY, circa 1974:

I can assure you that the little girl in this photo never ever dreamed of becoming an artists’ model when she grew up. So what did she dream of becoming, way back then, in her little girl’s head? A veterinarian.

“Life isn’t about finding yourself. Life is about creating yourself”

– George Bernard Shaw

18 thoughts on “Birthday Girl

  1. Bill says:

    Happy birthday! (Geez, I was in grad school in 1974. My elementary school portraits were all cave paintings in France ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Fred says:

    I see you had the huge brown eyes, the chin dimple, and the excellent posture from an early age! Happy birthday to a great muse and beautiful spirit!

  3. graziano says:

    Happy birthday from Italy. Ciaooooooooooooooo

  4. pengo says:

    Oh my LORD, you’re four days older than I am? Then why do you appear eternally 29? A very happy birthday to you!

  5. PADoug says:

    Happy Birthday! now we are BOTH 43!!!! (Claudia and I are only one month apart.)

    I know it’s been a long time since I posted, but I do follow your blog when I think of art. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Keep smilin Babe! We were born in the summer for a reason. The heat may melt our minds, bodies, even clothes (especially as we age), but it won’t ever melt our hearts. And it’s your heart showing in this blog. ๐Ÿ™‚

    PADoug

  6. Maurice Judd says:

    Happy birthday.

    Thanks for the thoughtful comments and art. I love your site, check it every day. The artists who work with you are incredibly fortunate. I have learned at great deal by studying their work.

    Happy birthday and thanks.

  7. Andrew says:

    Happy birthday from a fellow monkey (according to the Chinese restaurant placemat)

  8. LK says:

    Claudia,

    I once dreamed of becoming a Park Ranger. Drew little picks of me ranging among the parks and everything. My how things change…but you’re still cute like you are in the photo.

    Happy Birthday!

    *LK*

  9. Happy Birthday. I’ll be the same age in a couple of weeks.

  10. Jennifer says:

    Cute photo! Have been away, so sorry for not wishing you a happy birthday in time – I seem to recall you turning 40, so I have certainly been following this blog for a while now ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope you had a great day!

    Jennifer

    • artmodel says:

      Jennifer, thank you! Birthday wishes are welcome anytime ๐Ÿ™‚

      Yes, you have been reading Museworthy for a long time now. I appreciate that very much. Hope your summer is going well!

      Claudia

  11. Brian says:

    Claudia – Happy (belated) birthday!

    Funny – I ask myself the same question about being 48 (how did I get here so fast?)

    Great pic by the way – such big brown eyes! And the eye-brows…even then ๐Ÿ˜‰

  12. David Hansen says:

    Today … I am 43! Happy birthday to me!

  13. scultore says:

    So, a few hours early and several days late, Happy Birthday to a great person with a wonderful birthday suit!

Leave a Reply

